We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #126 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Forest
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is right opposite Central Station so is perfect after a long journey. Its also just a short walk to the Red Light District and DAM Square.

I have stayed in this hotel before and our room this time round was bigger than before. There seemed to be a lingering smell of drains every now and then from the bathroom and also outside the hotel. This wasn't a big enough problem for us to mention.

The room was spotless and the facilities were great. Compared to most Amsterdam Hotels this is luxury, but the price reflects that.

The staff were helpful, although not very friendly on check in.

I am going to stay here next year as I felt very safe and loved the area.

Room Tip: Room 203 is right at the front of the hotel overlooking the hustle and bustle of the station. For a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The service we go in this Hotel was great our room was very good, nice and big. The hotel is in the center near to shops, restaurant and near to the train station. I would recommend it, great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nuria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellent and prestigious location.
Very nice staff, always ready to help, I saw every body smiling, it looks like they all love their job (or they are good comedians)

Parking> the P1 public parking a front of the hotel is very expensive (55€/24h) but the hotel propose a valet service that is much cheaper and very convenient.
You park at the front door, ask for the service and a guy will be there in less that 10 minutes.
Then sign a paper, give him your keys and tell him when you want your car back. Price > 30€ for the 1st day, and then 25 per each additional day. That was very convenient, the guy was punctual and no damage was done to my car. (and I got a receipt and a signed paper in case of damages but all went OK)

One small detail: yes, like in every hotel in Amsterdam, some guests smokes cannabis in their room and it can smell in the corridor. if you smell it, inform the guys downstair and they will take immediate action. They really care, it's a question of image, but it happens every days in every hotel in that city.

For the rest there is ice dispenser in the corridor, the mini bar is full (and crazy expensive as usual). The soap set is nice, the mattress is very good and also the pillow (my friend has back pain and ask for the brand to buy the same at home (you can actually buy it directly from the web site of the hotel)).

One negative point is the a/c unit noise you can hear (not the one of the room, we let it off), we were at second floor of urban wing, but i had no problem to fall asleep any way. We could also hear a bit the noise from people in the corridors, but nothing from other rooms (which is the most important IMHO)

Good to know > if you walk a lot, and want to please your feet, between the old and the new ing of the hotel, there is small tiny pedestrian street where you can find a foot massage salon (25€ for 30min or 40€ for 1h, they also propose pedicure). If you walk as much as we did, you will enjoy it. We discovered that salon too late to enjoy it :(

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Librekom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location. Near the central train station and the old part of Amsterdam. A short walk to great restaurants and pubs and the red light district, if you are that way inclined.

The hotel is nice, with good amenities. However, the room was not brilliant. Old shower over the bath and just not looking that clean. We didn't book breakfast as is was quite expensive but there are enough cafes nearby that are much cheaper.

The staff are very friendly and Dennis the concierge is brilliant.

It was just the state of the room that kept the review at 3 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydeeAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fantastic Location of this hotel close to Amsterdam Central station and 10-15 mins walk from all major attractions. Our room was dated as it was in the old part of the hotel and would have preferred a more modern room. Breakfast was excellent and also staff especially Peter who works on the concierge desk who can give very good advice on tours. A+

Room Tip: Look for room in new part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hurakan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Fantastic location walking distance to everywhere. Brilliant if you fly in and get the train to central station it is a 1 minute walk across the road. Lovely friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast with amazing selection. We had a lovely room and a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
176 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Friendly employees, excellent location, and a reasonable breakfast buffet.
But I had a room in the old part of the hotel, and really, a refurbishment is necessary. Their is a thin line between charming authentic and plain old. I found the room just old with squeaking floor, with electric switches ON the wall, a very small bathroom with a small tub and a shower curtain. The hall leading to the room looked completely worn out.
Must admit, the room itself was very quiet, but I had the top floor.
Meeting rooms are in the basement of the new building adjacent. Bit complex to find with elevators up and down, and corridors to walk, only to find kind of weird smelling meeting rooms with no daylight at all.
Parking your car in the direct neighborhood can be very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DVG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing