We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for a business conference” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Alton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a business conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago for a business conference with some 300 colleagues. Many hotels that offer conference facilities seem surprised by everyone arriving for coffee or lunch at the same time, but not the Okura! They coped amazingly well, and the staff managed busy periods with a friendly but efficient manner.

The food was amazing at every meal - not an easy feat for that kind of buffet. Loads of choice, all very fresh and high quality, and decent wines with dinner too. Occasionally the wait staff were a little too efficient - whisking away plates when I still had the last mouthful poised on my fork, but other than that, a great experience. My only suggestion would be larger coffee cups and hotter water for tea! Mid morning cakes were great too! The only letdown was the Waygu beef burgers one evening - completely raw for my taste which was a shame.

The rooms are good too. Big enough with a great bathroom (glassed walled into the bedroom but with a blind). I loved the fact that with a speaker in the bathroom you could lie in the bath watching TV!

The conference facilities were OK too, if fairly standard. I just wish the temperature could have been keep consistent at the right level - it was either too hot or too cold and adjusted to extremes too frequently.

Finally, the hotel is in a good location. Shops and bars / restaurants in easy walking distance. Within the hotel, the 2 bars are good (especially the 23rd floor) if expensive. I didn't try the gym or pool as at 15 E per visit I thought it too expensive for the quick visit I could have fitted in - fine if I had had a half day! For conference guests who will only be taking a quick dip, perhaps this could be included for free (or a reduced rate?).

All in all, would definitely recommend this hotel, and will be back if Amsterdam calls again!

Room Tip: Canal / city view rooms are good - and the higher the better (although lift waiting times can be int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmelldee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,521
    544
    140
    54
    29
See reviews for
298
889
104
622
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had a train that was just out front of the hotel. The rooms are pretty big and full of high tech gadgetry. We had electric curtains that would close and open at a touch of a button on our night stand. The bathroom was pretty amazing just don't forget to close the window or you'll be using the facilities with all of Amsterdam. We had access to the executive lounge and we were able to have snacks, adult beverages and access to a coffee machine. Super convenient was the complementary nespresso machine in our room. The bed was comfy and the room always cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haycoconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Although on the outskirts of the "city centre" don't let this put you off. Easy to get to from Amstelstation (no. 12 Tram) and Station Rai (Busses and No. 4 Tram) as well as a number of busses.

The Hotel itself speaks for itself. Beautiful and well looked after, the facilities are great - restaurants and health centre. Although not too sure having to pay for the gym facilities.

Upon arriving and checking in we were offered a room on a lower floor (this was 3 hours before our designated check-in time). I declined and went off to explore the city. Returned at about 4 to have a nap and were given a room on the 14th floor. Unfortunately this room was a double, and despite being with my best friend, we both wanted our own sleeping space. I phoned reception and explained I had asked for 2 singles. Within 5 minutes we were reassigned a room. This was great service, super quick.

All staff were so friendly and chatty, from the chambermaids to the reception guests. Highly recommend spending extra for this hotel to be given great service and comfy accommodation.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms show great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

The Okura is a modern property located slightly outside the heart of Amsterdam. You can take the metro line to get here, and the closest line is about a 10 minute walk. I enjoyed my daily walk because the neighborhood was a beautiful residential location. The concierge, Lex, is extremely helpful with great recommendations for coffee and delicious Indonesian restaurants. When I told him that I was headed to Haarlem next, he offered literature for attractions in that town too. The staff here at the Okura is great and will help make for an unforgettable stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Look no further - if you want to stay in Amsterdam's finest hotel book into the Okura. We stayed last weekend and were treated like royalty. Room, hospitality and facilities are all top class. If you like your food you are in the right place. We ate in the teppan restaurant on the first night and their Michelin starred Japanese restaurant on the second night. Both were very unique dining experiences. Food and service were faultless. They also have a two Michelin starred restaurant on the top of the hotel called Ciel Bleu - we will be trying that the next time as they were booked out on this visit. We did however manage to fit in a couple of cocktails in Twenty Third Bar which is on the 23rd floor next to Ciel Bleu and has amazing views over the city. Try and get one of the window seats where you actually sit right on the window.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macstuiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed first two nights with my wife and then three nights with our company. This is a true five star hotel ( not those wannabe ones). Service, food, rooms etc. Fantastic and will come here again! There are alson nice breakfast places near if you prefere to have smaller and less expensive breakfast compared to the hotel's.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We are grateful that we had the chance to stay at Okura Hotel Amsterdam.
Most impactful was the true personal approach and service of all employees. We felt known, seen and well taken care of.
Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable; facilities are luxurious and restaurants and bars a treat to enjoy.
Bicycle rental enabled us to explore Amsterdam, whereupon we had the best Gin and Tonic ever, refreshing Mojitos and a taste of Japanese Whiskey.
Don’t leave before breakfast! And consider having the great Japanese noodle soup…

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Prestigia, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing