We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (3,056)
Filter reviews
3,056 results
Traveler rating
2,364
528
101
37
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,364
528
101
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barliving roomall inclusive conceptpillow menucanal viewlounge areaevery afternoonflower marketwonderful hotelmini bar in the roomhome from homerembrandt squarebreakfast was excellentboutique hotelrain showerwalked everywherecoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
2,035 - 2,040 of 3,056 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

What else can be said about this hotel that has not already been said! This hotel would have to be one of the best we have ever stayed in. We arrived via taxi from the station and were immediately shown to our room, on the third floor with a French balcony as I had requested by email. The room was not huge, but considerably larger than the one we had had in Paris. There was a large, very comfortable, bed, a large desk, a wardrobe, and easy chair and double glazed French doors to the French balcony overlooking the Herengracht canal. There was a small, but extremely functional bathroom with a great shower.

The best part of Banks Mansion is the wonderful staff. They are just so incredibly helpful with any request, no matter no large or small. We also loved the all inclusive factor. Everything in the mini bar is complimentary, although I think we only had a bottle of water on one occasion, and there are also decanters of whisky, gin and cognac in the room. The bar setup downstairs in the lobby, known as “The Living” is fantastic. It is available at all times, but we really only went in the evenings when from 5pm to 8pm there are wines and cheeses available. It is just so relaxing to help yourself to a glass of wine and some Dutch cheese or salami and to have a chat to other tourists from countries all around the world.

Each evening after dinner, we could help ourselves to an espresso coffee and a Baileys Irish Cream and either have them in The Living or take them back upstairs. It was absolutely wonderful and so nice to not have to worry about the room bill at the end of the stay.

Breakfast is also included as part of the all inclusive policy and cannot be faulted. There is a large range of cold meats, cheeses, breads and pastries as well as cereals, juices and fresh fruits. As well as that there is an incredibly efficient egg chef who cooks eggs, pancakes or French toast to order, together with bacon and sausages. There is another automatic espresso machine for delicious coffee.

DVDs are available at no charge from reception, wifi is fantastic and also included, and there are even a few Ipads in the living if you can’t be bothered bringing your own or your laptop down with you.

If we ever go back to Amsterdam, we would not consider staying anywhere else. It is truly excellent.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are great. First and third floors have french balconies. The third floor was perfect, no noise whatsoever and a wonderful view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear guests,

What a pleasure for us to read your review. Only reading the heading made us more happy than ever! We try to create the total hospitality experience for our guest, and we are so glad we have succeeded in this during your stay! A big ‘thank you’ from both our Guest Relations Officers at the desk as well as from our chefs at the breakfast restaurant for the great compliments that you have given them! We are happy you were able to meet some interesting people in our Living, this is why we have this concept; to make people enjoy their stay away from home and to create bridges between different people!

Thank you again for the great review, and we are already looking forward to your next stay.

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul B, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We only had 1 day to visit Amsterdam before boarding a River Cruise boat. Banks Mansion's staff was helpful and nice. Our room was small by American standards, but well equipped and nicely furnished. We had a room overlooking the canal which was quite pleasant. I must say the staff could have been a little more helpful in directing us to a restaurant open late. We finally found one on our own less than 2 blocks from the hotel. We enjoyed a complimentary brandy in the Lobby upon our return. A beautifull breakfast array is also included. Perfect!
This hotel is fairly close to the River yet right in the heart of Amsterdam, making it an ideal spot to spend the night either before or after a River Cruise. It only took a 5-10 minute taxi ride from the hotel to arrive at our embarkation pier.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solchasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guests,

We appreciate your review, thank you very much for writing this one! It is good to read that you have enjoyed many facets of the ‘home, away from home’ concept of Banks Mansion; the complementary drinks, a live cooking breakfast restaurant and the proximity to the great hotspots of Amsterdam, for example a couple of the companies that offer the best canal cruises Amsterdam has to offer!
It is really unfortunate that you were not satisfied with the service offered by our Guest Relations Officers. We do actually know a couple of restaurants which serve diner even after most restaurants close their kitchen (approximately 10pm / 22h00). Our Guest Relations Officers always do their utmost best to find a restaurant, or any other place, which fits our guests the most.
We hope we can make this minor mistake up to you upon your next visist! We are looking forward to be welcoming you once more!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We rented two rooms for three nights. I flew in my 18 year-old daughter from D.C. to Schiphol as a surprise for my wife and oldest daughter. The Banks desk was very kind and accommodating for my personal request to keep an eye out for her and give her an early check in if possible. (Check out is 12 so this could be problematic. We know, believe me!) My youngest is an experienced traveler but flew in early that morning while we arrived in the afternoon from Barcelona. I knew she would be tired and it was her first trip to the netherlands. They were waiting for her and allowed her to check in at noon when the room was ready. It was clear they also coordinated with her on her surprise. It was a beautiful moment that could have been easily mucked up by a careless front desk.

The hotel's location speaks for itself. The staff was attentive and very polite and friendly. I met the owner in the elevator who immediately enquired as to how we liked the hotel. You have to love that. I never write reviews and I'm going to cut this one short. It's a terrific place run by great people. We will definitely stay there again. As a hotel designer I would have laid our bathroom out a tiny bit differently but that's about it. Most renovations in other hotels I would tear out and do over. The Banks Hotel got it right. You should stay there. The owner has also created an excellent value for the overall guest experience. That's my review.

The negative reviews I've seen are clearly outdated. One traveler tip for light sleepers from a Dutchman is try to stay off the lower floors, (0 & 1 European). The city is still working on the tram lines occassionally. If you're a New Yorker, forget about it! You won't hear a thing. It is the heart of one of the worlds great cities. There will be street noise.
Scott & Donna, owners of a #1 Tripadvisor ranked boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Amsterdam is loving it's trams right now. Bring earplugs if a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotelOwnerLewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear guest,

Wow! What a great review on your stay with your family here at Banks Mansion! We are very happy that the surprise organized by you for your wife and daughter worked out just fine! It is the goal of our Guest Relations Officers to make each stay of each guest one to remember! It is very satisfying to so many loving words in your review,

We are looking forward to welcome you and your familiy in the near future!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Banks Mansion is probably my favorite hotel in the world. I think that they are just the tops of service, above and beyond any hotel I've ever been to. The front desk staff is superb. We have stayed in Amsterdam before at a very snobby hotel which made us continually think "Do we look like we're poor? Why are they treating us like we're slobs?" Banks Mansion was the complete opposite. Located right on a canal and within a very quick walk to loads of restaurants, shops and things to see, it's the perfect tourist jumping off location.

Highlights:
Open everything. Open bar in each room (holler!) and 24/7 in the hotel lobby (holler!). Coffee and tea, sodas and beer. Cute little snacks during the day (biscuits and biscotti, adorable little chocolates another time we popped in) and the highly prized 5 pm cheese. Sitting by the fire, eating cheese, sipping prosecco and eavesdropping on the Brits sitting near us, sigh... that's just lovely. Also, breakfast in the morning was lovely. Meats, cheese, fruit, eggs (prepared right in front of you!), more coffee based beverages. All included.

Our room, 408, was a deluxe double when I booked it on Expedia. It said that it didn't have a canal view, but joy of joys, we totally did!

One last note: I mentioned very briefly to one of the front desk guys that we were celebrating our anniversary and the next morning there was a handwritten note and a tray of chocolates in our room. Stop it. You guys are just too cute.

We will stay here each and every time we return to Amsterdam. You should too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnieLou619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for all your loving words in your review! The Banks Mansion team always strives to make your stay one to remember! The concept of the hotel is to experience a "home away from home" and therefore personalized service is one of our main goals. It brings great joy to read that you believe that Banks Mansion has gone above and beyond any other hotel!

We would love to welcome you once again into our "home away from home"!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews