We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel close to the train station & huge rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Ranked #132 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to the train station & huge rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My friend and I booked a triple and we ended up with a huge room with three single beds. The bathroom is great, and there is a nespresso coffee maker in the room. What more do you want when you are also in such a great location. The staff are very helpful, and the bar is great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Yvonne H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

It is a thrill to read that we were able to surprise you with your room and that you find the whole of our team to be helpful.

Please follow us online, where we regularly post updates regarding the hotel. Next to this, our bar men sometimes give tips & trics online!


Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    1,145
    520
    205
    137
See reviews for
370
1,320
169
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in February with my girlfriend. It's a decent 4* star hotel with modern facilities in the room, extremely comfortable bed and a perfect location just across from the Central station. Amsterdam being a pretty small city, most parts are walkable within 20 minutes and the hotel is well served by trams, most of which go to the Central station. The breakfast was also lovely with plenty of choice (although very pricey if you don't have it already included in your rate - we did).

Small negatives for me were a lack of bathrobes and free water in the rooms (am I expecting too much?!) and we were charged a supplement (5.50) for having cooked breakfast delivered to our room. No issue with this per se, but the additional charge wasn't clear at all from the order form in the room.

Would happily return though if we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Rob P,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is a major benefit when wanting to discover the vibrant city of Amsterdam. Located in the middle of the city center it offers you the possibility to visit the majority of the main attractions by foot.

The breakfast offers you a wide variety of fresh products. Next to the breakfast buffet, we also offer an a la carte breakfast in our Brasserie.

We will definitely look into your feedback in order to find out how exactly we can improve these services.

Once again, thank you for your review. If you would like to stay in touch with us until your next visit, please follow us online.


Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, had an amazing warm welcome from Rose at reception who was very pleasant and nothing was to much trouble for her. And big thank you to Nicolas Rey who was just a shining star and made us feel like at home. We had a lovely view of the Central Station from the room and all facilities were top-notch, loved the relaxing swimming pool and the atmosphere of the bar. Concierge was very kind to store our bags after check out so we could enjoy our day out. Really loved the hotel and will definitely come back soon! Thank you for such a great stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Elena A,

What a great title! ‘Amazing hotel and fantastic staff’.

Thank you for your wonderful compliments. I have informed Rose and our Concierges and they were all very happy to hear that they took part in such a great stay.

I always want to create a home away from home and welcome my guests as if they would come to my house. It triggers a great smile on my face to read that you find me to be a shining star!

Your picture is very nice. Have you made more pictures during your stay with us? If you would like to follow us online and to share some of the pictures with us, I would be more than grateful.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we all look forward to welcoming you again to our ‘house’.


Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were glad we'd ignored some mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. This is a great place to stay with professional and pleasant staff ready to respond to any question or request. As we did several day trips out of the city, the central location opposite the train station suited us superbly. It also meant we could choose to go trendy West or touristy, buzzy East in the evenings depending on our mood. The breakfast choice was fabulous (yummy pancakes!). The room and bathroom were spotless. No problem recommending the place.

Room Tip: If, like us, you get caught out trying to visit a trendy restaurant in the Jordaan or Western Canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acorns08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Acorns08,

Thank you for your kind review.

It shows to me that you had a great stay!

Please follow us online as we would like to stay in touch with you.

I hope to meet you in person during a future stay.


Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Such a modern hotel the room is great even has a uk plug socket.
The staff were very helpful got a free upgrade on the room and discounts on hotel drinks.
Spa was closed for renewing so shame we couldn't use it
The position is great for a city centre break

Room Tip: Join the free membership scheme to get discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Chris C,

Thank you for such a great review!

We try to accommodate to for all of our guests and therefore offer UK-sockets and special adapters at our Front Office.

Stay in touch with us online until your next visit and please notify me directly upon your return. I will make sure you can relax in our SPA.


Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The good - excellent location, walk out of central station, avoid the trams and cycles and walk across the road and your there.
The Park Plaza Victoria is a large hotel, but reception was small. Staff were not overly friendly and seemed more interested in chatting than helping. The hotel has 2 wings, I was in the Urban wing, which involved a bizarre trip - 1 floor up across an internal bridge and up to the room. From here the hotel seemed dated and not what you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
But the room, whilst large, decent bathroom with walk in shower, and comfy beds was dark. Even with all the lights switched on it was dark. Might have been the room location as there wasn't much light offered with the curtains open. It reminded me of a night club.
And a small point but after a 10 min search for tea and coffee facilities these were found in one of the top cupboards in the wardrobe/cabinet unit. For a short person like myself, this was awkward and in all honesty, for a hotel of that standard I would expect a small filter coffee machine...(maybe I've been spoilt elsewhere).
The bar staff on the other hand were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guavafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guavafish,

Thank you for your review.

The Urban wing has been renovated in 2011 to the pleasure and satisfaction of the majority of our guests. The glass elevator enhances the luxury experience of our loby and next to this adds to the secure feelings of our guests.

All of our rooms are equipped with coffee and tea facilities. The Executive rooms and Suites are equipped with a Nespresso machine. Our room service could also supply you with freshly grinded coffee.

Nevertheless of the above I am glad that you find our bar staff to be friendly and helpful.


Sincerely,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#85 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,807 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing