We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like mice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Ranked #120 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I've used the Victoria since the 1970's.
When I stayed there last there were mice running around my bedroom. I have not been back for a while but last month I decided to try it again.
I wish I hadn't. OK, the bedroom was mouse free.
In the bar near reception there were 2 mice running around picking up bits of food that had been dropped on the floor.
They were not concerned about the customers in the bar so I can only assume that they had been there a time.
The hotel manager, Jan Willem Roenhorst was apologetic when I complained about mice running around in an area that serves food but by his attitude it was obvious that he was aware of the problem.
This is a huge shame, the hotel has always been one of my favourites, it is well situated for the city and public transport and the staff are excellent.
My advice, if you decide to stay there take your own cat.
Alternatively, if you want to share your stay in Amsterdam with animals running around you then consider sleeping at Artis Zoo.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seniledelinquent78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Dear Mr. P,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
As I mentioned during our conversation, mice are indeed a problem in the city centre of Amsterdam due to the construction of the new subway (de Noord-Zuid lijn) and the bad weather we have had this past month.
Park Plaza Victoria often gets HACCP checks and we work together with specialist pest control companies who maintain a balance between animal friendliness and effective precautions to ensure, we as a hotel, do not have serious problems with rodents.
I sincere regret that there are occasionally still some mice with intuitive surveillance skills that avoid those detections. However I am glad that our manager on duty had a pro-active approach to this and apologized to you and offered you the beverages you had in the bar.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,143 - 3,149 of 4,011 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

I was actually planing to give the Hotel 3 Points but the very friendly staff made me giving it four. The folowing review might sound picky but we're talking about a superior Hotel.
We were placed in a standard executive room in the renovated wing as traveling on silver status. The room was nice and provided all expected functions. The room was super silent even it was facing tha main trainstation and its traffic in front. When opening the windows you can hear the difference. Unfortuantuly it is visible the windows haven't been cleaned for a while. The bed we found cosy but not practical for a couple as the beds ar not bridged. Double bed was requested, not sure if it exists.
The bathroom was nice and well equiped. But the door didn't close proper and the shower floor had a crack. The shower tube leeked.
Pool area was nice and as to expect but no staff at service.
Reception was very nice even having a problem leting us to the room on time. Some older Concierge were somewhat arogant. And not sure if they know how to read maps as Conciergery misguided us twice.
All in all my Girlfriend and I were very happy with the stay. The review should help the Hotel to become even bether and to help travelers to see that only the small things have to become bether.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear Dabaldi,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I appreciate you are giving constructive feedback, because indeed the little things matter. This feedback helps us improve the product and service that our guest may expect from us.
Your comments are passed on to the departments involved to take appropriate actions, thank you for making us aware of the things you have encountered.
On behalf of the entire team, we look forward welcoming you and your girlfriend back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam when your travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

we spent 5 nights at the Victoria Hotel earlier this month (august 2011) and we enjoyed our stay very much.
The staff was very helpful and advised us daily about different attractions in Amsterdam. They provided us with several discounts and no line tickets which saved us both money and time.
The Rooms (at the new wing) were spacious, comfertable and we had a nice view (pic attached) of the central station area from our 7th floor rooms (no noise inside the rooms).
The free wifi service was at a speed that was enough to make audio calls via viber. Anyway, we did not have to upgrade it to the high speed internet.
Breakfast was a delight every morning. We could not skip it even on the morning we left (06:30 AM).

Room Tip: top floor (7th) new wing facing central station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OEitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Dear OEitan,

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor.
It is such a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Also it is great that you shared the nice view on the central station.
Thank you for complimenting our services and our staff. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcome you back To Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We only stayed here for one night, but the experience was perfect in every way. The room was bigger than most European hotel rooms we had stayed in and it really was beautiful- very modern. The shower, the AC, the flatscreen wall TV all worked great, the bed was super comfy, the room was very clean. We didn't have a chance to eat here because we went out exploring, so I can't comment on the food, but it did look a little expensive. The canal tour boat stops right by the hotel.
The staff made us feel instantly welcome (friendly, smiling) and they held our bags until the room was ready. The receptionist and the concierge seemed to go out of their way to make sure our needs were met, and that our questions were answered. Very nice manager. They have a pool. We were there on vacation and had picked the hotel mainly because it was right across the street from the train station and we needed to be at the airport by 6:30 AM the next morning. We were pleasantly surprised at how gracious everyone was to us, because we are young students (20 and 21), and the hotel seemed (from the website) more geared to business clientele. We had also gotten a super cheap room rate by booking early on their website, so we figured we would get a less than average room. But they treated us very well and gave us a great room in the Urban wing. You can walk to most of the sights from this hotel, some museums and souvenir shops are right around the corner on Dam street which leads up to Dam square. We felt very safe in the area and the hotel is very secure and well managed.
I want to mention here that the train to the airport is easy to take. The first one leaves about 5 AM and we walked right across the street from the Victoria Hotel (so convenient) to the train station, purchased a ticket from the counter person, ( 4.30 Euro) who directed us upstairs (there's an elevator or escalator) to the train- it's all very safe, well lit, and the train was fast, about 15 minutes and youre inside the airport terminal!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear KatNYC1

Thank you for your detailed and informative review about your stay at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.
It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the facilities and services provided. Your kind words are already shared with the entire team!
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We just spent the week at the Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam. The hotel has a convenient location for traveling and for sight seeing in the city center. The hotel is beautiful and has a grand entrance and lobby. The restaurant was one of the best in Amsterdam, and the breakfast buffet was amazing! Our rooms were a good size, clean, pretty, quiet. The staff was exceptionally friendly, hospitable, and professional. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhs820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear jhs820,

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you enjoyed our services and facilities. I have shared your compliments with the entire team!
We are looking forward to your next stay in Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam when your travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is the best hotel experience me and my wife ever had.
The hotel itself is a beautiful building located in the beginning of Damrak, so it is very close to everything. When we arrived, the friendly guy at the front desk told us that they had upgraded our room to a business suite for free...and the room was really really great :)
We stayed for 6 nights and we're so impressed by the hotel itself, but even more impressed by the staff. The staff is genuinely friendly and service minded - all of them.
I suspect that the hotel is careful when they hire new people:)
We will for sure come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear jhe75,

What a great review! Thank you for sharing your kind words on Tripadvisor.
Your compliments towards the staff, I have already passed on to our dedicated team that does its utmost providing the best service possible.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam when your travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Don't be fooled by appearances. Despite being housed in a gracious old building that could pass for a museum or an 18th century mansion, the rooms are swanky and modern. Our room was large and clean and equipped with all the amenities we needed. The bathroom was also spacious, and the bath products of good quality. Best of all, the hotel was located right across the train station and very near the city's attractions, so no time was wasted in commuting. My husband and I will definitely stay here again the next time we come to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cutie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, Public Relations Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

Dear Cutie888,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you mention that we are situated in a nice, monumental building just across the central station.
On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,547 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
414 reviews
Centrum
W Amsterdam
W Amsterdam
#90 of 373 in Amsterdam
851 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $186 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing