We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can have breakfast and watch rabbits in the park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
Ranked #137 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights on a business trip. The whole experience was unfortunately spoilt by very, very cold and windy weather, but it's not the hotel's fault. The heating was excellent, my room was quite small, but clean and with a comfortable bed. There’s a coffee/tea maker in the room. The free Wi-Fi was rather slow. My room was overlooking a park and I can imagine how it must be beautiful in nice weather. While having breakfast in the restaurant you can see rabbits running through the park – priceless, get your cameras ready. As others wrote, the hotel has a good location because there is a tram stop just opposite the hotel. Tram no. 9 takes you to the centre of Amsterdam in 10 minutes, and they are frequent. It passes by the hotel, but the noise did not bother me during night, it was just a soft sound reminding me that I was in a big city. Breakfast was very rich and tasteful, there’s a great variety of beverages, but lunch was a surprise in the negative sense: soup and sandwiches.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 841 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel really doesn't look that great on the outside, but don't let it fool you, the inside is much better. A short tram journey from the centre of Amsterdam could be seem as a disadvantage, but it means that it's quiet. Trams run frequently and the no.4 tram takes you right in to the centre of Dam Square.

Outside the hotel within 5 minutes walking, there is a small supermarket, a McDonalds and a KFC. A little bit further down the main road and there was a nice little cafe we found by the train line.

The rooms aren't huge, but perfectly ample for a short break. The rooms were clean, warm and had everything you need, including tea and coffee. The reception area is nice and on the desk are free Wi-Fi codes, so if you have a laptop or phone, pick one up and you can surf for free.

The only thing we found that was a little annoying was that the rooms had 2 single beds rather than a double. You couldn't push them together and they were on casters, so moved around a lot too. But the beds were comfortable, although an extra pillow would have been nice too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

i recommend this hotel for its position, it is in the middle of a very beautiful city park, it is not very close to the city center but you can get to the center by taking tram n. 9 and it s just 10 minutes to arrive to Rembrandt Square so it s fine. Hotel is nice, very clean and i was in a very nice room with a wonderful view on the park.
To sum up, I would recommend this hotel for your staying in Amsterdam

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank abissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in NH Tropen for 3 nights just before Christmas with my girlfriend.

Hotel building is not exactly an architectural masterpiece, but is well-positioned (tram line 9 has a stop just in front of it and brings you in central station in 20mins) with a nice surrounding (a park on the left, a shopping street with supermarket, McDonalds, KFC, and other restaurant/pubs in front).

We requested a double room, but we found a twin. No problem, bed were easily movable (too much movable, infact their brake system was not so strong...) so we re-arranged the layout in few seconds.

Room was tidy, not large but also not too little, bathroom was excellent. Unfortunately, WC is in a different -extremely little!- room: good if you want to go to toilet and your partner is taking a shower -who cares, anyway? :D -, but very uncomfortable in terms of smell -ouch!- and space.

Free wifi available.

Breakfast buffet was well-fournished, and me and my girlfriend were not able to eat again before 4/5 p.m!

We caught an online offer, 165€/3 nights with breakfast. Excellent quality/price ratio!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capacchione2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I came to Amsterdam in December for 2 nights with 3 friends.
We arrived at the airport and got a train to Amsterdam central. When arriving there we bought a 48 hour tram pass for 12 euros which became a fantastic buy as we used it a lot to travel around the town. We hopped into the number 9 tram which takes you directly outside the hotel.
We arrived in the morning and tried to check in despite check in being 3pm. However, our rooms were ready so we were able to drop our stuff and see our rooms.

The rooms were lovely, clean, modern and supplied a safe, hair dryer and few toiletries. We had a nice view and the room was lovely and warm.

From reading past reviews, we were confused to wether the location was good or bad, however, we didn't feel location was an issue. With the tram stop outside the hotel,trams coming every 5-10 mins and with our tram pass it was simple to get to all areas of Amsterdam. Main town area was a 5 min tram.

Other parts of the hotel were all clean and modern and staff were very helpful.
It doesn't look too pretty from the outside but on the inside its very welcoming.

Would recommend to people looking for value for money and a nice hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds. Limited menu but good quality. Friendly staff. Quite a way from the centre, but tram stops right outside. Car parking on site free. Stunning city can't wait to return and explore!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in NH Tropen for three nights, and the hotel rooms are a bit dated, but descent. The beds are gliding from each other, they should have some locking mechanism. Beds did not have top mattresses, which made them quite hard. The rooms were small, almost too small for two persons with luggage. But no noise from other rooms.

Breakfast buffet was fantastic, the staff quite helpful. I missed coffee and tea for the guests in the lobby, since the bar did not open before 5 p.m Saturday and Sunday.

Hotel is approximately 30 minutes walk from city centre, with tram stop just outside hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Hotel Casa
#70 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,876 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Tropen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $115 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam Tropen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the green heart of Amsterdam and just ten minutes from the historic center. Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, formerly known as NH Tropen, is an exceptional hotel near the city center of Amsterdam, right next to the Royal Tropical Institute. Located in the Oosterpark, which connects the hotel to the energetic city center, the tranquility of the park and the Royal Tropical Institute. The Royal Tropical Institute is an international knowledge hub; a gateway for the ideas of tomorrow, where knowledge in the field of sustainable and intercultural cooperation are shared. The Royal Tropical Institute bursts with inspiration and renewal. Visit Amsterdam Tropen Hotel and experience the tranquility in the middle of the swirling city of Amsterdam. We welcome you with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Tropen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing