We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely a Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #22 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Absolutely a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

this hotel is just located right besides the canal with sidewalk and you may easily board a canal cruise from the hotel jetty and cruise along the canal. this hotel is located approximately 15 minutes away from the airport, perhaps it's a Saturday and there's no traffic jam.

upon arrival at the hotel, we received a warm welcome by the front desk staffs and when we finally gets to our rooms (3 altogether), we are absolutely stunned by it's tasteful furnishing in the room. mine especially is a corner room, #1124, besides having more space (quite a large room by the normal European standard) it has 2 wide window panels which make the room look bright and of course it comes with stunning view of the city. bathroom is has nice detailing of amenities and also best is the Nespresso coffee machine in room, which is a big plus to their hospitality, as I love good coffee. I have never seen a mini bar so stuffed with varieties of drinks, but some of the food in the mini bar are expired though. room is squeaky clean and bed is so comfortable. I have 2 single beds joined and make the bed extremely large for me living alone, my friends likes to hangout in my room coz of the large space and big bed where they could just sit on and watch the football final on Sunday night.

they also have an extensive room service menu, which is quite surprising, as most of the city hotels I have been in Europe have very limited choices. however, with all the good things that happened, we have one big disappointment, which is the Michelin star Japanese restaurant is closed for the summer and will only resume on 19th July 2014. we booked our stay in this hotel entirely because of this Michelin star Japanese restaurant, which it the talk of town, even taxi driver know about it when we told him to send us to Okura Hotel. this is such a great shame. anyway, we managed to land a dinner at the other Japanese restaurant which specialized in teppanyaki, is superb. we are served by a skilful Japanese chef who has so much respect for his customers (we are sharing table with other in-house guests coz we are only 3 persons). the food taste at their best quality and freshness. I had the best lamb in Zurich, but the best beef in this teppanyaki restaurant in Amsterdam, but the beef is not wagyu.

I am so impressed with the housekeeping, when they get the chance to clean my room, they will know where to arrange stuffs that I leave lying on the bed. I wish I have a maid like this.

tram stop just few walks away from the hotel, right on the main road. surrounding the hotels are good cafés for food and pastries. GPS works really well here if you need to get to a destination by foot and they are actually not that far away if you have the stamina to walk, enjoy Amsterdam by foot or if it's too difficult for you, rent a bike.

if you are coming to Amsterdam, you gotta stay in this hotel for sure, if not, at least come to eat at their Michelin star Japanese restaurant, the only Michelin star Japanese restaurant in Europe.

Room Tip: chose a corner room on a high floor and it has much better view of the city and much larger window p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almostnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    504
    127
    51
    24
See reviews for
273
801
98
568
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A really nice hotel, conveniently located a short walking distance from the Cornelis Troostplein tram stop (which is only a 7 minute trip direct from Museumplein!) Hotel was very clean and staff very professional and friendly. The Albert Cuyptmarkt is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The air conditioning in the room works very well, which is good to know for the few days in summer when it is hot. The value you get for this hotel is very good. The only knock on this hotel is the expensive breakfast buffet, but, hey, it is a high-grade hotel. Consider walking a few minutes down the street to several local cafes for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, as you will get a bigger window, with a bigger view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is definitely top class, it's a little bit outside the city centre but you can jump on a tram or take a 15 min taxi ride. The staff were polite happy to help with anything and very friendly. The rooms were bright and spacious and immaculate and we also had a lovely view over the city from our room on the 20th floor. You have a choice of restaurants including french cuisine which we decided to eat in, the restaurant staff were knowledgeable about all their dishes and wine, the food was presented lovely and all 4 courses we had were fabulous. We also had drinks in the bar on the 23rd floor, and the skyline view was amazing in the evening and the bar man was just lovely. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for pure luxury and will definitely return on my next visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: Definitely rooms on the top floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved the hotel. It's a classical luxury hotel with great service. But the location isn't ideal as the closest tram to down town is about 15 minutes walk. The food is fantastic though and the view from the bedroom is incredible!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amool3ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Staff were attentive and extremely helpful. The hotel is about 15 mins from the centre (Dam Square) but easily accessible as there are always taxi's on standby. Concierge were prompt and knowledgable about restaurants and places to go. Rooms were big, very well cleaned and comfortable. Complimentary coffee and wifi. 1 outdoor terrace area servings drinks and food which was brilliant, and the 23rd floor bar which offered stunning views of the city. We didn't eat in the hotel but the food sounded lovely (albeit pricey due to their Michelin star profile). I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone. Just a shame we didn't find out that bikes could be rented from them on day 1. More business / couples suited than families. Top hotel. Good restaurants locally on Albert Cuypmarket.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank csy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had the pleasure of attending a conference at the Okaru in Amsterdam. Brought my family along and extended the stay for some vacation time. The staff was more than helpful in giving tips about fun things to do and see. The room for 3 was very comfortable and plenty roomy for all of us for the week. Love the side patio along the canal. Great for drinks and snacks. Easy access to the train into the heart of town. Also an easy walk.

I would definitely recommend the Okura.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mddem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I rarely give a hotel five stars but the Okura impressed from arrival right through to check out and was a brilliant base for a weekend visit to Amsterdam.

The location of the hotel is on the south side of the city in De Pijp neighbourhood. It’s convenient for the Rai centre at around a ten minute walk, but to get to the more touristy centre of Amsterdam is around a twenty to thirty minute walk. It is an easy and pleasant walk with plenty of restaurants, cafes, canals and sightseeing, but if you like being right in the centre of all the action you might wish to look elsewhere. Getting to the Okura from the airport by train was a breeze - two stops from the airport is the Rai station. The journey took around ten minutes, was easy to understand and cost around €4. Its then a simple fifteen minute walk past the exhibition centre and street side cafes to the hotel.

The revolving entrance can be reached up a few steps from the Amstelkanaal. Friendly door staff welcomed us as we entered the large lobby, fantastically decorated with a stylish contemporary feel. The lady who checked us in was very helpful and perfectly fluent in English. An upgrade to a deluxe junior suite put a smile on our faces as we made our way to the lifts for our room on the fifth floor (you do need to use your key card to access the bedroom floors).

The suite gave an instant ‘wow’ factor upon entry - place the keycard in the slot by the door for the lights to automatically raise in brightness and the curtains to slowly draw open. The lights, curtains, air-conditioning, ‘do not disturb’ light and night lights can all be controlled from a unit each side of the bed. This is a brilliant and useful touch which made the room stand out. The room was very spacious with a large desk and two chairs, two armchairs with table, television unit and built in wardrobe. There was plenty of storage even for a long stay and the Nespresso machine continued the high end feel. The bathroom was complete with his and her sinks, a bath, separate toilet cubicle, separate shower cubicle with brilliant rainforest head and of course all the toiletries you could wish for. There was also a small TV above the bath which was a great touch! We eventually found the bathrobes and slippers hidden away in the wardrobe rather than hanging in the bathroom but there were plenty of towels. It was a pleasure to see no signs of ageing or mould between tiles or along the edge of the bath, nor was there any limescale on the shower etc. Along with the rest of the room the hotel was spotlessly clean!

Both TVs had decent reception and there was access to BBC channels as well as Sky News. Wifi throughout the hotel worked well, although you do have to log in every 12 hours. As an alternative there is great 4G coverage throughout the hotel. It was great to find both Euro and UK plug sockets in the room, preventing the need to share adaptors between devices - a nice touch I’ve not recently seen elsewhere.

If I was to have a complaint about the room it would be for the timing and reliability of the house keeping. Despite having the ‘do not disturb’ light on we were woken at 8am on the Saturday for house keeping. Instead we requested it later in the day via phone which took place fine, but were then offered turndown at 6pm. Asking for it to take place an hour later when we had finished changing and gone out for the evening it was disappointing to return that night to find it hadn’t happened. As a result the tea and coffee, toiletries etc hadn’t been replenished for the morning. Not enough to ruin a stay, but even with the large number of rooms it would have been nice to have this timed better and personal requests remembered.

There are two bars in the hotel, one on the ground floor lobby and another on the top 23rd floor. The latter is obviously sold on the views over Amsterdam and the hotel itself being one of the tallest buildings in the city. The bar itself though is surprisingly small with only four windows, each one with a narrow sofa style seat. The rest of the seating is around the small bar and even with a comprehensive drinks menu it did feel a little crowded late in an evening. On the evening I visited it would be fair to say that experiencing the ‘view’ was struggle. The bar staff however were very friendly and great with their English.

It was much easier to relax in the Lobby Bar on the ground floor; armchairs and sofas provided a greater level of comfort with the same, if not better, drinks menu compared to the 23rd floor. As on the upper bar complimentary nuts are provided with the drinks and the staff fantastic.

For me, there was a clear Japanese influence to the hotel and this helped with the surprise element and it standing out positively from the expectations I had. Adding the friendly staff, cleanliness and feature-full room I was totally satisfied. The location might not be ideal for everyone but despite this I would certainly return on any future visit to Amsterdam; the walk to key tourist locations wouldn’t put me off again. Following my stay I have found myself highly recommending the hotel to others in passing conversation and for these reasons I can’t justify anything less than five stars!

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite at least, the extra room and features are worthwhile. Clearly the higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevebintley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing