We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for amazing prices in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New West Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #167 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a lovely room at this hotel and the price was unbeliveable for Amsterdam which is usually one of the most expensive of the worlds cities in relation to accommodation. Huge walk in shower, flat screen TV, air con, smartly decorated and 24 hour reception with very tight security. Free Parking and great transportation links into the city centre.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room at very little extra cost but the room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

clean and big room - 1 king bed and 1 single bed. good service, near to tram station (about 10min walk). 20-30min to city center by tram. easy to find halal food (Turkish restaurant) which is near to the hotel. and lots of shop, supermarket.
yes, it's value for money! very recommended :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Meeza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

excellent ratio quality / price ,regular rooms, nice location,With its own lounge with billiards ........ 9 km from the city center, public transport close to the hotel.
guys nice and sunny.

low prices recommended !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Petra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Easy to get there by tram. Peaceful and beautiful location. Staff very friendly and serviceminded. Room spaceful for three and beds comfortable. Free Wi-fi excellent extra. One minus for expensive breakfast. Lounge was cosy and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

if you are looking for a nice warmly and relaxing hotel at a cheap rate, this is where to go. i was quite impressed with the hotel and the staff. The hotel is in a good location and there is easy access to central station

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Omotayo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

this was our first trip to amsterdam and the hotel was great. it was really clean and the hotel was really friendly and very helpful. it was very close to the tram and made it very easy to make it to the town centre

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank heather c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Rarely ever do I really have to write such a "strange" review. It is seldom, indeed, that a hotel has such a huge potential and leaves such a miserable impression. In particular, the issue is as follows:
1.) The hotel is in a new, rather uninteresting (suberbian?) part of the city. Far from the city center, but relatively easy to reach with tram 17 + some 10 minutes walk.
2.) The (architecturaly slightly outdated) building makes inside a very good impression. Plenty of space, both in common areas, in the hallways and in the room, alike. Rarely ever do I see three star hotels displaying so much free space to move around in the room, and this without compromising the comfort of the room (furniture and equipment). All clean and tidy. So, what is the problem?
3.) As I enter the room I was given, I already feel it is quite cold in there. On returning to the hotel later in the evening, I realise why I am paying only 40 euro for a 3star establishment. The heating does not work. This in late January with a lot of snow laying on the ground (= the temperature must be below 0). Obviously, the (also quite nice, too) bathroom does not have any heating in there, either. Thus, forget taking a shower unless you are a walrus.
4.) Here, the story continues. In the corner of the room, I spot a small fan heater. Coincidence? - Rather not, why otherwise would they place it there? I turn it on. After some 20-30 minutes, it stops working. Moreover, the lamps (apart from two small nightlamps) do not work, either. So, here I am: spending my first and only night in a big comfy room, sitting in almost complete darkness and shaking from cold.
5.) I decide to take some action. When asking the reception to fix the problem, the guy replies I can be given additional blankets. When I insist to heat up the room, not just to keep me alive overnight, he mumbles something of a general problem in the building and of a technician who keeps fixing it and who will get it right with my room, too. When? - Nobody knows. My gut feeling tells me it will not happen during my short presence (I booked a room just for one night), so I insist he should see me as soon as possible. Indeed, after some 15-20 minutes, the technician comes into my room and - clearly surprised - states that the AC is broken down in my room ("general problem"?). Obviously, it cannot be fixed on the spot, however, he tries to make the small fan heater work again, and he succeeds. In the process, he manages to lit up the whole room, by making one of the two lamps work again. The issue was some problem with the electricity in my room, and not the small heater and the lamp themselves.
6.) Halfway to happy, I keep heating my big comfortable room with that small fan heater. The temperature slowly rises up, I go to bed. Before I manage to fall asleep, the heater switches off and definitely refuses to work, and I feel the dark Dutch winter coming on to me, again....

To sum the story up: I am certain that the hotel management knew of the problem and placed me in that unfortunate room just because I was alone and came to Amsterdam just for one night. Whatever their reasoning, they did not offer to refund the stay or to compensate for the shortcomings despite the whole circus I went through and despite my spoilt stay. On my departure, the receptionist just said how sorry she was and... "bye-bye".
Indeed, that was my farewell to this hotel as I do not intend to come back whatever the price will be and I strongly advise other guests to do the same. Maybe, one day the hotel management lives up to what is a serious treatment of guests visiting a three star establishment.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Vannegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
West Side Inn Hotel
#308 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,963 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#81 of 374 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Campanile Amsterdam
#202 of 374 in Amsterdam
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#243 of 374 in Amsterdam
639 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#152 of 374 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 374 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New West Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New West Inn Amsterdam

Address: Reimerswaalstraat 5, 1069 AE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $54 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New West Inn Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern facilities and comforts; situated in a peaceful area in the western part of the city, 15 minute drive to city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your New West Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing