We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Ranked #139 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here got 2 nights
Room was small and there was a constant background drainage smell, not pleasant but not enough to ask for a room change.
There was a chocolate wrapper stuffed into the top of the headboard which wasn't the best regarding the cleaning.
Perfect central location in pleasant area
Lovely coffee shop directly opposite
Breakfast was fine for buffet breakfast with good service
Very pleasant staff
Had a slight problem with them requiring more euros when leaving, after getting fed up with arguing regarding extra cost for room we paid and left !
Only for our son to get text !! (Who also booked another room) to say sorry ..We should have refunded rather the recharged the euros
Son left items in room just confectionary gifts but on my message I was told "nothing was found" ! .. On my questioning of this I was then told the said items were found but disposed of ! ?
They were boxed confectionary gifts that were from lovely store and not cheap.
I wasn't expecting them to be dispatched to me free of charge but the fact that I was originally told they were not found has left me with a pretty sour taste ..and a slight feeling a small untruth.
Overall the hotel was in a prime spot.
The room was very dark.
The heating you could regulate to your own comfort, which was great as it was very hot in there.
Our bed was a tad on the soft side to the point I sank into the mattress so far I awake with shoulder pain on the first night .
It was pretty quiet hotel due to extra internal door between door entrance and sleeping
area .
Would I recommend this hotel ?
For the central location most defiantly,
The staff were really helpful and obliging
Just a couple of incidents that have prevented me from giving the 5* rating I could have :(

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1018jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 850 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just came back from a one night stay (business and pleasure) and this hotel covered all my bases. The location was excellent, the double room tidy and clean, the breakfast sufficient and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Dont be put off by the location being down an alleyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great location, easy to find and friendly staff. Rooms are a bit worn out, but very clean, comfortable, warm, roomy (for the city centre) and kitted out with most mod cons that you'll need.

Breakfast was a bonus, and decent enough for a continental style breakfast, but the addition of bacon and eggs would have been lovely.

Our room was one of the one of the inner rooms, so ne real view as such and not much light through our window. Might get hot in the summer.

I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I come to Amsterdam every other year to attend a trade fair. I chose my hotel based on price, location and ease of access to transportation. The Best Western Dam Square Inn fulfilled all of my needs. In addition the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was wholesome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a great deal for the location and it's condition. Looked at so many local hotels and hostels before finding this gem. It is much cleaner than the hostels in the area for around the same price. Friendly staff, clean spacious rooms, and you are right downtown. Just a 2 minute walk to the red light district and about 10 minute walk from central station.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Reception staff extremely helpful. Gave us map and advice around where to visit in town. Hotel great location, walking distance to everything. Breakfast was included and couldn't fault it. Service for tea and coffee quick and all you can eat buffet. Coffee shop straight across the road does the best cakes ever! The red velvet cake is to die for.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The room was so small, we moved the one seedy comfy chair to a corner in the hallway, as there was no room to move around. But staff was very friendly. So-so WiFi, good one day and not usable the next day. Great location and wonderful breakfast. This hotel is on a walking street - which allows cars and taxis to unload before noon. The nearby parking garage was REALLY expensive - 52 Euros per day or 2 Euros every 20 minutes. No wonder Amsterdam was not difficult to get around by car - but watch out for the thousands of bicycles. The little coffeeshop across from the front door of the hotel was really good, but only open for breakfast and lunch. Another Italian restaurant nearby was horrible - more of a bar only. We didn't eat at any really good restaurants, but got names on the last day from the staff. Close to the Red Light District, which was really fun to walk around at night - very safe. Lots of tourists. I'd stay here again, despite lousy room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#125 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,051 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#156 of 374 in Amsterdam
432 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#127 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,242 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#172 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dam Square Inn

Address: Gravenstraat 12-16, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $152 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing