We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very high class hotel with a beautiful view from the rooms. Expensive restaurants and very expensive breakfast. Service was excellent. A little bit far away from the downtown and we had to take two trams to get there, but it was actually very easy

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    485
    123
    51
    23
See reviews for
256
771
97
560
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last August after sampling many hotels in Amsterdam this is by far the best ! The staff were helpful and friendly in every way . The rooms were immaculate and so was the whole hotel . My favourite part was the breakfast which was outstanding . We loved it so much we are returning for a 3 day break this August

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhelenWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival at hotel okura i was pleasantly suprised with the cleanliness of the hotel, its amazing ! I went to the desk to check in and everything seemed fine until i was asked for a credit card... Being 19 i dont have a credit card only a debit card. I was asked to give a ?600 deposit which i also didnt have. I booked this through expedia, on my booking confirmation it says that all fees and taxes are included. But the staff member at the desk was insistant that it wasnt, so i got the booking confirmation out and he accepted he was wrong but his"supervisor" insisted that we pay. I could only give ?50 of my tight budget. And i was made to feel like a poor foreigner during my stay.

Helpful?
9 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, this enables us to improve our product and service even further. It's great to read that you liked the facilities and were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the hotel. We regret that you did not experience a proper explanation on our deposit policy. We will look at ways to communicate this more clearly to our guests prior to arrival in order to ensure a convenient check-in procedure.

We do hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. In case we can be of any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us via feedback@okura.nl.

Kind regards,
Management Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

before starting my opinion I doubted in putting normal or very good...to tell the true is a good hotel more than normal but definetely is not a very good one. The staff is very polite and correct in every detail but lack of emotions...is like they go by the rules but will never do the extra mile than as I client I want to see...or expect. The concierge staff did help and gave good recomendations. Do not think will stay there again but if you are looking for correct hotel this one is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 507arielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Okura recently and as always am impressed with the unobtrusive service from all of the staff. To my delight the outside terrace was open and I enjoyed an afternoon enjoying the sun as I watched the many boats traverse the canal opposite the hotel. Very quickly it became time for dinner and the fixed course menu I enjoyed of a caesar salad with prawns and a main of duck breast served three different ways along with sommelier selected wines just topped the afternoon off. A truly memorable experience!! The service culture extended into every facet of my stay, from the doormen upon arrival to the guest room attendants. Exceptional!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

this hotel is just located right besides the canal with sidewalk and you may easily board a canal cruise from the hotel jetty and cruise along the canal. this hotel is located approximately 15 minutes away from the airport, perhaps it's a Saturday and there's no traffic jam.

upon arrival at the hotel, we received a warm welcome by the front desk staffs and when we finally gets to our rooms (3 altogether), we are absolutely stunned by it's tasteful furnishing in the room. mine especially is a corner room, #1124, besides having more space (quite a large room by the normal European standard) it has 2 wide window panels which make the room look bright and of course it comes with stunning view of the city. bathroom is has nice detailing of amenities and also best is the Nespresso coffee machine in room, which is a big plus to their hospitality, as I love good coffee. I have never seen a mini bar so stuffed with varieties of drinks, but some of the food in the mini bar are expired though. room is squeaky clean and bed is so comfortable. I have 2 single beds joined and make the bed extremely large for me living alone, my friends likes to hangout in my room coz of the large space and big bed where they could just sit on and watch the football final on Sunday night.

they also have an extensive room service menu, which is quite surprising, as most of the city hotels I have been in Europe have very limited choices. however, with all the good things that happened, we have one big disappointment, which is the Michelin star Japanese restaurant is closed for the summer and will only resume on 19th July 2014. we booked our stay in this hotel entirely because of this Michelin star Japanese restaurant, which it the talk of town, even taxi driver know about it when we told him to send us to Okura Hotel. this is such a great shame. anyway, we managed to land a dinner at the other Japanese restaurant which specialized in teppanyaki, is superb. we are served by a skilful Japanese chef who has so much respect for his customers (we are sharing table with other in-house guests coz we are only 3 persons). the food taste at their best quality and freshness. I had the best lamb in Zurich, but the best beef in this teppanyaki restaurant in Amsterdam, but the beef is not wagyu.

I am so impressed with the housekeeping, when they get the chance to clean my room, they will know where to arrange stuffs that I leave lying on the bed. I wish I have a maid like this.

tram stop just few walks away from the hotel, right on the main road. surrounding the hotels are good cafés for food and pastries. GPS works really well here if you need to get to a destination by foot and they are actually not that far away if you have the stamina to walk, enjoy Amsterdam by foot or if it's too difficult for you, rent a bike.

if you are coming to Amsterdam, you gotta stay in this hotel for sure, if not, at least come to eat at their Michelin star Japanese restaurant, the only Michelin star Japanese restaurant in Europe.

Room Tip: chose a corner room on a high floor and it has much better view of the city and much larger window p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almostnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A really nice hotel, conveniently located a short walking distance from the Cornelis Troostplein tram stop (which is only a 7 minute trip direct from Museumplein!) Hotel was very clean and staff very professional and friendly. The Albert Cuyptmarkt is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The air conditioning in the room works very well, which is good to know for the few days in summer when it is hot. The value you get for this hotel is very good. The only knock on this hotel is the expensive breakfast buffet, but, hey, it is a high-grade hotel. Consider walking a few minutes down the street to several local cafes for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, as you will get a bigger window, with a bigger view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., HotelsClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing