We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel in excellent location....but very small bedrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #85 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cool hotel in excellent location....but very small bedrooms”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice trendy hotel really well situated for the sights of Amsterdam. Friendly staff. Rooms were nicely appointed but tiny and with an odd bathroom arrangement (basin is in the bedroom, there is a separate bathroom cubicle and a separate shower cubicle). They had both European and UK plug sockets which was a nice touch. All in all a great place for a short stay but too small for a longer trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review on Trip Advisor, we really do appreciate your comments.
I hope you did enjoy the rainforest shower!
We hope to welcome you again in the near future. If there is anything we can do for your next stay, do not hesitate to inform us.

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    961
    384
    147
    85
See reviews for
236
1,306
108
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent a week here for business meetings in mid-February. I had a room facing the back of the hotel on the 4th floor which was very quiet. Colleagues who had rooms facing the front of the hotel complained of street noise and noise from people outside on the street. The rooms are standard for a European business hotel, plenty of room for working, sleeping, bathing and dressing but not for entertaining. The room had a docking station with speaker for an older version i-phone. There were British and European outlets on the desk. The bath was equipped with a serviceable hairdryer, although it was unusually heavy. The room was well suited for one person since the bath area was really part of the room. The shower was behind one glass door and the toilet behind another, both of which opened right into the room. If you’re sharing the room with someone you’ll be sharing everything, really everything. The hotel has a small gym in the basement with two treadmills, an elliptical and a bike. All stations were occupied early (6 am) in the morning but opened up again around 7 am. The biggest negative of the hotel stay was the check in experience and the room availability. I checked in on a Sunday morning and was told that a room would not be ready until 2 PM. Given the busy state of the lobby this was quite credible. However, colleagues checking in on Monday and Tuesday morning and were told the same thing despite the hotel being significantly quieter than on Sunday. They were also given the option of up-grading their room, for a fee, to be able to get into accommodations earlier. My conclusion is that the hotel does not readily offer early check in which is a big disappointment if you’re arriving from the US on an overnight flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel and reserve the night before your arrival if you need an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest, First of all I would like to thank you for the time that you’ve taken to leave us this review on TripAdvisor. Please know that we’ll share this comment with our manager to improve our service. We offer a large variety of rooms, so maybe when you stay again with us we can offer you a more suitable room. I can only hope that you will reconsider staying at our hotel again so that we can make your more pleasant.

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went away weekend 9th march, stayed in superior double room - only thing would recommend is going for the next room up if you would be more comfortable with a separate bathroom as the showers / toilets in the superior room are just at the end of the room covered in thick black glass cover (have put up a photo). Good central location near nightlife in leidseplein n shops around the corner :) Really soft mattresses. Had a room at back on fifth floor which was quiet.

Room Tip: Don't pick a superior room if want a separate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I am pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us.
We do offer a large variety of rooms, so maybe next time when you stay with us we could find you a other room which suites your expectations better.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

On arrival at the hotel i was impressed with the elegance and design of the decor (especially lobby & chill out areas). Once in the room, I was satisfied that the room was comfortably equipped with a dash of luxurious design. The actual sleepover in the hotel was awful, we experienced almost continuous disturbance from internal noise pollution from the other rooms. Interior walls are extremely thin, you could hear curtains being opened and closed, internal doors incl wardrobes. Consequently I suffered from a disturbance of sleep throughout the duration of our stay. I went home feeling more exhausted than revived due to a lack of sleep, not good at all. Housekeeping was sloppy, they failed to remove rubbish from both the bathroom and bedroom areas, which I've never come across before, this is fairly standard surely?? On check out we asked the receptionist what options were available regarding transport to the airport - cost of a taxi, tram options, where to get tram etc. The dialogue between us was brief, she seemed rushed and inconvenienced by what I consider to be small talk tourist Q&A, extremely unhelpful which made me think ... If you don't have the patience to deal with tourist small talk , don't work in a hotel!
In summary, would not stay again. Overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HRH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the noise that you’ve experienced caused by the room next door and the trams.
Could you please send us your contact details and the actual date of your stay plus room numberto www.sales@parkhotel.nl so that we can take a closer look into this situation and get to the bottom of it! Again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay, hopefully we can welcome you back one day to improve your perspective of the hotel.

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

1) on the third night we were expelled from the lobby, because the "cleaning team" was arriving; 2) internet in the room is paid??; 3) TV service is very poor, they had like two or three films on rental; for a cold rainy day.....4) dusty bins were not emptied for a couple of days 5) we complained about all this and were offered an upgrade in a next stay; 6) in Momo, a fancy bar/restaurant, it takes a little time before waiters notice you and start smiling; they are a bit coldish, probably the stylish nature of the place; 7) no english newspapers in the lobby; 8) mattress is bumpy and pillows too thick;

all there are small details but they change your very high initial expectations since the hotel is very well located and is kind of boutiquish....

Room Tip: in this location and for the amount we paid it is difficult to find better I guess..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F0rjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience with the case that you’ve got expelled from The Living Room and the dusty bins in the room.
Could you please send us your contact details and the actual date of your stay to www.sales@parkhotel.nl so that we can take a closer look into this situation and get to the bottom of it! Again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay, hopefully we can welcome you back one day to improve your perspective of the hotel.

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I am a travel agent so am well versed in the good, the bad and the ugly of hotels! We got a great deal on secret escapes and went for the superior room. This has a separate bathroom that is definitely worth it! The rooms were stylish although absolutly boiling! This was soon remedied by housekeeping when we called through, having not realised we could switch it off?! The concierge was just fantastic! I was travelling for our wedding anniversary and my husband's birthday. They recommended and booked a fabulous Indonesian a stones throw from the hotel and got us a reservation at Door 74(look this place up-seriously swish but not an ounce of pretension. All a bit cloak and dagger to get a reservation and amazing cocktails with bar tenders at the top of their game) They called the room to confirm our reservations, hailed us a cab and told him where to drive for the elusive Door 74. They recommended and showed on a map where to go during the day. The service could not be faulted and at no point did they expect a tip(unlike the lack lustre service in USA!)
Bathroom uses Rituals toiletries. A chilled out lounge with a library makes for a relaxed afternoon. Fantastic cocktails. 3 mins from Vondelpark and Leidesplein main square for the tram. And the bed...Oh my goodness the bed!! It uses "zones" so its firmer on the curve of your spine and soft so your shoulders sink in. A revelation in sleep! Would definitely recommend! If you can get a decent rate, then you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meeshnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind words. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the radiator in the room, did you ask anyone from the hotel?
It sounds like you had a fantastic time in Amsterdam! I’m so glad that you enjoyed all the aspects of the hotel, I hope you’ve seen Amsterdam’s highlights as well such as the Anne Frank Museum or the Rijksmuseum which is just 5 footsteps away.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is very stylish with great attention to the details. The location is excellent. Loved the heated floor in the cold mornings! The breakfast was delicious, yummy fresh juices and good selection of the food. The cocktails in the evening superb! MAny locals go there just to have a dinner and enjoy cocktails at night. My double room was quite small but clean with nice design. My bed was very comfortable. I do not really understand the idea of the shower and th TOILET in your room that is located in a 'funny' way. Do not book this type of room if you are going with your new partner or somebody that you do not know well unless you don't mind listening to their toilet visits or them seeing you in the shower. Amsterdam is such a great place to visit and the hotel makes the city experience fantastic. I loved my stay there and I will definitely go back to Park Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carriad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us you review on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure reading through your review!
I hope you’ve got to see a few of Amsterdam’s highlights which are just 5 footsteps away from the hotel. You are coming back in November which is great, if there is anything we can do for you let us know! We’ll be looking forward to welcome you back in November!

Warm regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#28 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,012 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,008 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#78 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Park Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam next to the Leidse Square, the Museum Square, the prestigious shopping district of P.C. Hooftstraat and Vondelpark. Park Hotel has its own in-house parking garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing