We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$262
$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$291
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$299
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$277
$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$340
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $290/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$293
$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$565
$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $380/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$81
$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,971)
Filter reviews
2,971 results
Traveler rating
2,297
513
98
37
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,297
513
98
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree barliving roomall inclusive conceptpillow menucanal viewlounge areaflower marketevery afternoonwonderful hotelmini bar in the roomhome from homerembrandt squarebreakfast was excellentboutique hotelrain showerwalked everywherecoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
2,145 - 2,150 of 2,971 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2011

If you like staying in a boutique hotel with fantastic personal service stay here! They offer an inclusive service which gives you complementary drinks and nibbles throughout the day with a complementary mini bar which is topped up daily - great if you fancy a coffee and liquour after being out all day or for a glass or two of wine before going out of an evening!
Breakfast was exceptional with a great choice of freshly cooked waffles or French toast.
The staff you couldn't fault, a credit to the charlton group. Personal touches which you don't get, even in many top hotels, like remembering your name as you left the hotel, wishing you an enjoyable evening at the restaurant we had reservations for - how do they remember!!
The only reason I haven't awarded 5 stars is that our room wasn't the best (312) - no view, small window, a leaking shower door which soaked the floor each time you used it and slightly crispy toilet tissue - not befitting of a quality hotel - change your provider Banks Mansion!!
Apart from those fussy points we would recommend any one to stay here, thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 23cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review. Secondly our thanks for the compliments to the qualities of the hotel. It is very important to the team of Banks Mansion to really get to know the guests and give them the service that they need and deserve. We will definitely keep your remarks in mind and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to award us with five stars after your next stay at Banks Mansion.


With kind regards

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel based on past reviews and what we wanted from our stay over Christmas. I can truly say that this was the best choice by far and was not disappointed! All the staff where very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was fantastic and was very clean. Breakfast was lovely and had a good selection of foods. The open bar was a fantastic and unique idea with lots of choice. Overall, very happy visit and will be coming back. Strongly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beescheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very proud of all the comments that are written by the guests of Banks Mansion. Especially during Christmas time it is important to feel that Banks Mansion is your home away from home. We hope to welcome you again and try to achieve the exact same feeling that you felt during your last stay.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel rocks. Traveled here for work and after 5 hotels in 5 nights across the rest of Europe, the Banks Mansion was a welcome respite. Here's why:

1. Uber central. Walking distance from loads of restaurants and right next to a beautiful canal. Can get to anywhere in Amsterdam from here very easily.

2. The rooms are comfy and chic. The bed was really great. And there's free alcohol in the room if you need a whiskey before falling asleep. (ahem...)

3. In fact, there's a free bar - like a full, real bar - in the lobby so you can have before-dinner and after-dinner drinks like you would in your own living room. Nuts, crackers, good cheese, candy all available. It might seem like just a little perk but when you've been working all day, or sight-seeing all day, coming back to a warm lobby with good snacks and drinks can seem like an oasis.

4. There is an electronic, free shoe shine on floor 1 (and I assume other floors too). Nice touch as I headed out at 8am trying to look sharp.

5. The breakfast is outstanding. A lovely woman made an omelette right there as I waited - with fresh veg and ham. Great coffee, lots of fruit. No need to eat breakfast anywhere else.

6. The staff was excellent. They helped with everything we needed (restaurant, cabs etc) fast and courteously.

I was here for business and I will stay here every time from now on. Why would I stay somewhere else? If I come back with family, I will stay here as well.

A few side notes:
- Don't stay on the 1st floor if you can help it. On the weekends all night long you will have foot traffic as people go to and from bars and restaurant, and you'll hear them talking.
- As a work traveler, budget wasn't a huge issue. I think the rates are well worth it, but if you are a family on a budget, this may not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Stay at least on floor 1 (in Europe, floor 1 is like floor 2 in the US) to lessen the street noise.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattyrozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Banks Mansion as your place to stay. We appreciate all the positive comments you have placed in your review. We really enjoy to read that Banks Mansion has become your second home to stay during your business travel. We hope to welcome you and your family in the near future and let them experience the same feeling that you felt during your stay. I will make sure that every department will receive your lovely remarks.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We chose this hotel entirely from the TA reviews and comparing a few others. The all inclusive concept and great location were deciding factors. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Banks Mansion. We arrived very early in the morning after a long day and night of transit from Africa. The kindest words we had ever heard were "We have rooms ready for you now" quickly followed by "and please feel free to join us for breakfast". Our room was lovely and very comfortable. I'm rather confused by the comments that say the all inclusive isn't worth the extra cost. I get so tired of $7 bottles of water sitting in hotel rooms, mini-bars that charge if you even touch any of the contents and $20-$30 charges for breakfast. We and our friends appreciated that water, soft drinks and snacks were available in the room, as was a Nespresso machine. In the lobby were comfortable chairs, a bar with soft drinks, juices,coffee, tea, waters, wine, beer, liquor and mixers. The cheese board was brought in around 5:00 p.m. and had a selection of cheeses, sausage, crackers, breads, olives, nuts. We enjoyed relaxing with our friends in the friendly ambience that we shared with other guests. Very nice. Breakfast was nicely presented and included fruit, juices, breads, pastries, cheeses, meats both cold and warm, cereal and of course the made to order omelets. I wanted to provide detail on this as some reviewers have left the impression that it didn't amount to much.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We requested a room with two twins (#307) and it was bigger than the one our friends had with just a queen. The beds were side-by-side like a king size.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandBHaveFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your superb review. Reviews like yours are an enormous compliment to the team of Banks Mansion. We understand that guests arriving early prefer to get to their room as quickly as possible. The official check in time is at 3 o’clock, but we always do our best to check the guest in as soon as we can to make their stay as comfortable as possible. I am happy to see that this was the case during your arrival. When the guest has to wait for their room we provide the service to store the luggage and give them the opportunity to join breakfast. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our full service concept. The home feeling you received is exactly that what we try to achieve with all our guests. Not having to pay high prices for items from for example your minibar, but a full service concept. I hope I will have the honor to welcome you again in the near future and I will make sure that this fantastic comment will be passed to everyone of the employees of Banks Mansion.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

My Husband and I arrived at Banks Mansion for part of our Honeymoon trip... We were not disappointed with the location as the hotel itself is a stones throw away from Remembrantplein, and a short walk to Dam Square.
We opted for a Canal Facing room, and had requested a bath upon our arrival if available, as not all rooms have this option. After notifying the hotel that this was infact our honeymoon break it would have been a nice touch if we were not infact charged an additional cost for the bath at 32 Euros for our two night stay. We were already paying 'over the price' for a Deluxe Canal Facing room because of the all inclusive option, that is frankly over rated. The cost for a 2 night stay, inlcuding the bath and city tax was £500.00 and was a lot really for what this hotel had to offer.
The all inclusive option was a quirky feature, as you have cognac, whisky and gin decanters in the room, but as other reviewers have stated you can only drink so much alcohol! Despite my Husband enjoying a few shorts in the Evening, this accompanied by the small cheese board did not really meet our expectations, and left us a bit disatisfied with the hotel.
The rooms were tastefully decorated, as was the Lobby (Living Room) and Kitchen area. However, we found the Conceirge and Reception Staff Customer Service very hit and miss... When we arrived our room was not ready (as expected as check in is 3pm) however, we were left with our cases in the lobby! We had to ask to have our luggage stored, which we thought would have been an obvious task to help us with.
Amsterdam is an amazing city, however we would look at other hotels options next time as Banks Mansion price is too expensive for what you get!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Pouncett,

First of all thank you for your review, we appreciate this very much. Most sights are on walking distance from the hotel and situated in the city centre, it is very good to hear that you made good use of this value. The extra amount of €32,- has been a supplement for the more luxurious type of room which is also completed with a bath that you wished for. We are proud of our full service concept which means an open bar with soft- and strong drinks, wines and prosecco, the appetizers during the day and at night until the stocked minibar in the room and a buffet breakfast in the morning. Besides this we also provide free premium wireless internet and a Nespresso machine in each type of room. When a guest arrives early we try to give them the home feeling right away. We give the guests the opportunity to already enjoy and relax their selves in our Living together with a drink and an appetizer. We provide the service to store the luggage of the guest in our storage. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by not asking this same question to you. Service and hospitality is the most important value of our hotel and that same opinion is shared by the Banks Mansion Team. I remember that I have welcomed you and have assisted you during your stay, I really hope to welcome you again as our guest in Banks Mansion!


With kind regards

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews