We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel.Great and very polite service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Tropen Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel.Great and very polite service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Was stuck for a place to stay and was directed to this hotel.Was delighted to find the prices very reasonable and the staff very very friendly and helpful.Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a very high standard of accommodation without the high price.Would very likely look up availability first at this hotel if I am passing this way again in the future.Top score!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OirishMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    305
    119
    40
    18
See reviews for
48
282
35
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Passau, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Perfect situation of hotel for city trip close to tram Nr. 9 (E.v.Swindenstraat). Hotel is clean and rooms are nice. Quick and uncomplicated check-in and check out. We can clearly recommend this hotel and would choose it again for our next stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Florian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a really relaxed hotel with a lovely atmosphere. Good value for money and we really enjoyed our stay. We were here for a fun party holiday but also to view the culture. This hotel fitted extremely well with what we wanted in a holiday. But bring your own condoms as there is none in the hotel, including the communal toilets.

It is also suitable for families as well as people looking for a good time as it is not right in the centre but it is very easy and quick to get to the main area.

The staff are lovely and very welcoming.

You have to pay extra for breakfast which was ok.
You also have to pay city tax otherwise you have to deposit €50 a night for the length of your stay. You can pay the city tax at the hotel when you arrive.

They have a limited menu for dinner which is expensive but there are nice restaurants down the street which are cheaper.

Don't be put off by the outside as it does look like a prison but it is a lovely hotel.

Also shower water pressure could be better. Not the worst shower but not the best.

Overall, a really enjoyable stay and I would recommend it to friends.


  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 24amjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This no-nonsense hotel is a good choice for low key group meetings. The staff is hospitable and flexible, and will go out of its way to make your group feel comfortable. It is not a high fashion or stylish venue, but the inside lounge and outside sitting area form a pleasant hang out for informal conversations. The park, gate and parking area make for a feeling of being in a 'hide out', although the hotel is located in a lively location in the Eastern part of the city nearby restaurants, public transport and the Tropen Museum. The hotel caters well for international guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ML W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel is a solid choice for value visitors looking to avoid the commotion and rowdiness affiliated with the city center. The hotel itself is a pure 3 star, with average sized hotel rooms and mediocre bathrooms. The price was reasonable but not a clear cut savings. The draw is really the area it’s located in and the accessibility to the city center. With bus, streetcar, and cab stands immediately in front of the hotel, it is incredibly accessible for trips in to the city center in addition to transportation to/from the train station. It’s a superb way to get to all of the fun rapidly, without worrying about the distractions that occur as the night progresses. For the lazy afternoon/evening, the food and bar options immediately around it are well worthwhile. Additionally the ability to rent bikes is a nice amenity. As a few late 20’s, early 30 year olds, this was a nice spot for our few days in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brios k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed once again at the NH Tropen for 3 reasons (1) I was given a good rate and (2) during August rooms are difficult to find within my budget and (3) it allows me to commute to the workplace without hassle. The last time I stayed the hotel was doing some renovation and my expectations were raised too much. Things have improved, but there are still a few small issues to note like cleanliness, plumbing and lighting. One big disappointment was there was no cooling system and it was warm in August. But, travel during cooler temperatures should not cause any problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Moin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights during February 2014. It was a pleasant welcome with a warm and cozy hotel room to walk in to. The reception area was basic and there was no atmosphere. The room was large with a separate toilet off the bathroom. At the end of the day the price I paid I was very satisfied with the amenities in the room. I would definitely visit again. The location is slightly out the centre but its in very close proximity to the tram stop which we used daily to explore the city.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtomo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#103 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#97 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa 400
#61 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,213 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Tropen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Tropen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the green heart of Amsterdam and just ten minutes from the historic center. Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, formerly known as NH Tropen, is an exceptional hotel near the city center of Amsterdam, right next to the Royal Tropical Institute. Located in the Oosterpark, which connects the hotel to the energetic city center, the tranquility of the park and the Royal Tropical Institute. The Royal Tropical Institute is an international knowledge hub; a gateway for the ideas of tomorrow, where knowledge in the field of sustainable and intercultural cooperation are shared. The Royal Tropical Institute bursts with inspiration and renewal. Visit Amsterdam Tropen Hotel and experience the tranquility in the middle of the swirling city of Amsterdam. We welcome you with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam Tropen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing