We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Basic can be Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New West Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New West Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #160 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Basic can be Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is another hotel on our car trip in Europe. It was basic, but we had everything that we needed. My wife and son were happy to be together, so maybe 90% of the trip and reviews usually depend on mood as well. beds were comfortable as well. We like breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikhailruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for posting this review. We are glad to read you are really positive about the hotel and give us a 4 star review. We hope you will choose our hotel again next time you come to Amsterdam!
Kind regards,
New West Inn (former Remco Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    378
    221
    70
    60
See reviews for
138
294
42
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mendes, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is nice, comfortable and very clean. The staff is extraordinarily helpful! The only problem is the distance to downtown. It takes almost 30 minutes to get to where everything happens and they close at midnight, or 1230am, after that, you have to catch a taxi which is aproximately 35 Euros to go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for posting this review. We are glad to read you are really positive about the hotel and give us a 5 star review. The hotel is indeed not in the city center but just outside it. A lot of our guests see this as a positive thing. Most of the hotels that are inside the city center are much more expensive. Our hotel is just outside the city center, therefore we have lower prices and you are not far from the city center. There is a good public transport connection day and night, so you can reach the city center within 20/25 minutes.
Once again we would like to thank you for your nice review, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Remco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 5 nights at Remco Hotel and overall its a terrible hotel we would not recommend it to anyone.
The area of the hotel is quiet and creeps you out a bit while walking to the tram (as there s nothing else around to walk to..) On our first night going out a beggar welcomed us in the front of the hotel. Also, it is quite far from center and the tram (reachable in 15' on foot) takes 30 min to get you there.
As for the room (we were on the fourth floor), as soon as we entered we noticed how cold the room was, the heating panel showed 24 C but didnt react to any changes, the heating was clearly broken. Then we noticed a small heater in one corner of the room, which also didnt work. So we went back down immediately and complained about the temperature. The receptionist told us that her colleague set "now" the room temperature to 24 C again and it will be warm in latest 30 Min. Going back up again, we noticed that the heating still didnt work, only the small heater in the corner suddenly worked. (which didnt seem to be powerful to heat this room at all and produced a burned awful smell in the room). Clealry the receptionist lied to us, she could have just told us that there is a problem with the heating.
Anyway, the mattresses were in a bad condition, quite uncomfortable and caused us backpain.
The free WIFI didnt even reach our room (tried with 2 different cell phones and one tablet.
Everytime we called from our room to the restaurant or the receptionist, noone bothered to pick up. The cappuccino we ordered one time from the restaurant was disgusting and so were the ordered meat balls.
On our last day there was a note in the elevator that the water will be shut down in the entire hotel TODAY at 11am for SOME hours.
The garbage from our room wasnt removed at all.
We are sorry to not be able to say one good thing about this hotel, but after this experience we advise: dont go there

Room Tip: check the mattress immediately, our mattresses were so crappy it caused a lot of backpain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eirini d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Remco Hotel and it's a really good hotel, during the breakfast yiu can find whatever you want eat and a good staff will support you for everything you need there.
The hotel is located in a really quite side of Amsterdam and the rooms are availabe of everything you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ylenia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review. So nice to read you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you are positive about our rooms, the location of the hotel and the large variety of food at the breakfast.
We hope you will choose our hotel again next time you come to Amsterdam!
Kind regards,
Remco Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Nice hotel, friendly staff, very quiet neighbourhood. lots of things to do inside hotel. Lost my umbrella but staff hepled me to find it again. Perfect stay !!!!!! and tip, rent a bike and see Amsterdam tghe easy and relaxed way

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieharpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind comments about your recent visit. We're glad to read that you had such a good experience. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Remco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We were there just for one night my boyfriend and I and it turned out to be hell. We arrived in the afternoon to check in, dropped our belongings in the room and took off to town (20 min by car). When coming back we realized the heating didn't work. The rooms aren't the cleanest. And not to mention that they were working somewhere in the hotel from 8 am to 4pm and they didn't even bother to inform us.

The next morning, we woke up to find out that my car's window had been broken and my gps stolen. I went to the receptionist (which REALLY took her time with the client she was with while they were two and the second one didn't even ask me if I needed something). After explaining the situation, she wasn't even slightly surprised which means they could have AT LEAST warn us that it was an insecure place, they told me to call Carglass and that they weren't responsible of the parking (OF COURSE). I had to fill in a form on the internet, and needed to print it out, but for that to happen, needed to ask the receptionist which took another 30 min because they were busy with ONE client. They had only one camera on the parking lot. A person passing by and living there told us it was a rough area.

Avoid this hotel even though it looks appealing, you'll avoid a lot of trouble.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times, always liked it and I have no complaints. It is of course a little away from the city center but I knew that beforehand and adjusted my trip to that fact.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilmar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemcoHotelAmsterdam, Guest Relations Manager at New West Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We're glad to read that you had such a good experience.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Remco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
West Side Inn Hotel
#284 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#69 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#209 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Property: New West Inn Amsterdam
Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing