We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Tropen Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel isn't too pretty from the front but once inside it is very nice considering it's low prices. The rooms were very clean and the location was excellent. The only negative was that the staff weren't knowledgable of the local area as we asked for a nice place to eat and received a useless response. However this did not affect us due to the free wifi which was very fast allowing us to easily search google for our answer. Overall I would 100% visit again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is 5min by tram from the center with very frequent itineraries.Tram stop is just outside hotel. The breakfast is good with variety , bread, ham, cheese , mushrooms, eggs, bacon, cereals, yoghurt, milk coffee fruits, marmelade. The rooms are decent not something special but clean enough. The beds aren't very comfortable. The bathroom was combined by two different rooms shower and toilet . The toilet was extremely small. Not very cheap but in good price compared to other hotels in Amsterdam. The staff very friendly. Totally recommended for the location and the overall experience. I probably gonna stay again next time in Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Tropen

We stayed at the NH Tropen for three nights.

Pros:
Perfectly located: just out of downtown but the 9 is right outside, which takes you downtown & the 3 is two blocks away and will take you to the Van Gogh, Rijk and Heineken Experience.

Room: the room was a great size for two people. Everything was clean.

Staff: everyone was helpful and really nice.

Free wifi- which to be honest in 2014 every hotel should have.


Cons:
No AC. Fine for us because it was in the 60s and lower, but beware if staying in the heat wave of summer.

No iron in the room. There was one in the laundry room, but I don't want to have to get dressed and go down four floors to iron!


Tip: off the hotel. If you plan on staying in Amsterdam for three days I recommend getting the I Amsterdam card for 67 euros. Well worth the free trams and museums, as well as other discounts!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dmama1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The NH Tropen is situated outside from the city centre in the 'tropical museum' area. It offers great value without too many trimmings. The service was friendly and very good. Amsterdam's brilliant tram network passes right by the hotel and at value-for-money prices you can get to the heart of the city quickly. A bonus is the free Wi-Fi that seems to come with the deal in NH hotels. Lovely to have windows that open!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have really enjoyed this hotel in Amsterdam. Great location (in front of tram n 9 that takes you directly downtown). Nice and clean room, good wifi connection and super breakfast. parking just in front of the hotel, the property is easy to reach by car.You park and you take advantage of the public transportation. Lovely reception with lovely and helpful girls. I recommend this hotel to anyone willing to relax but also to enjoy this amazing town!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawaiiqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great little hotel. Was everything we really needed for a 4 nights stay in Amsterdam. We only really slept in there so didn't spend much time in the room. We were on the 10th floor as requested, so had a good view. Staff were friendly and helpful. It only takes 15mins on the no:9 tram to get into the main square which was handy. Would stay there again if we return to Amsterdam which I am sure we will....once fully recovered ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni_1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great staff. A little out of the way but the tram was right there and very reasonable. You could buy your tickets at the hotel which was nice. Thought the breakfast was a little pricy so didn't try it. Loved Amsterdam, would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#84 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Tropen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Tropen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the green heart of Amsterdam and just ten minutes from the historic center. Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, formerly known as NH Tropen, is an exceptional hotel near the city center of Amsterdam, right next to the Royal Tropical Institute. Located in the Oosterpark, which connects the hotel to the energetic city center, the tranquility of the park and the Royal Tropical Institute. The Royal Tropical Institute is an international knowledge hub; a gateway for the ideas of tomorrow, where knowledge in the field of sustainable and intercultural cooperation are shared. The Royal Tropical Institute bursts with inspiration and renewal. Visit Amsterdam Tropen Hotel and experience the tranquility in the middle of the swirling city of Amsterdam. We welcome you with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Amsterdam Tropen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing