We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food in restaurant with a small menu.”

Amstel Brasserie at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #608 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Amstel Brasserie is the little brother of restaurant La Rive and makes an excellent alternative. The menu is seasonal with simple, brasserie-style dishes. It's the ideal venue for a relaxed lunch, dinner or for a drink. Alongside a varied three-course menu for the reasonable price of € 45,00, the Brasserie menu offers seasonal dishes and classic favourites such as Caesar salad, our tender Amstel burger or beef croquettes with brioche. The Amstel Brasserie has a relaxed atmosphere, the seating is level with the river Amstel. The interior design is inspired by the continuous procession of sailing boats, water taxis and rowing boats that you'll see pass by whether you're sitting out on the terrace or indeed inside in the brasserie, where the windows give an unrestricted view of the river.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“High quality food in restaurant with a small menu.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was an excellent experience. I chose the 3 course menu, which offered very little choice but included plenty that attracted me, and was very reasonably at 35euros. I had a delicious liver pate, a succulent and well prepared sole with fries and a flavourful salad, and a tempting rhubarb crumble. The views are spectacular- you feel you are right on the river, and the seats are very comfortable.I understand some of the other reviews- it is quiet and the service was slow (but just right for me).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djcalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    33
    18
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, NL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My partner and I were highly disappointed in not only the service but the food. The service was typical Dutch service if you ask us. If you aren't sure what that is, just search it online, there are many jokes and parodies done about dutch service ;)
With that aside, we thought we'd have at least delicious food based on the prices on the LIMITED menu. Not so. The US Steak I ordered was very underwhelming. Cooked medium, like I requested but nothing special. And not worth the 52 euros I paid for it. I've had better steaks for half the price... it was nothing special at all and for that price it was quite sad, really.
My partner had the chicken. While the chicken was cooked well the red wine sauce just didn't do anything special for the chicken dish itself. Again, we were very underwhelmed.
You would think this brasserie, with the stunning views of the Amstel river and within the walls of famous 5 star hotel, you'd have outstanding food and service. Nope! Very disappointed.
If you have the money to spend, I would try the Michelin starred restaurant just a few steps away across the hall... We should have! Although, I must admit our experience at the brasserie made us wonder if the food/service really would be spectacular just down the hall. Maybe we'll try.
The hotel, itself, was beautiful and the service from the reception and concierge was great - no complaints there. Now if they could have a bar/brasserie with delicous food that matched the prices, it would be a winner. (Although they are opening a new bar in the hotel soon which should be interesting to compete with The Convervatorium hotel in Amsterdam).
Amstel Brasserie, redo the limited menu and work on tastier dishes! good luck!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wazzberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fit us in”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived late at hotel of a day in Antwerp and hotel very busy with snow etc. headed for bar and asked if we could have dinner, feb 14th so booked out. However they got us a table after 15 mins and we had a great night, fantastic table over looking the canal. Good excellent, staff superb, price is ok considering where we were, one for the memory jar. Great night with great company.

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, magnificent view”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

As the Amstel hotel is around the corner of the Carré Theatre, it is a fantastic closeby place to have a great meal.

You can choose between à la carte dishes, or take a 3-course menu for 35 euro's.
We both took the menu, which is served in a good pace. Taste is delicious, although the portion size of the main course is just enough.

The interior of the Brasserie is stylish British, with great and comfortable chairs!

We paid euro 100 for two menus, 5 softdrinks and 2 teas. Not that cheap, but worthy for the quality and ambiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimaro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, limited menu”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The food and service were excellent. It's a little quieter than you might think, so our children had to be on their best behavior, which was not so easy after a long day of sightseeing. The menu is small, so you might want to take a look at it before sitting down, to make sure there is something you'll like.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RDWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amstel Brasserie at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amstel Brasserie at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing