We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not bad but could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #83 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dulwich Hill
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not bad but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Park Hotel is nice enough but there seems to be a strange mix when it comes to service in the hotel.

The Good Things
Truffle Bar in Reception
Location, Location, Location
Very Clean and Well Maintained Hotel
Big fluffy bedding - very comfortable

The Bad Things
Reception staff not very polite
Breakfast is just average, very disappointed as the hotel build it up to be something spectacular and it is not! The breakfast staff had an attitude that was not friendly.
Paid for WiFi and not available in the room. First hotel we found this trip where we had to pay for WiFi and could only use it in the room.

I would probably stay at this hotel in the future, they just need to work on their customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OtherIan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your constructive feedback. Glad to read that you loved our Jewelry Bar, the location and the hotel in general. Regarding the breakfast, I’m sorry we didn’t meet up to your expectations. I have brought your comments to the attention of our breakfast team, but I do hope that this experience is really an exception because our breakfast team is known of their high service level. Regarding the WiFi, there is always WiFi available in all of our rooms so I think there went something wrong. Please contact us the next time so we can solve your problem immediately. I’m grateful for the rest your support and are happy to hear that we have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    891
    359
    140
    76
See reviews for
220
1,184
99
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent !!!!! We enjoyed our short break at the park hotel . We would recommend this hotel for good location ,modern facilities and spotless. We will definitely return ,and be spreading the word ,stay here !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjb187053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just had 4 nights with large family group and took 5 double rooms over last weekend. The hotel location was great right next to Vondelpark which hold live music events throughout the summer months. The rooms had amazing air conditioning that work incredibly efficiently and didn't switch off when you took you're room key out of the master light switch. Many hotels today have "pretend" air con which is annoying if you like a cool room to sleep in. Gym was adequate and had enough equipment to keep you going for a few good work outs.
Bicycles and scooters were available for hire from the hotel and its right across (100m) from the main area for canal boat trips and the Leidseplein is alongside the canal. The Rijksmuseum (Dutch national museum) is a 5min walk or 2 min on the bike! It's been closed for a major refurbishment for the last 10 yrs. and it's definitely worth a visit to see the building itself let alone the contents. You can cycle through the middle out to the museumplein and get some cool photos of the Rijks and the IAMSTERDAM iconic letters as souvenirs, again all within 5 mins of the hotel.
The designer shopping street PC Hoofstaat is just around the corner and the hotel has the superb Momo cocktail bar and a great Japanese fusion restaurant attached to it.
Also amazing mattresses and pillows, we all slept well......
The hotel staff were excellent and booked us a private boat last minute to take us around the canals, just the 11 of us with our own music and wine, beers and softs drinks.
Well done Park Hotel I was really surprised. Will definitely use this next time. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest rooms away from trams at front of hotel, although my brother-in-law had a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senojwuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for a 2 night 40th birthday treat, as was stated on the booking. Had read from other reviewers that free upgrades can be available so enquired as it was my birthday! The answer was a firm no, but if i paid an extar 25 euros per night instead of the usual 45 euros they would upgrade me, and even tried to sell me how nice the room was that was clearly empty and available. Anyway they told me free was not how it worked! We got a 2nd floor superior, which i believe is translated as a standard room in most places on th side of the hotel just above the tram lines which get going about 6am. The room was ok, but the shower door leaked water all over the floor, and the bed was far too springy and soft for both me and my partner who had a bad back by the time we left.I have had better for similar money to be honest, and wasnt too keen on taking up the offer of an 18 euro breakfast which was a reduced rate from the normal 24 euros, thats evening meal territory not breakfast surely!? We ate a couple of streets away for breakfast at P.King on Herengracht opposite Banks Mansion, lovely pancakes in the sun with coffee for 15 euros in total.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and although not quite in the centre of all the activity the hotel is well placed for the park and high end shopping district and is only 5 mins from the Van Gogh museum.
The service was very good and consistent, checking out was very slow but that was the only blip. We arrived late to check in and the restaurant stayed open for us to eat. The food was lovely and breakfast also a very impressive spread.
The bar has a good wine list and the bar tenders will make bespoke cocktails on request.
There is also a small gym however it is very hot and very crowded.
All in all we had a great stay and would return without question as in comparison to other top hotels the price was very competitive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkfizz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabadell, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very good location. I loved the decoration of the lobby. The hotel offers a breakfast of quality and also very nice and kind staff especially the consierge, front desk and bell boy.
The restaurant Momo is a cocktail bar every night, good to have a drink at the hotel.
In my opinion, the matresses are comfortable but too soft.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel was well situated for bars and restaurants, the rooms were very compact, and I wasn't keen on the idea of having 2 cubicles in your room for the shower and toilet, however some people may find that quirky! There is a very chic restaurant attached to the hotel, and lough we didn't eat there we did have a cocktail at the bar, which had.a great atmosphere, it was quite pricey though. This hotel offers parking facilities, but be aware that the cost of parking your car is nearly as expensive as you staying at the hotel yourselves, 60 euros a night!!!
Overall the hotel was clean and pleasantly decorated, but it was priced at the higher price band, and I don't think the size of rooms justified the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#87 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Park Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam next to the Leidse Square, the Museum Square, the prestigious shopping district of P.C. Hooftstraat and Vondelpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing