We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Ranked #128 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed three times at this hotel during 2010 and 2011, the location is really what does it for me. Straight out of Central Station, cross the street and into hotel. Watch out for bikes!!

Reception staff are extremely helpful as are concierge services, whose information has proved invaluable with regards directions, museums, sights and restaurants.

This hotel, during my stays there, had a refurbished, thoroughly renovated wing and an original, not refurbished wing. On check-in on our first stay, we were offered a room with a lovely view of the canal. This room was located on the "old" side of building, room was spacious enough, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Although old and somewhat tired, bathroom was clean and "ok". Rates are what you expect from a city centre 4 start deluxe hotel - not cheap.

On second stay, I reminded reception that we had enjoyed our room with a view of the canal and would like a similar one, instead we got a small, poky room with a flight of stairs IN the room and a window looking out onto a grey, dingy, dirty patio. When we asked to be moved as we did not like room, we were moved to a bigger room, again on old side, with a view of a busy street, which was not as good as first room but more acceptable.

On our last stay there, we were automatically given a very new, modern, stylish, spacious room on the refurbished side of hotel, which was lovely and much better value for money than any of the other two rooms but no canal view :(.

Breakfast is very good with the usual selection of cold cuts, fruit, cereal, cooked english, etc.

Location, location, location is everything! Easy access to trains, buses, canals, museums, Anne Frank House, Grasshopper, etc, etc.

Would stay again if guaranteed one of the "nicer" rooms.

Room Tip: Ask about refurbished rooms and avoid getting an "old" room, also ask about view from room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAC350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear LAC350,

Thank you for your review.

I am thrilled to read that our team did everything within their power to maximize your comfort. Your compliments towards the Front Office and the Concierges are very much appreciated and I personally shared them within the departments.

Riding bikes is the national pride of the Dutch, but for persons visiting The Netherlands it is a real phenomenon. Did you know that in Amsterdam alone there are 881.000 bikes? An enormous amount if you take into consideration that Amsterdam holds a population of approximately 790.000 inhabitants!

Please make your next reservation directly on our website, where you can choose to guarantee your stay in our newly refurbished Urban-wing.

We look forward to your fourth stay!


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,746 - 2,752 of 3,932 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent location to a city with fine amenities, great access to the train station across the canal, walk to everything, Just be careful,when crossing any street to watch both directions before crossing into a bicycle lane. Most fit people get around by bike or mopeds.
Directly across the street are the sightseeing canel cruise lines, walk to many local pub taverns and reasturants, or use Hop on Hop Off or local trams very inexpensive to get around the town to distant areas. Cost approx 2.5 euros for a 1 hr tram ticket.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GARY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Gary W,

Thank you for your review.

We are situated just in front of Central Station and near all main attractions, which makes us ideal for sightseeing.

The Dutch are known for riding their bikes; it is the national pride! You are only to cross the road when the little green man signs you can. Tram tickets can be bought for 1 hour or for 24 hours. If you plan to use the tram a lot, I would recommend purchasing a day ticket.
I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

When in Amsterdam for business (seminar presenting) then this hotel is ideal. It is bang in the middle of Amsterdam directly opposite the Central Railway Station and therefore at the centre for trains to and from Schiphol Airport which run every 15 minutes.
Museums are nearby along with a tram and canal boat stops.
For those interested in other 'activities' when visiting this vibrant city then the locality is first rate.
When checking in always ask for a room in the 'new area' of the hotel, the old part is soooo tired and creaky and long overdue a complete refurbishment.
The Seminar and meeting rooms are in the basement and it can feel uncomfortable after a few hours, however the staff are very attentive and the service is excellent.

Room Tip: always ask for a room in the 'new area' which has been revamped, the older left-hand side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LawrenceSalvoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear LawrenceSalvoni,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

Our hotel is ideal for both business and leisure purposes, due to the location and the services we provide. If guests are interested in other ‘activities’ when having a meeting in our hotel, our concierge team can help them to find the most suitable activity.

The meeting room that you used for your seminar has been renovated last month. In total we have 10 meeting rooms, including an executive board room with a view over the magnificent Damrak and the canal.

We look forward to welcoming you again, either for business, leisure or a mix of both. Please book directly on our website the next time you visit us. There you can directly book a room in the Urban-wing.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Booked this hotel in March 2012 & was disappointed to say the least. Had requested adjoining rooms but ended up in different parts of the hotel! Check in was very slow - we had a booking for 2 twin rooms but got a double room - not appropriate but we managed to persuade Reception Trainee to change this room to a twin with no problems - comfortable & clean although dated in this older part of the hotel. Second room was very dark with no view - you could see the wall/window of another room through the window but NO daylight! Seven months advance booking, you just expect better! Had to pay to upgrade to a room in the urban section which is contemporary & spacious in comparison although a little noisy! Mini bar is very expensive: 6.5 euros for a bottle of water! Staff in the Breakfast restaurant were friendly, efficient & so friendly! Food also terrific! The one thing that spoiled our visit was that a member of our party left a camcorder in the room. We went back to ask about it and after almost an hour we were told there were 'new guests staying in the room & therefore access to the room could not be gained'. We were also told that security had 'looked' but could not find it; yet one of our party had waited near the room to gain access with security or Head of Housekeeping to help locate it but did not actually see anyone enter/leave the room in all of this time. We have been told Security will pursue the search for the camcorder & be in touch with us and I will update this Review if we are successful in getting the camera back! One other thing to beware of, you have to pay a room deposit of 75 euros (mini bar bill or other charges are deducted from this on checking out) & also a small city tax - no big problem but we just weren't informed of this when booking so be prepared.
Location was fabulous though & it is easy to get around Amsterdam - do your research & plan what you want to do before you get there - tourist attractions are extremely busy throughout the day but early morning or later in the day is better for speedier access to these amazing places! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for the new part of the hotel (urban) & for a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juicyfruit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for one night on Oct 16 before catching plane from Schiphol (trains every 15 min. Tip: when taking train to Schiphol no need to pay extra so you can use Hi-Speed like Fyra, there are plenty of NS (Dutch Railway) trains going frequently to Schiphol and actually they are more convenient if you have luggage (take the door with the bikes on it and plenty of space for suitcases and seats).

Have stayed at hotel before it was partially renovated and chose now a basic urban room (renovated). Very modern, sleek, clean. VERY good TV services (many different selections, including information on Amsterdam). The urban room is the way to go.

The hotel is opposite of Amsterdam Central Station right on Damrak (which is also the main drag of Amsterdam centre). Can take canal cruises right outside your door.

I grew up in Holland and know Amsterdam very well. I would stay in this hotel again due to location, price and convenience. The booking process through easytobook went very well and there were no problems at check in and room was exactly as described (king bed, modern walkin shower, toileteries incl shaving kit, LOTS of storage space, safe, waterboiler (no coffeemaker there is instant coffee), flat screen Large TV, office desk and chair. The bathroom door is fully frosted, have seen it before used, but someone might find that a bit odd.

Only small complaint is the noise from the street. We were on the 6th floor and the trams. busses, car noise is starting early and woke us up. The view was excellent but due to the noise we would choose next time a room on the otherside (more like a courtyard).

Tip: The breakfast is way overpriced at 24 Euro per person, instead just go around the corner, there are many cafe's and bakeries where one can get excellent breakfast/products for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jolanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Jolanda V,

I am thrilled to read your review!

Your description of the hotel is perfect: the location and its benefits are well described. It is very convenient to stay with us when having to catch an early flight, but also when you are here for business or for leisure purposes.

The Urban-wing (according to you ‘the way to go’) has been renovated in 2011 and is now modern and luxuriously styled. When you book directly on our website you can include the breakfast, which will make your stay less expensive.

For your next booking, please contact the hotel directly regarding your request for a room on the back side of the hotel. We will do our outermost to ensure this request.

I hope that your next stay will be longer than just one day, in order to revive the city of Amsterdam.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed in hotel for two nights....perfect location opposite the station...wonderful as rained throughout the trip and quick access to hotel from airport and train.
Staff pleasant and helpful...at Reception and Concierge Desk.
Room pleasant (in Urban Wing) and bar had good atmosphere for a large hotel.
Location ideal...as a five minute walk from Dame Square and only minutes from shops (if they are needed).
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear MikeEastbourne,

Thank you for your review and the title: ‘Good hotel in fine location’.

I share your opinion, seen that the hotel is located right across Central Station and near all main attractions that the city of Amsterdam has to offer.

Your compliments regarding the Reception and Concierge desk, your room and the good atmosphere in the Lobby Lounge Bar are very much appreciated.

I wish that during your next visit it will not rain and that you can enjoy the splendor of Amsterdam, covered by bright skies and sunlight.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in this Hotel during a holiday lay over. The location and service is perfect to explore old town Amsterdam. The staff are well knowledgable in what to do and how to get around the city. The hotel is very clean and efficient for the price and location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Ncmedic,

Thank you for your review and complementing our staff members.

Our team is indeed knowledgeable and knows the city very well. These are topics that are included in the hiring process and in the training they receiving when joining our wonderful hotel team.

We look forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#37 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,488 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 372 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 372 in Amsterdam
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $210 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing