We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Birthday in Amsterdam All Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Ranked #136 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Birthday in Amsterdam All Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as a Birthday treat and although it is not the cheapest in Amsterdam it certainly has a good location opposite central station.
The room we had overlooked the station and was very noisy (traffic noise) if the window was left open.
The room was small but very nice furniture.
The Bar is very modern and has a good supply of alchohol.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bit of luxury whilst in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    1,205
    551
    228
    150
See reviews for
390
1,411
182
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Rooms in older part of the hotel smell like sewage. My shower drain and sink drain were clogged, my mail was at the hotel but delivered to me days after its arrival, so I missed a date with a friend, I stayed there 7 times over the past 10 years and they have no record of it so I did not get points that would entitle me to perks, breakfasts were horrible.

Room Tip: I would look for a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hasegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed one night in late August. Arrived to a chaotic front desk at around 3:00 pm to learn that none of our three rooms were ready. Staff handled the situation well and offered us complimentary drinks in the bar while we waited for our rooms. Our rooms were located in the newer "Urban Tower," which required two separate elevator rides to get to. Rooms were modern and clean and on the small side, which is typical for Amsterdam. The bathroom sink in one of the rooms had some heavy stains which were kind of gross and which remained even after I requested that they be cleaned. Valet parking is is expensive (36 euros) and is performed by a third party company. We were advised that it can take "up to two hours" to retrieve a car so it's best to pre-book the time that you want your car in the morning. This made me wonder how far away they park them. You can't beat the location (across the road from the Central Station and next to lots of local attractions, Red Light District, etc.), but it's definitely not as great as the prices would suggest. It took several emails after departure to sort out a billing issue, but their communication was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room in the newer Urban Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tjk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel following a Viking riverboat cruise. Our choice was made to stay hear after a lot of research including TripAdvisor. We could not have been happier with our decision.
We picked an urban room (554) and had a spectacular view of the Central Railroad Station, canal, and busy streets and sidewalks. Upon our arrival, we were graciously greeted and taken to our room and assured that the staff would be happy to assist us in any way. We gathered up a city map and the staff circled, on the map, the places that we wanted to see. We were able to walk to everything, and the hop on hop off bus and canal boats are right outside the front door of this hotel. Our room was very quiet, very comfortable bed, and large bathroom.

Room Tip: Urban rooms, located in new section, are very large and comfortable. Room #554 has a GREAT view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PROCRUISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Park Plaza Victoria is not a cheap choice, but in return you get nice rooms and an excellent location. The Central Railway station is just at the opposite to the hotel, so connections from Schipol airport are very good. Service at the hotel is friendly, although there were some hick-ups. The internet connection did not work for two days, which was a pain in the neck. "We are working on it" was not really a good answer.

Breakfast is good, even though the hotel system with a guest list at the breakfast restaurant did not seem to match the one at the reception. I had to fetch my confirmation e-mail to prove that I had indeed paid for bead & breakfast before getting in. This should not happen in a hotel with these prices.

However, I would still consider going back because the rooms were good and the location excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the higher floors if you want to avoid some of the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPekkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice original building with new part added on. Super friendly staff. All employees speak very good English and other languages. Good room size for 3 people. Stayed on top floor 5th. Modern hotel. Tasty food. Hotel was full but appeared peaceful. Swimming pool and sauna good. Very busy just outside hotel: bikes, scooters and cars. Buffet type breakfast with lots of choice. Wi Fi available, occasional connection problems just like home. Close to tourist attractions. Easy to check in and out. 75 euros required as a deposit on check in. Full refund on check out.

Room Tip: Room 517 top floor quite. Air con good. Ice machine in corridor. Electric shoe shiner by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed in amsterdam many times and this was the first time i decided to go 4 star. I managed to stay in the newly built hotel rooms which were great! Spacious and quiet at night. The staff were great including the room service cleaners who were happy to get us extra towels and toiletries. The location is superb, and the stations is literally opposite the hotel so no need to get ripped off by a cab driver if your new to Dam! This hotel will def be my choice for my next stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alawi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing