We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“All a mother could ask for...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #85 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“All a mother could ask for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My college age daughter was traveling along through Amsterdam on her way back to Italy. She had be touring for days and was exhausted and not feeling well. I decided she need a treat, and booked her a room at the Park instead of yet another hostel. She was SO pleased. As a family, we travel quite a bith in luxury hotels, so she knows a quality hotel. The location was perfect for her to visit the museums she wanted and was safe a walk-able for a young woman on her own. Her room was clean and comfortable - she said the bed was the best ever! Thanks, Park Hotel, for treating my girl so well!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbgvluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, what a pleasure to read that your daughter had such a great time with us. We are happy that we could contribute on your lovely surprise for her. You must come visit us with the whole family some time! So maybe we have the honour to welcome you all in the near future when you are planning a trip to Amsterdam.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    845
    346
    134
    74
See reviews for
200
1,121
95
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Visited this hotel 5 years ago.... and what a difference 5 years makes!!!
The staff are still brilliant, so welcoming, but the changes that have been made means that the hotel has lost some of its charm and character.
Only went in the Momo restaurant once, food was excellent, though expensive, but it was so noisy!!! A romantic meal was certainly out of the question!
This time we had a room in the newer part of the hotel, overlooking the canal and Hard Rock Cafe, as expected the quality of the room and fittings was exceptional and the view entertaining.
However there were a few niggly things; lights under the bed that we couldn't turn off, a very soft bed, you either love it or you hate it,( I liked that sinking feeling, my wife didn't) , heating that was switched off but the room seemed continually warm and if you opened the door to the balcony there was a lot of road noise, though this did not affect us when the door was closed.
We still had a great time, the hotel is well positioned to visit Museums and still able to walk into the central areas.
Perhaps our expectations were coloured by our first visit when it was more grand, now it is more 'full on' and boutique!!
I expect it is time to try a new venue.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you still enjoyed your stay with us. A few years ago, Park Hotel is totally renovated in order to ensure that our guests continue to receive the high standards we are renown for. Of course I understand that our new design is not everybody’s style. One a more positive note, I was pleased to learn that you had a great time. Hopefully you will choose for us the third time.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

As soon as we arrived the people there were so friendly and helped us with our bags. Lovely room and the bed was the most comfy bed I have ever slept in! I would go back to stay at the Park Hotel purely to stay in the bed, The room service is fab. Great menu and they deliver food to your room whatever time it is! Just a lovely atmosphere and I looked forward to returning the hotel every night. Definitely want to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Having arrived at Schipol rather late, my wife and I decided to take the 197 bus which will take you to the Museumplein right next to the Rijkmuseum. Luckily, next door you will find the Park Hotel.

Upon setting foot in the hotel lobby, you will be impressed by the lovely warm decor and the aroma of "Under a Fig Tree". By the time you get to the reception you are anticipating if your room will differ from the pictures you have seen through the lens of another's camera. However, in my case, I was given a vacant expression and the news that my booking had failed to appear on the system. Great.

Once I had controlled my rage and could construct a coherent sentence in my already confusing Scottish tongue, I asked what could be done.

From here, the Park Hotel had arranged a room with breakfast in another hotel and would provide transport to get there (despite being a stone's throw away). They had asked us to come back tomorrow and they would guarantee an upgraded room. The hotel we were placed in was the NH Amsterdam, which was reasonable but we did witness a rat scuttle across the floor with a piece of toast someone had dropped during breakfast.

So, the next day upon returning to the Park Hotel, I was pleased to be back. The hotel staff had upgraded our room to a Junior Suite. After some thorough apologies, I made my way up stairs and was instantly impressed by the hotel's standard of apology as the suite was a considerable upgrade from my initial booking and expectation.

The suite has a large lounge area which had enough room to cater to all the mess we would make while staying in the hotel and was also nicely covered with nice dark warm colours. The bathroom was nicely decorated with a large Audrey Hepburn Ikea picture watching over the toilet. The shower was spectacular, the rain shower head produces so much power and water that I thought the cubicle may fill before the water can drain. The hotel provides an exceptionally comfortable bed with high thread count sheets and duvet's and I am honestly still missing the warmth.

In terms of location, the hotel it situated just outside the center but it is for this reason, the area is not as run down and dusty looking. The hotel has trams, taxi's, buses and canal bus's all within two minutes walking distance, which will take you right to Dam Square if required. Given that the hotel is within the Museumplein, it is obvious but it is very easy to get to the Rijkmuseum and the Van Gogh museum, as well as others.

The hotel also has a number of small restaurants within a half mile radius where you will find good food without the hustle and bustle of the center and also at a more reasonable price. However, the Momo restaurant, which is attached to the hotel is a good choice, with nice meals.

All together, I stayed in Amsterdam for three days and found the hotel to be amongst the best I have stayed in which includes long list from Los Angeles to Shanghai. I would recommend this hotel to anyone making the trip to Amsterdam.

Also, today I received an apology in letter from the hotel regarding the initial booking problem. This was a kind and an act which didn't have to be carried out but displays the thought and quality of the hotel and people that work within it's walls.

Well done.

Room Tip: If you like to sink into your bed, pillow and duvet...this is the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at tha Park hotel. The hotel is well designed, the lobby is warm and welcoming and the rooms are cozy and not very big. The bed wasn't comfy for me ( the extra foam under the sheet is not necessary). Some of the rooms have balcony but the windos are not insulated from noise so keep that in mind if you are sensative (BTW- this is a non smoking hotel). The WiFi is NOT free !!! But there are few computers near the lobby for self use. The location is not central but close to some few atractions (Van gogh museum). The transportation is very easy in Amsterdam anyway so this is not an issue). E X C E L L E N T service, very nice staff (front desk, bell man, duty manager) , very helpfull and informative. We didn't had breakfast included in the rate but the restaurant of the hotel (Momo) is known for all. You have a very good breakfast across the street for 14 euro if coffee at starbucks is not enough. I will come back soon...just keep on the good work.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thekingsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are always very happy to read positive reviews like this and what a huge compliment “hospitality at it’s best” Fantastic to have the opportunity to welcome you once again on a short term!

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here for 3nights and could not have asked for anything better! Staff were friendly and hotel was clean and modern. Its in a great location of Amsterdam and it's easy to walk everywhere. The gym was good. The only negative was that the wifi was not free.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mambo_2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Just a short note to thank you for the kind review that you have left!
Hopefully we see you once again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

had a wonderful time in amsterdam , hotel was top notch, everything we read about it before we went was true, excellent location , beautiful hotel, staff were really helpful and polite, would certainly return to this hotel again when we return to amsterdam

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank GLENN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhotelamsterdam, General Manager at Park Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for taking time to leave a review about Park Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are grateful for your enthusiastic support. See you once again in near the future!

Warm Regards,

Bram van der Hoek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#77 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Park Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Stadhouderskade 25, 1071 ZD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hub of Amsterdam's best city centre location, Park Hotel Amsterdam combines stylish looks and cosseting service with a contemporary mindset. A fabulous location, bang in the middle of one of Europe's most exciting cities between the famous Leidseplein, the Museumplein and the luxury fashion district.Park Hotel Amsterdam is a quietly sophisticated hotel offering understated elegance and unparalleled service. This luxury Amsterdam hotel, spread over several historical buildings, boasts 189 guest rooms including stunning suites, 9 flexible contemporary spaces for meetings, events, private dining and receptions, the Living Room, Park 24H Workout and MOMO Restaurant, Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Park Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Resort Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing