We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of beautiful people, but not beautiful for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #91 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Park Hotel is one of these Boutique style hotels, you always have lounge music around you. The connected restaurant is great, the location as well. So what's missing? Well, a hotel is at first about accomodation. The rooms are small, bathroom is only partly renovated, the front road is so loud, that I could only sleep with earplugs. Than the front of the hotel is enlightened heavily, you can't block this completely when shutting the curtains. To make it look more appealing from the outside, some coloured LED lamps are inside the room behind the curtain and it could be a management game to find the switch.

For me, it is also about work. Wireless LAN doesn't work in every corner of the hotel and you have to open the connection manually again and again. The big conference room is almost without daylight, which makes it difficult to stay awake, the toilets are below the conference room and can be scented upstairs, the presentation equipment could be more up to date.

You end up at the counter paying and meet again these beautiful people and say to yourself: I should come back here, but not for business.

Room Tip: If they offer you a front room, change to another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didi_Thurau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,701)
There are newer reviews for Park Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 2,703 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent a few nights here with my wife while expiring the city. Great rooms, hotel bar is nice and full of 'trendy folk' so dress up. Easy walking into the nice parts of the city. Gym is okay too. Park nearby if you want to go for a run outside

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thanks for the great comments and for sharing your praises. We look forward to welcome you and your wife back to Park Hotel Amsterdam!

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just back from staying in the Park Hotel and i was disappointed after reading the reviews on trip advisor.The location is good if you only want to stay down the expensive end of town.All the best pubs and coffee shops are located up the other end near Central Station in and around the red light area.Id imagine the majority of guests who stay in this hotel are slightly older and less inclined to want to venture up town to where the action is.
So to the actual hotel...
We spent the first two nights in a room facing the canal which was a mistake.The view was nice but the room was cold due to the windows which are ancient and let in a severe draft.We eventually figured out that the heating in the room takes about 30 mins to heat up.
We arrived back to the hotel on our third day of the trip to find a letter under the door to contact reception.Turned out our room developed a leak in the ceiling which was dripping down onto the bed so we were moved to an executive room which was a nice room and slightly larger than the very small standard room we just left.
During our stay we also got locked out of our room 3 times due to our keycards not working.
We didnt use MOMO restaurant as judging by the price of the breakfast we thought it best to venture up town and get dinner.
The breakfast was nearly 25 euro per head for a bit of toast,cerial,crossaint and tea/coffee.
Lastly when we went to check out they tried to charge us for having breakfast every morning which we clearly didnt.
All in all the hotel is very clean but the location didnt suit our needs.The room change and keycards not working 3 times was very inconvenient.The noise and draft in our first room facing the canal was very disappointing and all in a quite expensive supposedly 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Dont choose a room at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DCLEGEND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write. Your stay with us sounded a little bit like a negative experience. Please accept my apologies. This is certainly not the level of service we aim to provide our guests.
I’m glad that our Executive Room suited your needs more than the Superior Room.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located to get to any place in the City. You can hop on and off of tram, canal boats, city bus, and easy to get to from the central train terminal. I would come back to stay here purely for its superb location.
The rooms are small and a bit noisy but that's what you get if you stay in any big city centers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

There is no better thing to read that our guest definitely will come back! So thank you for your great compliment. See you soon in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Avoid any rooms facing the canal / street as most of the rooms have extremely poor insulation from weather and noise making it impossible to sleep properly in the room with children..We had two rooms on 5th floor facing the canal but asked to change it to quite rooms looking inner part of the hotel without any view but much much better insulation ! It is impossible to understand that they have not done anything about this problem which is clearly visible in terms of aging window frames! However, Hotel management was quickin addressing the issue (assuming they get this complaint alot) Concierge is non-existing in practice (they are not update gave me the impression of this service being offered for the hell of it !) Rooms look clean but did not like the carpeting and small bath towels.. Lobby of the as well as in-house restaurant "momo's" is above average.. Overall, hotel does not justify the room rates it is currently enjoying...I would give it a 3-star and would probably try another hotel if I am back in amsterdam again..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ersin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

I would like to say thank you for taking time to write. First of all I want to give you my sincere apologies because it didn’t sound that you experienced the true Park Hotel feeling. Unfortunately Park Hotel isn’t really your style but I do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam with your kids. Once again, thank you for your feedback, we will definitely will take a closer look at it.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Excelent location.
Service is great.
The room (209) is very small (don't have space for your bags) but it's a modern room.
The hotel has a bar very pleasant.
I didn't like the bath inside the room. Just a glass separate the room of the bath. But ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabioeMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights, hotel is easy to get to with trams from Amsterdam CS. Room was nice and clean, staff went out of their way to be helpful. The prices are a bit expensive, but the environment is worth it -very stylish, modern interiors, all you could possibly need in the room. Would gladly stay there again (esp. if someone else was paying!).

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra charge for a Leidseplein view, the sunrise looks fantastic on the canal.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,073 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#82 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#80 of 371 in Amsterdam
762 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,346 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $161 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam next to the Leidse Square, the Museum Square, the prestigious shopping district of P.C. Hooftstraat and Vondelpark. Park Hotel has its own in-house parking garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing