We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Ranked #140 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This Hotel is a real gem, it is very clean and great value and best of all only a few yards for Dam Square in the Heart of Amsterdam.Staff were also very friendly and made its a very pleasant stay.Only a 5 to 10 min walk from Central Station which links you to the Airport. Would defo recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gempodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    364
    170
    32
    15
See reviews for
104
348
65
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The Best Western Dam Square Inn in downtown Amsterdam is nicely located within walking distance to the Main Train Station and with train access to points around the city and close access to canal cruises, shopping streets. The reception staff are always helpful and nearby are a number of good restaurants and pubs. Check out the all-you-can-eat Sushi restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PDXfrequenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel was right in the center of city just 5 minutes walking from city rail station connecting Airport and Europe. Tram connections, Canal cruise, shopping street, restaurants, Tour departures too were very close. Staff was very helpful and kind. The room was very small, but our overall stay was pleasant.

Room Tip: Take higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Bad service, bad attitude, bad quality... :(
I used to love this hotel, but I will never come here again. The cleaning lady broke my laptop, denied it and then the manager blamed me for leaving my laptop on the room's carpet. So I wouldn't go there if you plan to leave valuable belongings in places where the hotel thinks it is ok to break them. Of course, no compensation for my broken laptop was offered. I used to go there a lot and it really saddens me to be treated this way.

Room Tip: DO NOT put anything on the floor (including your suitcase), they are NOT responsible for any damage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We arrived in Amsterdam on 2 January so the streets of Amsterdam were filthy! There was litter everywhere! We walked from the Central Station to the hotel (about 2.5kms) not bad and instructions on how to get there worked, but when we arrived in our street we were shocked that that was where we had to walkled down - quite dodgey! Once found the hotel wasn't as bad as the rest of its surroundings. The rooms are quite old fashioned and carpets are dated. There were two single beds pushed together - which I hate (hardly romantic!) and no curtains - it was winter and the sun only rose at 9h30 but still it made the room cold and unfriendly. Towels were the size of my bath mats at home and could hardly wrapped around me. The buffet breakfast was just cereal, youghurt and toast.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We only stayed one night in the hotel during a mini cruise from Hull to Amsterdam so we chose it mainly for the location as we were only staying for 2 days. Being just around the corner from Dam, it was within easy walking distance of just about everything and being a very flat city, you can do LOTS of walking!
The hotel itself was extremely nice and exceptionally clean. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and spoke very good English. The rooms were quite large with a great big comfy bed which made it even better for us being as the tiny single beds on the ferry across were not that great! The rooms had everything in them you could need including a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom. The breakfast was nice but didnt have as much choice as other hotels i have stayed in, including other Best Westerns. Overall this was a great choice of hotel and i highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silves, Portugal
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We often use Best Western hotels, this one is not up to the usual standard.
Friendly and helpfull staff made an otherwise poor hotel just acceptable.
Continental buffet breakfast is good with excellent service, but note there is no actual restaurant in the hotel - breakfast only. Very small bar in reception area.
It is in an excellent location right next to the 'new church' (the cathedral at Dam Square) and good for sightseeing, restaurants, catching trams etc.

Our room was rather cramped, the lighting was so dim it was next to impossible to read books, maps etc. The view out of the window was of a damp and mouldy 'light well'. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom (supplied with kettle, coffee etc) was spacious and clean.
Potentially a nice hotel but in need of some rennovation.
We are getting on a bit and had been warned (by email after booking) that the lift was temporarily out of use, the hotel reservations staff had 'guarenteed' us a room on the 1st floor - we did not get it and had to climb many stairs with our baggage - not nice.
Be warned that there is no direct vehicle access to the hotel. Our taxi (50 euros from the airport) dropped us at the end of the road and we had to walk the last 80 meters or so in the rain.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#133 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing