We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$174
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$314
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$396
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$497
$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$294
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$181
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveler rating
234
430
172
55
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
430
172
55
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopcity centrenice hotelbeautiful parknumber tramlaundry roomcentral stationseparate toiletstreet marketartis zoorecommend this hoteltea and coffee facilitiestram takeshotel is locateddam squarethree nightstop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 918 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here three nights on business, and the room was booked on my behalf. Whilst the breakfast is excellent, the hotel is not. The rooms are ok but not overly clean nor comfortable. The bathrooms are outdated. Wi fi was only at reception and the codes I got kept not working. The staff was however very friendly. It is also a little out of town and taxis are not so cheap. It's a basic, functional hotel which I guess is fairly cheap but I'd recommend staying elsewhere. It's definitely not of the standard you would expect from NH.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kookystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here on a 4 day trip in Amsterdam. We found the front of house staff very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was tidy and cleaned daily. The location is great as their is a tram that takes about 5 mins to get into the city center. The view of the park is very pretty. Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room to high up as the lift is very slow
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hotel is very good about 7/8 mins on team to town centr (dam square) tram no 9 stops right outside hotel so although little further out u hardly notice trams are so easy! Hotel decor very nice clean, tidy rooms spacious enough twin beds rather then doubles. Beds comfy and warm. Bathroom quite small but very nice inside hot powerful shower!
Staff hotel very friendly and willing to help!! Free coffee and tea to take away for those cold mornings.

Breakfast 15 euro no full English!!!!
Tram ride to Dam square 7.50 for 24hrs very reasonable! Can use many times as u like and jump on any Tram!
Train to airport 4.60 single
Mcds & KFC lit across the road 5min walk.
Oster park right next door Also Trophen museum.

Sex museum 4 euro
Dungeon 15 euro
Canal cruise 13 euro
Bus cruise 8 euro
Ann frank house 12 euro

Red light district in dam square behind big hotel, walk down china town dnc turn left funny expirence.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staceyhall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel was generally OK, the breakfast was reasonable.

Make sure you check your bed, as we found a massive bed bug on the morning we checked out. The guy on the desk didn't seem to understand what I meant when I went down to tell them. He also said there was no manager in at 9 in the morning to come and see me?? When someone did come, they took the beds apart and found loads of them - not a nice way to end you weekend away.

We have got a full refund (which is being processed), but now we are having to check all our clothing to make sure we haven't got any unwelcome house guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights on a business trip. The whole experience was unfortunately spoilt by very, very cold and windy weather, but it's not the hotel's fault. The heating was excellent, my room was quite small, but clean and with a comfortable bed. There’s a coffee/tea maker in the room. The free Wi-Fi was rather slow. My room was overlooking a park and I can imagine how it must be beautiful in nice weather. While having breakfast in the restaurant you can see rabbits running through the park – priceless, get your cameras ready. As others wrote, the hotel has a good location because there is a tram stop just opposite the hotel. Tram no. 9 takes you to the centre of Amsterdam in 10 minutes, and they are frequent. It passes by the hotel, but the noise did not bother me during night, it was just a soft sound reminding me that I was in a big city. Breakfast was very rich and tasteful, there’s a great variety of beverages, but lunch was a surprise in the negative sense: soup and sandwiches.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews