We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Ranked #139 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect location and reasonable price”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Dam Square hotel is ideally located just off the main square on a pretty narrow street with cafes and restaurants. It is a short walk to the shops, Amsterdam museum, station and the red light district.

It is perfectly clean and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. We booked Dam Square in at the last minute when our original hotel proved unpleasant. It was the same price but so much better in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocca1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    374
    177
    32
    16
See reviews for
110
358
66
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We picked this hotel because of the location. It is an excellent location for walking and sight-seeing in Amsterdam. Dam Square is just minutes away, central station is a 15 minute walk or a $6 cab ride. The Red-Light District is just blocks from the hotel as are the canals and shopping.

The hotel itself is basic - small rooms but very comfortable. We had a triple room and it was sufficient. The air conditioning crashed the first night but was fixed by the next afternoon. The free breakfast is a nice perk. It is continental but does the job first thing in the morning. The free wireless internet was great with a strong signal.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early (9am) after an all night flight from Toronto and were able to check into our room and catch a nap before venturing out to explore. We took a cab from the airport and it was about 60 Euros with tip. You can catch a train for 4 Euros from Shipol Airport if you like - it is quick but a little akward with large bags.

There are lots of nice little cafe's and restaurants nearby with a wide range of ethnic food choices. We never had a bad meal, the food was great.

Just beware of cyclists - they don't stop for pedestrians, almost worse than New York City, ha ha.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kulemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
310 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Clean no frills small hotel, reasonable prices. Location couldn't be better, easy walk from train station, canal tours, major sites etc. etc. lots of places close by to eat and shop.

WONDERFUL STAFF! Husband, cancer survivor and has heart problems. When we arrived in Amsterdam he was not feeling good. We went straight to hotel, five hours ahead of official check in time. Explain this to the lady at check in desk and ask if we could get a room now, willing to pay extra for it. She said all the rooms were full the night before and cleaning staff had just arrived a short time ago. But she would see what she could do. The "Wonderful" staff worked to get a room ready in a very short time.

We can not find enough words that tell you how much we appreciated all they did to help us.

Everthing about the hotel was good. The location, very clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast with "healthy choices".

Neat Hotel, located in a historic building, built in 1650 which was a former liqueur factory.

This is where our children will be staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourges, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location, Central to train station, Buses, canal tours, major sites. Nice lobby, good breakfast. Our room had no view, but was very quiet (As we requested) and had good Wi-Fi. We had three in our room and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a change of plans during our holiday and had to find a hotel at extremely short notice in Amsterdam - we received an excellent rate for a very comfortable room in walking distance of the train station. We have an 8 year old and booking directly with the hotel he was free in the fold down third bed in the room, which was a bonus for us.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room was very modern and well appointed with everything you need. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was extensive. We had an inside courtyard room and it was very quiet.

The position is down a small side street which had character. The downside for us was the number of people smoking directly in front of the hotel and at all the tables on the small street. The hotel itself is completely nonsmoking but the street was so narrow it was hard to avoid. I know this is not an issue for many people but it was for us.

I would have given this hotel five stars as the staff, rooms, breakfast and room rate were all excellent, however, because of location as a family hotel I don't think it is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Given that hotels in Europe are generally not as well-appointed as those in Asia and considerably more expensive, the Best Western Dam was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were more than adequate and clean and of course the hotel's central position in the city is a huge bonus. The reception is friendly and very helpful. Having arrived at 7:00 am we were able to leave our cases at the hotel till checking-in time. It is a 10 minute walk from Central train station and right in the heart of Amsterdam. The continental breakfast laid on in the small but cosy restaurant is excellent and it set us up for the day.
I would certainly recommend this hotel especially at the price we paid of 150 euros a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable and staff extremely helpful and courteous. The location couldn't be better and we were able to walk everywhere without having to use trams as it is sooo central - the lane is also picturesque. Very quiet and able to sleep with open windows as no noise whatsoever - unusual for central location and also no noise within the hotel itself. Beds very comfortable and nice clean and functional en suite. Breakfast was absolutely fine - first time we have had continental in 15 years as opposed to cooked, but did the trick and much healthier. would definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#135 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#145 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#103 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dam Square Inn

Property: Best Western Dam Square Inn
Address: Gravenstraat 12-16, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing