We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Staff and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Ranked #141 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
sharr4813
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, Staff and Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just stayed here and were quite pleased with the hotel. Hilka was very helpful for all our needs. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very adequate.
The location was right next to Dam Square and yet it was very quiet at night.
We were able to walk to many places right from the hotel. I would stay there again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shar4813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    369
    175
    32
    15
See reviews for
107
354
65
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our stay in Amsterdam. We were able to walk the short distance to the hotel dragging our luggage (shades of Venice)! Our hotel was in the very center of things right off Dam Square. We were able to walk to all the sites, feel part of everything going on & still get a good night's sleep for a reasonable price. Our room was at the front of the house & quite spacious compared to some of the interior rooms. During the day we could enjoy the street sounds but things closed up early in the evening so our sleep wasn't disturbed. The beds (twins pushed together as a king) were so comfortable we found we were sleeping 10 hours / night -- unheard of! All the staff was terrific & had no difficulty with working in English. We enjoyed the complementary breakfasts each morning to start our day off well. I found the small elevator frustrating sometimes but it is insignificant given the overall service in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheReids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear TheReids,

Thank you so much for your positive review.
You have given us the best compliments we can get you really made our day!
The 10 hour sleep is the best compliment!
We hope to see you back in our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Francina van Wonderen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent location in the heart of Amsterdam.
Rooms are small but they have everything you need
Excellent quality bed, pillow and sheets, good light-blocking curtain, quiet; all this equals good sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricks_4_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Tricks_4_trips,
Thank you for your review, I am so happy to hear that you have had a good night sleep! That is really the best compliment that we can get as a hotel! We hope to see you back in our beautiful city!
Kind regards,
Francina van Wonderen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Central Hotel - just round the corner from Dam Square. Arrived early for check-in (11.am) but receptionist said - "No problem" then promptly checked us in. Great room. Breakfast quite standard but very adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirl092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear HolidayGirl092010 ,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in Amsterdam soon!
Kind regards,
Francina van Wonderen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of the action - close to the train station, museums, etc. The price was reasonable with breakfast. Staff were very helpful. It can be a bit noisy depending on what is happening once the cafes, bars close but nothing that gave us any problem. Five minute walk to Anne Frank House. The room was a good size - would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Level Contributor
301 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

You can't beat the location. We were so close to Nieuw Kerk that we had to leave our hotel during the inauguration of the King on Queen's Day for security reasons. Agreed, the hotel is not the easiest to find because it's on a small alley, but once you've found it, you're close to everything. You can catch the tram going anywhere in town. Our room was extremely quiet, because it faced the inside courtyard. If you crave quiet, ask for a room facing the courtyard. It's a downtown hotel, I don't think you can arrange a room with a view.

On our alley was an excellent French restaurant, Cafe Graves, and a very popular bar, Cafe Belgique.

The receptionist was very friendly and extremely helpful. Her English was excellent -- no problems communicating throughout Holland. Breakfast was good, not exceptional.

Our room was roomy by European standards.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear GenghisKhan,

Thank you so much for your positive review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it was a honour to have the inouguation of King Willem Alexander so close by but we are delighted to hear that this event didn't bother you and you enjoyed your stay so much.

We hope to see you again in our beautifull Amsterdam!

Kind Regards,
Francina van Wonderen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Surprisingly quiet considering the location near Dam Square. Not a fancy hotel, but adequate for my needs. Good breakfast and helpful staff. Great location for walking all over the city. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francina v, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mary H,

Thank you for your review, I will pass on you compliments to our staff and we hope to see you again in our beautifull city.

BEST regards,
Francina van Wonderen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#133 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#137 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing