We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice area of amsterdham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #80 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice area of amsterdham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

just arrived back so fresh in he mind !! found this hotel off trip advisor great value trams near leidserplien stop within reach of museums shops vondel park and about a 10 min ride to dam district polite staff lovely drinks and truffles mmmmmmmmmmmm only 1 fault the matteress on the beds were a bit large for the bases and if you are a restless person you could end up on the floor in the middle of the nite

Room Tip: we were in the back but I was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leicesterguy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    893
    359
    140
    76
See reviews for
220
1,187
99
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I thought this hotel was brilliant. Close to all the cultural spots/museums etc.
The breakfast was excellent and if booked 24hrs before it is reduced.
The room was excellent, bit on the small side but what the hell, bathroom arrangements a bit of an oddity as the shower/toilet is really in the main room so you have to get on well!!
The beds were perfect (for us).
The room was at the rear of the hotel so no complaints regarding noise.

Overall a brilliant break in a brilliant city.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel rooms in Europe are small - fact! So we took a Junior Suite at the Park Hotel. I'm glad we did so as even it was hardly spacious. Nonetheless this is an efficient four star business hotel. It is a mere 200 metres to the newly renovated Rijkmuseum and to that extent is a perfect location. The van Gogh Museum is a further 5 minutes away and is also an essential visit. But I digress - this hotel is modern, has a strong service culture and MoMo its restaurant has brilliant food at good prices. Breakfast is as hearty as you want to make it. Beds and pillows are wonderful. Every thing worked! Just two words of caution - (1) its central location means it can be noisy so ask for a room facing away from the front street (2) I can't abide paying for the internet ... free WiFi is a right these days and hotels need to be brought to account if they don't provide it. Park Hotel management, this issue needs attention . PS don't forget to take in Rembrandt's House its so worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timothy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed a while ago but had a great time. The bedroom was both stylish and comfortable. The 'walk in wet room' in our superior room was small but as expected. The location is brilliant - right in the centre of the action - near the museams, the shops and a five/ten minute walk you'll find lots of lovely places on or near the canal to have breakfast. If I was in Amsterdam again and wanted to be in a similar location, I would definitely book again as I think it's fairly priced for the combination of contemporary decoration and city centre location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

For a reasonably expensive hotel, the Park Hotel is a bit of a let-down. The staff are very helpful and for the most part friendly. The 25 Euro charge for breakfast was way too high so I did not bother. I was attending a conference, and the conference facilities were pretty good with nice lunch and good coffee from machines with pods. The internet has free internet supposedly available only in the lobby areas, but it worked in my room on the first floor, and apparently on the second floor too. I guess this made up partway for the fact that it is an optional extra in the room, something a bit odd in this day and age, and alongside the ridiculous breakfast buffet price, does give the impression that they are trying to wring you for every penny.

The internet whilst free, required a new unique code each day that could only be used on one device - so if you needed to use wifi on your phone and also ipad/tablet/laptop then you had to ask for another., The system also appeared not to work very well. I had several duff codes in the 3 days I was there, and often their server/router went down when you were trying to authenticate.

The room:

When I asked if the rooms were double or triple glazed, I was told no, and so I asked for a quiet room. I was told it would look out over a courtyard. I guess maybe there is a translation issue as it looked out on the roof of the conference area. Still it was very quiet which was all I needed.

The bed was very comfortable.

TV was pretty old and did not have many stations.

The really odd thing was that there was no bathroom, simply an area of the bedroon that had a basin and some tiles and then 2 glass doors behind which were the loo and a shower.

The shower had a monsoon head which was nice. but the weird design of having the towel rail on the outside of the door meant that you either had to come out of the shower to get it, or open the door and reach around it to get the towel, both methods causing you to drip water all over the tiled part of the bedroom floor.

On the second morning, I came out of the shower to find a lake heading right to the room door.

Whoever designed the bedroom/bathroom setup must have sampled some of the local intoxicants!

In Summary:

They must think they are a boutique hotel, but they are not. It is an OK hotel in a convenient location where the customer is to be plundered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikepaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I were first time visitors to Amsterdam and stayed here. We found it to be within easy walking distance from Centraal station and it was a great way to start our stay by walking through the city to the hotel. It's in a great location to be within walking distance to all the major attractions and areas within the city.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Although we arrived too early to check in, it was no problem for us to leave our luggage in the luggage room so we could go and explore the city. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I know that some posters have found the bed too soft, but I found it to be perfect. There was no separate bathroom which was a different experience for us, but lovely power shower and again clean. Bedding and towels were changed regularly. The only downside to the room was that my reading light was coming out of the wall and wires were exposed. This wasn't fixed during our stay despite being reported. However, this was such a minor issue that it didn't impact on our stay in any way.

There is a sitting area downstairs in the lobby which was great for when you came back in the evening but didn't want to go straight to your room. There were drinks and free wifi there although it was a bit of a pain that the wifi code changed regularly and you had to request a new wifi code each time you came in. Also, the drinks were fairly pricey with 8.50 euros for a small glass of sauvignon blanc. We didn't have breakfast or eat at the hotel so can't comment on this.

All in all it was a really good stay and I would recommend it to other travellers and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel following reviewers on here's recommendation for a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel. It's within walking distance of the Museumplein as well as Centraal station. There is an abundance of restaurants in the vicinity. Which brings me to the breakfast. 23.50 is a ridiculous price to charge for what is basically a continental breakfast. You can get a much cheaper full British breakfast for less than half that price in the local area.
The room was very comfortable. The bed was so soft that I could sleep in the afternoon, even though there was traffic outside. I love the continental pillows! The bathroom has plenty of supplies and decent size towels! The shower is over the bath.
There is an iron and ironing board which is really great -better than the usual trouser press. The mini bar is well stocked, and the tea and coffee are welcome. Other reviewers have criticised the size of the room, but you must bear in mind that the Dutch are economical with space!! One feature of the room that I didn't like was the decorative lights on the curtain rail. That's what keeps me awake!!

The lobby and reception are very nicely decorated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#33 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#87 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#65 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Park Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam next to the Leidse Square, the Museum Square, the prestigious shopping district of P.C. Hooftstraat and Vondelpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing