We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel with great central location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Ranked #130 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great central location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Really nice, clean, friendly hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and varied. Room was nice - stayed in the front room, overlooked the coffee shop opposite which is a great little place for a pre-hotel coffee! Location is great and would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Finleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    339
    152
    29
    12
See reviews for
98
321
59
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Good location - and would suggest that's why cost was so high ! Room on 1st floor facing street, small and noisy overnight, both street noise and noise from corridor. Room was in much need of refurbishment, tired and needing 'freshened up'. On arrival, requested a room with a bath, and was advised, only 2 available in hotel and both being used ! Shower was ok, but after long walks around city, a relaxing bath would have been appreciated. Continental breakfast was enjoyable, great choice of cold meats, cheese ( Dutch cheeses would have been appropriate ) eggs, breads jam and fruit, cereal and juices too. We will consider other places in future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very nice, low cost hotel at the centre of Amsterdam, located just 1 min walk from Dam Square. Very friendly staff, good service, clean nice rooms with good Facilities. All and all this is the hotel i would reccomend for anyone looking for good price nice hotel in central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've stayed in Best Western's outside the US before and they are generally nicer than the ones in the US. This one was small, clean, nice, and centrally located. Breakfast was pretty decent. No cooked food but plenty to choose from. Rooms were bigger than a lot of the tiny European rooms I've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slaumsu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is my second stay here and I still think its the best place to stay in Amsterdam. Just a minute away from dam square and 5 minutes to the train station, the location is just the best. Room we stayed this time was larger and more comfortable. Breakfast is good enough with cheese,eggs and a few types of ham, jams, cornflakes,muesli,dried fruits, fruit juices,tea,coffee. Little more of the Amsterdam cheese would make it better. Rooms are clean,shower is clean and water is hot always. amenities are standard 3-4 star hotel type. Room heating is good. Even though it is not looking to the street the room was getting enough light. Its not loud even though there is a coffee shop right across and the location is at dam square. Overall, it was yet another good stay. My only concern is the price and I say this for all Amsterdam Hotels. I think the correct value for this hotel should be around 120-150 euros /day at max yet we paid like 200 Euros on new years, booking 6 months in advance. I know it was a special time and prices are high but I also stayed earlier in 2013 and it was still like 160-170 Euros in March.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulpYourWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 6 nights here the first week of December. The rooms, while small by US standards, are more than adequate, very good sized for European rooms, and well laid out. We were on the third floor and found the room to be very quiet, despite the central location. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and everything was fresh and quickly restocked. While all of this was fine, there are two primary reasons to choose this hotel:
1. Location: While the hotel is on a quiet side-street, it is very centrally located. The choices of restaurants, bars and shops within a 5 minute walk are amazing.
2. The Staff: As others have commented on, the staff here is top-notch. A special kudos to Hussain at the front desk; he helped make our stay great. The hotel also provided all the guests with a St. Nicholas Day gift (we were there on December 5th). What a great touch! This will be our "go to" hotel for our future trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WannaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Xmas break. Room ready upon arrival. Standard double room...small by American standards, but adequate for a few days. Hot water kettle was a big plus. Lobby and breakfast room were clean and inviting. Breakfast was fine - European style. Lobby was clean and inviting. Staff were really nice and fun...spent some pleasant time with Mustafa the night front desk man/bartender. Very nice guy! Really quiet street 100m from Dam Square. A nice coffeeshop (Barraka) right across the street. Also a nice cafe and a few good looking bars. 10 min walk to Centraal. Within 30 min walk of everything as far as Vondelpark. I highly recommend!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BCKL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#137 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#142 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Address: Gravenstraat 12-16, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing