We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #82 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Arrived early and was let up to our room. It was very nice, very comfortable bed and an amazing shower. We had a view of the high street behind the hotel which has a tram line on it which some people would probably find noisy etc. I had no issue with it, part of the Amsterdam experience!

Lobby area was very pleasant and the gym was of good standard and I didn't see one person use it whilst I did.

Didn't try the MOMO restaurant but it looked lovely.

Close to the museums and opposite the canal with the hardrock café and wagamamas etc so convenient for food!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mike-j-tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    888
    359
    140
    76
See reviews for
220
1,182
98
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The location of the hotel was just right as all the major attractions were close by and the best part is that it was easy to come from the Airport catching a train. The hotel rooms were clean and the staff was cheerful and always showed that willingness to help. We did face some problem on th night we arrived as it was a weekend and we were told that the hotel was full and cannot get the room we had booked with our preferences and they gave us a room that was clean but too small and shower area was definitely too small for a big guy like me to fit in comfortably. however there was a call from the reception offering another room according to our original preference with an extra charge of 40 Euros per night (Upselling trick?). that was not acceptable- when we expressed our inconvenience the guys at the reception did arrange a bigger room with no extra charges. Had they not 'played' this trick on us it would have been a very good experience at the hotel- except this everything else was perfect

Room Tip: Canal view is the best for the mornings and night lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOHAMMED ZUBAIR A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Chose this hotel because it was near the museums which it was. On first appearance it gave a rich warm appeal. Your eyes are draw to the fire on entering the foyer giving out a welcome warmth which was appreciated as it was cold outside. There are lots of fancy seats there which for a short person like me were uncomfortable to sit on.
The room was clean and cosmopolitan looking. The bed was too soft though for a decent nights sleep, but I did like the lighting which gave a different colours over the bed. The toilet and shower cubicles are the smallest I've ever seem with a good powerful shower. The temperature of the room was too warm and the air conditioning had a habit of turning it self of.
Breakfast was a good selection of cooked eggs, bacon and sausages or continental breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel but I I have been in better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 3night stay at this hotel,the staff and location was perfect,near to all the museums,that we wanted to visit.only down side was the price of beer in Amsterdam
,six euros a beer but not to be put off we still had a fantastic time,the hotel clean ,friendly staff pleasant and helpful,room clean,small area for shower toilet cleaned to a high standard.

Room Tip: All rooms same ,very high standard s at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Just a short not to thank you for your amazing words. Sounds like you had a relaxed time in Amsterdam like you said yourself. Next time just ask our staff members for the best tips and addresses in town, we know all greats spots where the drinks are not that expensive. So hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were a family of 4 adults and picked this hotel as it was near the train station and we were due to arrive into amsterdam airport late at night. It was a good choice - the trains run beneath the airport and you can buy tickets quite easily at counters - as we had heard the ticket machines were quite complicated. Its only around 4 euros one way and takes approx 20 minutes and there are 3 trains minimum per hour. The hotel is directly across from the station - just opposite the Ibis Hotel. Its beside the end of Dam where the Christmas market is at present and near enough to walk to the Red Light districts and most of the other attractions of the city. The staff are exceptionally friendly - all of them - especially the lady who looks after the breakfast counter. The choice is fairly limited but theres plenty of breads, cheeses, meats, and cereals - no need to leave hungry. The hotel is old but we found it to be clean and the reception staff were always ready to answer our queries. They have a left luggage facility which is free of charge. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - the lift only goes to the 2nd floor at the back - some of the steps can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doylemary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write. Sounds like you had a good stay, but the compliments must be for the Park Plaza Hotel instead of Park Hotel Amsterdam because of the fact that the Park Plaza Hotel is right across the central station. But great to hear that you had a good time in Amsterdam. Maybe we have the honour the next time to welcome you at Park Hotel if you are planning another trip to Amsterdam.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room at the front of the building, full of character with beams and sloping ceilings. Luckily for us our bathroom was separate, reading other reviews we were really pleased as not sure I like the sound of open bathrooms!

Location very good, nice and close to museums and walkable into main centre. We were pleased we stayed in this location rather than central.

Room was very comfortable and we slept well in the soft bed, although softer than what we were used to.

All amenities in the hotel were great, lovely 'ritual' toiletries in the bathroom, TV with loads of English channels, library with books to borrow in the 'living room' / bar downstairs with lovely comfy places to relax. Very trendy but not in an off-putting way.

The room, being at the front of the building, was very noisy, even on the 5th floor. This could definitely be improved. The local beggar whistling for money late into the night did get annoying! Windows also draughty and the climate control in the room took a while to work, meaning it was tricky to stay at a good temperature.

Staff lovely and so helpful and housekeeping meant room was spotless. The porters were so on the ball, helping people with bags/taxis.

Didn't try the breakfast as very pricey.

Would definitely return/recommend but would request closed bathroom again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linz040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking to write about your Park Hotel experience. It’s always a pleasure to read if somebody enjoyed their stay that much. Great to hear to you would love to come back sometime. So hopefully we have the honour to welcome you soon. Just contact our reservations department for your room request and we will make sure that you will get a closed bathroom.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for a long weekend, the hotel is nice upon arriving @14.30 our room was not ready but they said they could upgrade for an extra 25 euros per night!! I say in a lot of hotels and for the room not to be ready at that time of day and then try to get you to upgrade at that price I felt was a bit of a con!! However the room was nice on the top floor not too bid but was ok. nice looking feel to the place and clean enough. Their is a extra charge of 10 euros a day for the wifi!! which I feel if far too much, How ever the staff were nice and the place is in a good location. The MOMO restaurant next door is a little bit costly too!

If you feel like going to the casino over the road as at reception for a fee entry ticket as its 5 euros to get in if you don't have one.

My 3 star review is based on the room not ready and the wifi cost only.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesaint73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#87 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Park Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam next to the Leidse Square, the Museum Square, the prestigious shopping district of P.C. Hooftstraat and Vondelpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing