We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Breathtaking Boat Rides Just Steps From The Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #124 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Boat Rides Just Steps From The Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Took the high speed line from Rotterdam to Amsterdam and walked outside to find our hotel, Park Plaza Victoria right before our eyes! Loved the hotel. Food was great. Service was exceptional. Rooms were ultra modern and so quiet!! Beds and pillows were wonderful. Cab service to the airport was so fast and very scenic BUT dont miss the great boat rides directly in front of the Hotel. They take you through all the canals to the quaintest parts of Amsterdam and you get to see it all! After that, it is just a few blocks to the oldest building in Amsterdam the Old Church. See how the people buried their
dear in the church under huge marble slabs on the floor. Many famous
names! Wonderful trip!!!

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you are looking for and they will be most cooperative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Bridgebysue,

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we contributed in your wonderful trip. You compliments are shared with the entire team.
Thank you for recommending the canal tours that depart just a couple of hundred meters away form the hotel. For future travelers; our concierge team can provide information about the options for the canal tours and they sell the tickets so you do not have to wait in queue.

Bridgebysue, thanks again for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    1,072
    491
    195
    126
See reviews for
345
1,227
153
651
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

A great location right accross train station. Meters away from Damtrak and just a short walk from Dam Square. Rooms looking towards the main street are a little noisy though. Hotel is actually spread over a couple of building so it might feel like you are walking thru a maze to find your room. Definitely a good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Can C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Can C,

Thank you for your review and for sharing it on Tripadvisor.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the future when your travel brings you back to Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed at the Victoria Park Plaza only for one night but I cannot fault this hotel at all. The location is great (right across the road from Central Station, you cannot miss it). The concierge and reception staff were friendly and helpful and provided recommendations for dinner/breakfast which were great.
I stayed in the 'urban wing' of this hotel. This part is newly refurbished. My room was very modern and spacious (twin beds) with a very contemporary bathroom and furniture. The beds were VERY comfortable! I asked for a quiet room which doesn't face the main roads, and in fact, it was very quiet with a view to the side of the hotel.
I would recommend staying in the Urban Wing. I can't comment on the other hotel rooms. The hotel overall was very clean and looked after. We did not have breakfast here or any other meals.

Room Tip: Chose the Urban Wing for newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prettyinpink23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Prettyinpink23,

Thank you for your review and for your compliments! Great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and on behalf of the entire team, we are looking to welcome you back in the near future to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel a few years ago and choose it for it's location.it is very close to Amsterdam central station.we were pleasantly surprised to find that it had been renovated and was looking absolutely lovely.the lobby looked so clean and well kept and check in was very quick and painless.our room in the urban wing was lovely with excellent lighting and furnishings.staff were very friendly and helpful.the only disappointment was the small pool in the fitness centre.apart from that however I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a comfortable pleasant base from which to explore this lovely city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Cmonica,

Thank you for again choosing Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam and for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor!
It is great to read that you have enjoyed our refurbished rooms in the Urban Wing and that you are recommending our hotel.
On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

New urban rooms look great, as per usual fantastic breakfast and excellent location especially for the RLD

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel to find a very helpful concierge who helped us with our luggage with a smile. We were however shocked to find that the hotel put a hold on our credit card for EUR1,000 for a stay of 4 nights with a bill totaling just over EUR500
When asked, they claimed to have placed upfront charges to cover breakfast which due to it being far too expensive, we never used. They also claimed to have mistakenly claimed for 5 nights instead of 4 but a correction was never offered.
The room was clean but very small. The bathroom was so small that there was no room for essentials, toiletries etc.
Location is excellent if you plan on a train trip the next morning but the downside of that location was endless piles of rubbish outside and hordes of drunks and other shady characters from the nearby Red Light Districts. Each morning, we would find hotel staff hosing the rubbish of the hotel steps with the fire hose, something we have never seen before.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ampalsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Ma_admin,

Thank you for your review and for your compliment regarding the concierge, the clean room and the location.
The guest services of our hotel already have sent you an e-mail on you personal e-mail account, I hope that you will accept his offer as we do want to apologize for the inconvenience with the credit card authorization.
On behalf of the entire team, we are hoping to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We went for only two days from London to Amsterdam, the hotel staff was very charming, whe temperature was pretty nice inside of the hotel, outside was cold!!! The old wing was very traditional and has the spirit of europe, we traveled from overseas and was nice to get a nice room, good view to centraal station, and perfectly located to walk and board the tram in the city. It was a great experience. I had been in some others hotels of this chain in U.K. And they were good but this is great! As an additional tip for travelers via london- brussels- amsterdam is to consider the time you use in the security check point in bruseels when back to UK, if you are in a rush you can miss eurostar. So take your time, and use midi- suid exit in brusels not Cantral! ( midi in french is the one in the middle but not in this case) . Maybe fkying is a better deal to maximise your time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudolph2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Rudolph2011,

Thank you for your positive review and for sharing this with the travelers of Tripadvisor. I have forwarded your review to the entire team.
We are looking forward to welcome you back when you are visiting Amsterdam again!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,710 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Property: Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing