We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Ranked #137 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“average city hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

conveniently located in front of amsterdam central station, which is walking distance to dam square and kalverstrat (shopping high street) Room was very nice but the toilet and bathroom on the small side.
we arrived early in the morning, but the hotel was more than happy to store our luggage, so we could be free to see the beauty of amsterdam.
overall a average hotel for a weekend break.

Room Tip: go out for breakfast, many cafes on your doorstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Harun U,

Thank you for your review.

Our location is indeed great in order to explore the city and you do not need much time to reach us. We are in fact just 20 minutes away from the airport!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Might you need to check-in early during your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    1,350
    622
    262
    186
See reviews for
457
1,625
218
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed in the Victoria Hotel for two nights after a vacation in Spain. I was particularly attracted by the hotel's central location (directly across from the station and at the east end of the Damrak). Initially, after a superb hotel experience in Madrid, I was somewhat disappointed by the rather austere interior of this hotel (and by a minor mixup in my booking which was, however, resolved immediately). However, looking at the hotel in a more objective light I came to appreciate its overall cleanliness, the friendly service, the sizeable and quiet bedrooms, and the very good breakfast buffet. To my mind, it is very well suited for a short or mid-length stay in Amsterdam, more particularly as it offers easy walking or tram access to virtually any area of interest.

Room Tip: Although I have seen complaints about rooms without views, the street outside the hotel is very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Bill H,

Thank you for your review.

Our hotel has been built in 1890, making it a historical building. Our white façade is an international landmark, known around the globe. Every person has a different taste, so what is luxury for one is austere for another.

I am glad to see that you started looking at the hotel objectively and noticed the cleanliness, our bedrooms, the service and our extended breakfast buffet.

Location is key for every visit, short and long. Travelling to the airport only takes 20 minutes and all main attractions are within walking distance.

We look forward to another visit.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

i have just paid 470 euros for a three night stay at Park Plaza Victoria and after using the toilet in the restaurant was asked for 50 cents. Are these people not making enough money to pay somebody to check the toilets hourly? Very dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. You will be asked to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndarrenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Johndarrenc,

It is great to see that you take the time to help us improve our standards.

The toilets are there for hotel guests, but our location is enticing to enter for a lot of persons from 'outside'.

We have hired one person fulltime for cleaning of the toilets. It is surely not the case that we try to make money out of our guests this way!

Unfortunately it was not clear for you that a hotel guest does not have to pay. After having read your comment, the signs have been adjusted in order to ensure our hotel guests know they do not have to pay.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall this is a 3 star hotel. Stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of January and had an enjoyable, comfortable stay. The rooms are basic - average bed and sheets, small room, basic bathroom but I had no complaints. Location was great, right across the street from the train station so if you are lugging lots of bags it is quite easy to get to. Also very easy access from the hotel to anywhere in Amsterdam. Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast spread included was also very good. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It is a basic, yet comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear nep1984,

Thank you for your review.

We are in fact a 4star hotel and offer all products and services that are needed for this accreditation.

After a long flight, or travelling with a lot of luggages, it is indeed ideal to stay in our hotel since we are situated right in front of Central Station. This is also comfortable when wanting to visit Amsterdam, since all main attractions are within walking distance and public transportation can be taken at the Central Station also.

We look forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very good hotel in one of the best locations possible - opposite Central Station and in easy reach of most areas.

Rooms are very spacious and well equipped. When I arrived it was pre mid day and the hotel were very helpful in allowing me to check in early and therefore not hang around in the lobby area until 3pm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shan4179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Shan4179,

What a great title: “Excellent location – cannot be bettered”.

I do agree that we are located on the best location of Amsterdam. We are situated right in front of Central Station, near public transport and in walking distance of all major attractions.

We do everything within our reach to exceed your expectations and to let you enjoy the vibrant city of Amsterdam to the fullest.

I look forward to another opportunity to making your stay even better.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas with my partner for 3 nights. Hotel is situated just across from central station at the end of the Damrak a short walk from all the main attractions. Check-in was efficient and smooth. Our urban room was of a good size, modern furnishings, large shower, double glazed windows, free wifi and even a UK electricity socket. Slept well each night with no noise from outside. Good selection at breakfast with hot and cold items, staff courteous apart from our final morning when they were a little abrupt as under pressure due to a queue of guests waiting to be seated. Definately would stay here again as we had a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear DDNB,

Thank you for your review and having shared your great explanation of our facilities.

It is great to hear that you had a memorable experience and we truly look forward to letting you have another one of these precious moments.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I booked in on the morning of Christmas eve 2012 to commence our four night stay at the hotel. We were greeted by wonderful staff who were very informative and helpful. The desk was busy but staff were ready to assist and advise and had a smile for everyone. We were shown to our room which we found to be an excellent size as we'd booked a standard room. The room was well laid our and included a mini bar, tea/coffee making facilities, trousers press, hair dryer and toiletries. This room could have easily held two queen sized beds and still be spacious. French doors opened out to a small juliette balcony. Our room overlooked one of the many canals and the train/tram station. There was a busy pelican crossing directly below our window and I was concerned that this along with the trains/trams/taxis would keep us awake. We did however find that this was not a problem at all! I will add that this could cause a problem during warmer months when the window/doors needed to be kept open, but the quality of the double glazing was superb and we could hardly hear a thing! The house keeping staff were excellent - discrete and quick. Often we would return from breakfast and the room would have been serviced. I have not got a bad word to say about the breakfast - it was superb with every choice you could imagine. The food was fresh and hot and replenished often. Staff were very helpful and efficient - far better than you see in any UK hotel! One of the days we went down there was a slight queue for breakfast but the hotel's manager took the time to come and apologise and offer an alternative arrangement. He was most helpful!! The location of the hotel was superb with plenty of good places to eat and drink or shop near by. It was easy to find and very central. The hotel's brasserie is a wonderful place to sit and have a coffee and watch the world go by. Staff took their time to get to you know you and recognized you as a guest. Pop over to the train station and buy a tram pass. We found this most useful and was a good idea as the weather was not great throughout our stay. If you are young or young at heart like us (40-41) the Heineken Factory is a must! We thoroughly enjoyed this interactive experience with the added bonus of two free drinks whilst you are there. Pick up some leaflets from the Hotels foyer for discounted entry to many of the various museums and places of interest. Avoid the little mini-market just a few doors down from the hotel - Ridiculous prices being asked. Try the convenience store within the railway station for last minute essentials (or a fab bottle of wine) or take a walk to one of the large supermarkets! Makes Morrisons and Tesco appear shambolic!! I would have no hesitation to stay at that Park Plaza Victoria again and would highly recommend! A lovely stay made perfect by a great location, great place to stay and an excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Avoid the railway station facing rooms in the summer as noise levels could be high if the french doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Emma R,

“A smile is the light in the window of your face that tells others you are at home”.

Your great compliments do create an overwhelming feeling of pride: a lovely stay made perfect by a great location, great place to stay and an excellent customer service. Such kind words.

You did not experience any discomfort with the pedestrian crossing, due to our double glazed windows. Did you know that we were the very first hotel in The Netherlands to have installed these?

It is great to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet to the fullest. It is very extensive and all fresh, in order for you to gain enough energy for a full day of discoveries.

Sometimes things go differently than how you want them to go. This is the same with managing the number of guests wanting to enjoy the breakfast all at the same time. Fortunately we work with great staff that is inventive enough to make it alright again.

If you would like to visit Amsterdam again, please ask our Concierge for more information regarding the city. They know everything about the vibrant city of Amsterdam and often have discounts available for main attractions.

We look forward to an even better experience! When returning, please contact our reservations department directly to share your requests with them. They could even arrange you the same room!


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#26 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,145 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#87 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing