We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Hotel Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Loved This Hotel , Staff Were Lovely , Even checked us in a bit earlier (for a fee) also when we left had an extra charge of approx £350 for room service. was a bit steep but apart from that was amazing!

Room Tip: Id recommend the superior rooms they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura-beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights at the Park hotel. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a Miss R at the counter. As we arrived at about 11am, I hoped to take a shower after a 16 hour journey but understood that we were unable to get a room due to the time. Miss R's suggested that we upgraded to an executive room for 30Euro/night if we wanted to get a room immediately which we declined. I was not impressed by her service as she gave me an impression that she was 'talking down' to us.
We left our luggage at the hotel and returned at about 5pm after some sightseeing. This time, at the counter, we were told that the Superior room with a double bed which we had booked was not available and they could only give us a better Executive room but with twin beds for the night, and would move us the next day to a room with a double bed. We were disappointed at this arrangement but had no choice. I also wondered why Miss R offered us the 'upgrade' at 30 Euros/night earlier when they were going to 'upgrade' us to am executive twin room anyway?
However, I am pleased to say that from that point onward, everything went uphill. True enough, the next day before we left the hotel, we were served by an extremely well mannered gentleman who offered to shift out luggage to the 'new' executive double room while we were out.
The new room was nice, spacious and clean, with a view of the canal. All the staff we subsequently dealt with were patient, friendly and went the extra mile to ensure our comfort. Special mention must be made to Karin who helped us with reservations and directions etc.
As it was my husband's birthday, the hotel left a small box of chocolates for us, which was a nice gesture. We also received a letter of apology from the management with regards to our room changes.
The location of the hotel was fantastic. A close walk to the major Museums and good restaurants. Directly opposite a canal cruise station/ bicycle parking. Straight buses/trams to the city/airport/train station.
Despite the initial hiccups, my husband and I had an enjoyable stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel easy to find after taking either 1,2 or 5 tram from Central Station. Nice hotel and rooms were lovely. We were on 5th floor and there was awful smell in corridor for both days. Didn't affect the room or elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great three-night break in Amsterdam which The Park was part of. Costa bit... Noisy room at back over air-conditioning, shower door broken, leaked into bathroom each time. Not cheap... And yet we were treated well when help needed and the breakfast was value for money in a great room (MOMO restaurant for rest of the day). Good location for us on edge of inner city. For balance, the bed was extremely comfortable. Didn't use minibar (laughably expensive) or any other add-ons so can't comment.

Room Tip: Ask the right questions - we didn't, trusting and fooled ourselves a bit - lots of money spent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJMR0850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braemar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked the Park Hotel on line to see Roger Waters. We upgraded our room so we had a separate bathroom and as requested, had a room at the back. The bed was superb - slept well! We also booked our breakfast in advance and it was €18.50 each and actually well worth the money as we didn't eat again all day other than snacks at night. There was lots of choice: great juices, at least 4 prepared fresh fruits (melon, pineapple etc) plus a big bowl of bananas - all the usual yogurt and cereals. Cooked stuff was good, fresh eggs, bacon, pancakes, tomatoes etc. Brilliant bread selection (the one with nuts is particularly good), pastries, jams etc. salads and a good cheeseboard. Help yourself to coffee/tea/chocolate - perfectly adequate (the espresso at the chocolate bar in the lobby is better AND you get yummy chocolates/macaroons with your cup - and the macaroons are seriously good!). The staff were all really helpful. Only downside was the wifi which you have to pay for in your room - it is free downstairs but the code changes every 5 hours which is a bit of a pain but not bad enough to spoil a great trip!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleep, which I am, go for a room at the back and you will sleep well with no dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gamekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a note. Hopefully you enjoyed Roger Waters but he must be amazing. Thanks for your compliments about the breakfast, it is the most elaborate breakfast in town so good to read you enjoyed it. I hope we have the honour to welcome you back in the future!

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Looking forward to seeing roger waters , I took my wife to amsterdam for her first time .
So we decided to book a nice hotel , which the park hotel is . The room was small but ok for us , shower etc was spot on
But and this is a big but it's difficult to enjoy your stay when the mini bar is the most expensive I have ever had the pleasure to see, I mean 15.50 euros for a mini bottle of wine , I found the same bottle in the supermarket for 2.99 ,,,,
We had to eat out because the price for breakfast for 2 of us was 46 euros and momo you needed to take out a mortgage .
There was a chip fat smell in the lobby and a fish smell in the lifts
But to be fair it wasn't that bad
Be warned amsterdam is very expensive

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernard1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I hereby would like to take the opportunity to thank you for the review you have left.
Hope you had a great time at Roger Waters and that your wife loved Amsterdam.
I’m sorry to learn about the disappointment you have expressed regarding the mini bar prices. If we have the honour to welcome you back in the future we would love to offer you a nice glass of wine in our Living Room. Regarding the odor in the Living Room, normally this never happens so I hope you understand that this was a onetime experience.
Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehavim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Due to a miscalculation in my schedule I had to do a “last moment” search for a room for two nights in a hotel in the museum district during a very busy period (huge conference nearby), and was very lucky to find such a room at the Park Hotel. The hotel is modern, clean and efficient. Very professional and courteous staff, nice lobby and efficient elevators. The room was small but clean and well equipped (with free coffee). Internet is provided in the rooms for a charge, but is free in the lower floor which is not as convenient but still helpful (access code changes every day). Did not have breakfast but heard it was good (though expensive). The location was excellent for me, very near the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum and with a tram station nearby.
Overall I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would certainly consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yaakovh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. Amazing to read that you were very happy with your room at Park Hotel. Hope to see you again at Park Hotel.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#39 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hub of Amsterdam's best city centre location, Park Hotel Amsterdam combines stylish looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset. A fabulous location, bang in the middle of one of Europe's most exciting cities between the famous Leidseplein, the Museumplein and the luxury fashion district.Park Hotel Amsterdam is a quietly sophisticated hotel offering understated elegance and unparalleled service. This luxury Amsterdam hotel, spread over several historical buildings, boasts 189 guest rooms including stunning suites, 9 flexible contemporary spaces for meetings, events, private dining and receptions, the Living Room, Park 24H Workout and MOMO Restaurant, Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing