We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Frills Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Ranked #141 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No Frills Convenience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We chose this hotel for location, location, location and it was a perfect choice! Danielle at the front desk is truly delightful and assisted us in many ways; namely getting us a room quickly after our long day of travel. Thanks you, Danielle! However, the hotel could us some major upgrades like new carpeting and room furnishings. But, it's clean, convenient, and reasonable priced with breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJCline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    369
    175
    32
    15
See reviews for
107
355
65
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have just spent 5 days in Amsterdam and had a wonderful time. The hotel was in the middle of all the activities just a 10 minute walk from Central Station. The room was clean and tidy, and the right size for the 2 of us with a shower room as well. I was concerned when I saw we were next to the stairs, but thankfully did not hear any noise at all from there or anywhere else in the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful - no full english but plenty of fruit, cereals, meat and various breads. Coffee or Tea and other juices too. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was 110 - it did face other buildings but we weren't in there long enough to worry abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My parents and I have just returned home from 5 nights here. Lovely hotel, good sized rooms, everything we needed in the room. Friendly helpful staff. Good continental breakfast. Brilliant location. The only very minor criticism was the TV in our bedroom which had a mind of its own - would suddenly switch off itself with practically no warning and no option to reverse it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank superduperScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Good location beside the Dam, and not far from Central station (10 - 15 min. walk). The staff is very welcoming. We had a nice room, with view on the roofs, very charming. It's beside a busy street but it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

First off, it took me an hour walking around the Dam Square to finally find this place. Extremely hard to find if you are unfamiliar with the area. From the train station the taxi drivers will tell you it is a short walk, but I would demand they take you & offer how ever much of a tip you can! I ended up in a suite some how & it was very large. The wifi didn't work very well. There is a 24 hour snack service that I was unaware of at the front desk. It is a great location though. Very old though. I would request a room with a window where you can see the street atleast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkeith34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, NJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We found this hotel online and were delighted with it's central location. We were easily able to walk aound the city for an afternoon.

The staff was friendly and our room was quite comfortable, (especially the beds). Breakfast the next morning was a definite plus for our stay. We'd stay here again if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The hotel is small enough, only 3 floors, we couldn't say there were any obvious bad locations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

An old hotel with slightly tired decor, but great central location and delightful, efficient staff. Good continental breakfast included in room rates. Despite central location, my room on the third floor was quiet and free Wifi worked well in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_and_k-deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#136 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#104 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing