We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
$254
$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
citizenM Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$211
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$120
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$140
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Volkshotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$114
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveler rating
209
416
196
40
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
416
196
40
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationnieuwe kerkhard boiled eggstrain stationcentral locationcold meatscontinental stylestay there againyogurtfacing the streetbreakfast was includedthe red light districtcafes and restaurantsnice breakfastminute walktea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 878 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Clean no frills small hotel, reasonable prices. Location couldn't be better, easy walk from train station, canal tours, major sites etc. etc. lots of places close by to eat and shop.

WONDERFUL STAFF! Husband, cancer survivor and has heart problems. When we arrived in Amsterdam he was not feeling good. We went straight to hotel, five hours ahead of official check in time. Explain this to the lady at check in desk and ask if we could get a room now, willing to pay extra for it. She said all the rooms were full the night before and cleaning staff had just arrived a short time ago. But she would see what she could do. The "Wonderful" staff worked to get a room ready in a very short time.

We can not find enough words that tell you how much we appreciated all they did to help us.

Everthing about the hotel was good. The location, very clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast with "healthy choices".

Neat Hotel, located in a historic building, built in 1650 which was a former liqueur factory.

This is where our children will be staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location, Central to train station, Buses, canal tours, major sites. Nice lobby, good breakfast. Our room had no view, but was very quiet (As we requested) and had good Wi-Fi. We had three in our room and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a change of plans during our holiday and had to find a hotel at extremely short notice in Amsterdam - we received an excellent rate for a very comfortable room in walking distance of the train station. We have an 8 year old and booking directly with the hotel he was free in the fold down third bed in the room, which was a bonus for us.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room was very modern and well appointed with everything you need. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was extensive. We had an inside courtyard room and it was very quiet.

The position is down a small side street which had character. The downside for us was the number of people smoking directly in front of the hotel and at all the tables on the small street. The hotel itself is completely nonsmoking but the street was so narrow it was hard to avoid. I know this is not an issue for many people but it was for us.

I would have given this hotel five stars as the staff, rooms, breakfast and room rate were all excellent, however, because of location as a family hotel I don't think it is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Given that hotels in Europe are generally not as well-appointed as those in Asia and considerably more expensive, the Best Western Dam was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were more than adequate and clean and of course the hotel's central position in the city is a huge bonus. The reception is friendly and very helpful. Having arrived at 7:00 am we were able to leave our cases at the hotel till checking-in time. It is a 10 minute walk from Central train station and right in the heart of Amsterdam. The continental breakfast laid on in the small but cosy restaurant is excellent and it set us up for the day.
I would certainly recommend this hotel especially at the price we paid of 150 euros a night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable and staff extremely helpful and courteous. The location couldn't be better and we were able to walk everywhere without having to use trams as it is sooo central - the lane is also picturesque. Very quiet and able to sleep with open windows as no noise whatsoever - unusual for central location and also no noise within the hotel itself. Beds very comfortable and nice clean and functional en suite. Breakfast was absolutely fine - first time we have had continental in 15 years as opposed to cooked, but did the trick and much healthier. would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews