We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quality Establishment”
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banks Mansion
Ranked #8 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2008

This is a quality establishment. The staff are extremely professional and all seem to speak impecable English, service is of a very high standard. There is no bar as such but the very pleasant lounge area has a self service bar with a choice of different bottled beers, wines, spirits and soft drinks all included at no extra charge within the room rate. The all inclusive drinks extends to the mini bar in the room. Our mini bar was very well stoked with beer, soft drinks and chocolate bars and there were also 3 decanters of spirits. The room was not particularly spacious but was well presented. The bathroom was of a good standard and the bed was very comfortable. We had to pay extra for a canal view but it was worth it. The hotel has a breakfast room but no dining room which necesitates going out for dinner but as the hotel is very centrally located there are plenty of very good places to eat within a short walking distance. This is a nice place to stay if you are visiting Amsterdam

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank roundtheworld321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,353 - 2,359 of 2,845 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2008

I booked this hotel , direct, as part of a 3 night / 4day trip to Amsterdam.I was told about this by a good friend of mine.
The hotel is just around the corner from Rembrant Square, and 200 mtrs from the no.4 tram stop.
the outside of the hotel is nothing special, but when you climb the steps (only 4 or 5) and enter the lounge/reception area, you get a feeling of something special.
The staff are friendly, professional and very helpful. one lady Nina, is a credit to the hotel !!!
The 'Lounge' area is relaxed with comfy chairs and sofas, a fire in one corner, and NO Television !!!
There is a bar that comes as complementary as part of your rate.
The rooms are a decent size not massive, just right. We had the choice of a room with a canal view , which has a massive walk in shower, or a bigger room with a bath for 2 and a good size shower , but no view. we took the room with the bath and shower.
All movies and in room drins are included.
the bed was a good size king , and was really comfortable.
We ordered breakfast in bed on the first morning , and it was delivered on time and hot !!!
There is not many things wrong with this hotel, it does what it says, and with a certain style, that is not over the top.
I could go on, but what i will say , is that we will be going back !!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank GAZEFC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2007

We could not have been happier with our stay. Great place all around. We had booked a canal-view room and found the view lovely, the room as comfortable as any we've ever had, and the staff just outstanding. This is,as far as we are concerned, the only place to stay in Amsterdam. More like a good club than a hotel. Worth following the front desk's advice on restaurants too. In a city not known for food, they do know where to find the good places to eat!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank MMM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Banks Mansion and what most reveiwers say is true. The staff is very welcoming, the location perfect and the bed and bath were great. I would return without a doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank massmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend break in Amsterdam - we had gone over especially to see 'Night at the Proms' in Rotterdam. As usual, I checked out Trip Advisor and selected this hotel based on other peoples' recommendations.

The directions to the hotel are clearly shown on its website - number 16 or 24 tram from Central Station, 4th stop. It is then just a 50m walk to the hotel from the stop.

The location was great. Despite being by a fairly busy road the rooms was very quiet (I am a light sleeper) - and also very warm considering the cold outside!

There is a great atmosphere in the lobby area as residents meet up for their complimentary snacks, hot drinks or something stronger! There is a living flame fire which is especially cosy for this time of the year.

We paid for a delux room and had a fab view over the Kaisersgracht canal (not sure that's spelt correctly). The decor was beautiful and I loved the big shower.

The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was great - I loved the pancakes whereas my husband went straight for the 'full English' option.

The only thing I could fault was there being no bath - which I was aware of before I booked, but, with all the walking around a good soak would've been beneficial!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FlossChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Banks Mansion. We booked because of the great reviews on TA but had such a bad experience I felt I needed to write my own review.

Although it is undeniably in a great location - no more than 10mins walk to everywhere it seemed, and just around the corner from the picturesque '9 streets' - the hotel is just not worth the money.

Our room (212) was incredibly dark - we felt like we were in the basement despite being on the 2nd floor, and was really way too small to justify the 279Euros it costs a night. We could hardly walk around the bed - and had no-where to put our luggage. On the plus side the bed was very comfy however the pillows were lumpy and really need to be replaced. FYI - Banks Mansion claims to have a 'pillow menu' - but they didn't have any pillows available when we asked so the claim seemed a bit of a let down! We also only had one pair of slippers and one dressing gown. The drinks in the 'free minibar' were never replenished, and after the room was "cleaned" on Saturday morning the maid left old half full cans of coke and beer.
Finally, the room was not clean (by my standards) - hair in the bath and in the sink, soap marks on the mirror, grit on the carpet in the bedroom, and dark marks all over the wallpaper.

FYI - our room was non-smoking but everything including the bathroom towels smelt smoky and dusty. The communal areas - lounge etc are also smoking so it cannot be avoided in this hotel.

The free nibbles (always the same..nuts and crisps, nougat and small waffles) and drinks were great but again they did not make up for the room. The very last bone of contention about this hotel is the breakfast. It's really quite horrible. The pancakes ("made to order") come out of a packet and are literally warmed up on the griddle in front of you. The eggs are worse - they have a tub of orange eggy liquid which they pour into a frying pan...) There were no pastries or croissants, etc. Not much choice at all to be honest.

All in all, based on our experience we would not recommend this hotel. There were simply too many problems to justify the price, and even if we had loved our room it is still too expensive.

Hope you find this review useful.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank cashew_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

As usual we booked this hotel after reading the reviews and comparing with other hotels. Again we were not disappointed.
Several days before the weekend holiday we received an email from the hotel bidding us welcome. I replied and because we had booked a Deluxe canal view room asked for one of the corner rooms over the entrance, eg 106, 206, 306 or 406. This was confirmed.
We arrived early having taken the Connexxion hotel shuttle from the airport (19 euro each return) and were told that our room was ready. We were given 401.
I mentioned that we had been promised a corner room and after some deliberation we were reallocated to room 306. That wasn't ready so we left our bags with them and took the tram into the centre and the railway station. Here we collected tickets for the prebooked Candle Light Cruise (no candles!) and the canel bus.
The hotel is right on the canel and ten minutes walk from all the main sights.
We ate out at Visrestaurant Lucius, 5 minutes away, and the mussels and king prawns were delicious.
The room was tastefully decorated and had 4 windows out onto the canal and intersection. There was some road/tram noise.
As mentioned by others the minibar and associated decanters of whisky, brandy and gin are all included, as are drinks/nibbles in the lounge.
Breakfast, served in the basement was OK.
Checkout was at 12 noon. Again we were able to leave our bags and continue sightseeing coming back to the lounge at 5pm for a drink and wait for the shuttle.
The staff were all professional and welcoming. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,672 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,180 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,029 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
864 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-525, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $234 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing