We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just what we wanted!!! we'll definitely be returning sometime soon.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Ranked #136 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!!! we'll definitely be returning sometime soon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

First of all when we walked into the hotel we were greeted by a very lovely blonde lady Staff Member that was before you get any funny idea's (sorry can't remember her name) who sorted myself and two other lads (aged 24-26) out with our room keys which was luckily on the first floor and had a lift (brilliant). It was a three bed room, we each had our own bed which was a massive plus. The room itself was a very nice size with a toilet and nice shower with along with fresh towels everyday and shampoo's and shower gel. The best part was there was no noise coming from outside at all. Breakfast was really nice as you'd get asked if you wanted tea and the staff would bring it over (impressed). Location wise it was perfect as Centraal Station was like a 10minute walk to our hotel and there were plenty of fast food places around such as KFC, McDonalds, Subway etc when walking from Centraal Station look out for KFC as that will be the road to turn down to get to Best Western Dam Square Inn. Red Light District was literally a 5minute walk and located with plenty of Coffee Shops which I'm sure you'll enjoy. There are a few Coffee shops right next to the hotel itself which is pretty good. Make sure to take a hop off and hop on Canal Cruise as it was cheap and the best way to get around to see everything only for 24euros, but when taking this please make sure to start early in the day as the last cruise is around 18:00.

Other than that we had a great time and experience of the hotel and staff just made it that much better! Definitely recommended and I'll be back there sometime very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singh15king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    354
    161
    31
    13
See reviews for
101
336
62
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights a room on the 1st floor. Hotel is in great location but the street noise is so bad that even ear plugs didn't help! Staff were friendly, our room was large and had good beds and good airconditioning. The bathroom was large with a shower over the bath. The breakfast was a good basic continental breakfast. Would recommend a room not on the street frontage. You can walk from the main train station.

Room Tip: go up higher than the first floor and have a back room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived into Amsterdam with no accommodation - we went online and managed to book this property through Booking.com. The beds were the best/comfiest + cool additional pull-down single bed. The room was a tad bit small but us three ladies managed with ease. The bathroom was quite spacious but the shower was really tiny though. We were very happy with the free wi-fi and continental breakfast (with cold cuts and cheese). We only stayed for 2 nights but it felt like we've been there for a while. The staff were the best, a special thanks goes to Danielle and Hossain for making our stay that much better. Great location amongst all the tourist and shopping action! The taxi from the airport could only drop us a fair bit (but a comfy walk) to the hotel, however, on our departure, BW staff organized a taxi for us that picked us up not more than 10 steps from the hotel.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay at this property on our next visit to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesorlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganey Tikva Israel
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The great advantage of this hotel is its central location: located in a small ally just 2 minutes walk from the Royal palace in Dam Square, and 10 minutes walk from the Amsterdam central train station. There are tram lines, small restaurants, coffee shops and bars near by. The hotel is medium sized (3 floors with few tens of rooms), clean, pleasant and smoke free.
We had a back yard room that was very quiet, (unlike the noisy Dam Square hotels).
The room was clean, medium sized, with basic décor. The beds are wide and long (suitable for tall people) and very comfortable, we had an excellent sleep quality.
There is in room complementary tea/coffee, free Wi-Fi, flat TV, extra folding bad, (on the first glance we thought that it is another closet…) and a safe.
Breakfast was included in the price, basic but satisfactory, with free coffee to go and apples (An apple a day keeps the doctor away…).
The stuff was very friendly and helpful.
On the down side:
We did not enjoy the shower: top shower head, not adjustable, poor water pressure, (we were on the 3rd floor) and no hand shower.
There is no car parking in the hotel, and no direct access by car, we had to drag our suitcases for ~150 meters from the point were the taxi dropped us.
Bottom line:
All and all you get a fair value for your money, (Amsterdam hotels are not cheap…) and this hotel is convenient, pleasant and recommended for tourism of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Take a back yard room, it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlonGaneyTikvaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We only stayed here 1 night but wish we had stayed longer in Amsterdam. The hotel is less than 15 minutes walk from the main railway station, but only 1 minute from Dam Square (the main square of Amsterdam and surrounded by shops, restaurants, sights). It is also only 10 minutes walk to a main canal and Anne Frank House.
We hope to return to the city and would definately stay here again. The only suggestion I would have for the hotel is to add some hot/cooked items to their cold buffet breakfast which is included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the quiet side of the hotel if you're a light sleeper as one side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetroter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked into this, two rooms at short notice, and were impressed with the rooms and reasonable price for summer and city centre.

Comlaints: The teabags in my room were encased in some sort of armoured foil and I would rather have UHT milk than a powdered creamer.

The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about. It is my custom when travelling to ravage the breakfast buffet and skip lunch - not this time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

It's a pretty basic, no frills hotel near the Dam and easily accessible to the trams and train. No ironing board or fridge, but it was great to walk into our room on the 2nd floor with window open, Sunny, fresh air and nice view of the cathedral. You do hear the chatter of the busy street just below and inhale deeply and life is good:). It was clean, housekeeping singing happily (!) and the most pleasant and helpful staff I have ever come across! Breakfast was just right and like most good free breakfasts, get there early enough for the best selection.

Room Tip: We overlooked the cathedral and front side of the busy street, but loved the whole ambiance. Next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flsouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#129 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#95 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing