We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel in the world !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the world !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Staying in this hotel will make you feel like royalty.
With 30 years of hotel experience in 5-star hotels all over the world (for business as well as for leisure), we can highly recommend the Okura hotel in Amsterdam.
The outstanding hospitality from the entire Okura staff, the spotless clean rooms, the comfortable beds, the excellent food in all the restaurants of the Okura hotel : with no doubt we know that this hotel is the best hotel in the world. Everything here is just perfect !
We await our next return with happy anticipation !

Room Tip: every room is just made to perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abrugge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    524
    135
    51
    27
See reviews for
283
832
100
598
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel lobby is pleasant, the check-in process quite efficient and fast.
The hotel is very very calm and quiet
The rooms are design in a modern style. They are confortable. They provide tea/coffee set for free.
The breakfast buffet offers a wide range of good products. The eggs station is manned by a cook who can prepare eggs exactly the way you like them.
They bring tea, coffee to your table (it is not a self service for the hot beverages), it might be quite long to get your tea.
But 31 euros for a breakfast is a little bit excessive.

If you are here for business and if your business is in south of Amsterdam, then the location is fine. If you are here for any other reason, the location is really not suitable.


Internet is not working well and, when it does, it is painstakingly slow.
They propose a high speed connection for 12 euros/day. But since the free internet was not working, I did not dare subscribing for the high speed one.

The shower was not working properly, probably too much scaling.

You have to pay for the gym which is not really something I would recommend.

Erick

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinha_et_Erick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed there for 4 days as it was a member of leading hotels of the world. We were extremely comfortable. Rooms were well maintained. Good courteous staff. Very helpful concierge. Try and book the TASTE of OKURA cooking class. It was very well conducted. Comes with a meal and loads of wine. Cycles were available for hire. Very well maintained ones to that. Good hearty breakfast. THeir bar was very buzzing and happening. Good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aparnasomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed in the Hotel Okura in the middle of May for a 4 day trip to Amsterdam with my boyfriend.

The free wifi was much enjoyed and everything was great in the room, we had everything we needed.

I was disappointed that we had to pay to use the gym facility, this should be included with the stay.

We rented bikes from the hotel which were great! Really safe and at a great price, I'd really recommend doing it!

The hotel is in a good location, we thought we'd have to get the tram loads but we ended up walking to the centre most days! (Takes about 20-30 minutes depending on where your going just watch out for the bikes!)

There's loads of great restaurants and cafés nearby the hotel, I recommend Omeleg highly! Amazing food and service. There's also a fantastic market nearby.

We had a great stay but I think we'll try a visit a tad more close to the centre next time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiMosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We arrived at this hotel late friday evening. We were greeted by a lovely man who provided lots of information on how to enjoy our trip to Amsterdam as well as a map for us to look over. On getting in the lifts we were blown away. The style of the hotel is incredibly high class. Our room was amazing. The bathroom the best ive seen in a hotel ever. We were worried about the "Glass" issue but were pleasantly surprised when we pushed a button and a blind came down covering the glass area so you could have some privacy while you were bathing if you wanted. The room service was quick and incredibly tasty except for the bread rolls which we had to leave as they were hard like bricks. Apart from that we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharChar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

From the first moment you arrive till the moment you leave you know that you are in a first class hotel.
The reception gives you a very relax feeling, the staff working in this hotel are really good trained.
The room we stay in was excellent.
The bar on the top is very good with a great view over Amsterdam.
For our next stay we will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmanuelMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Great stay, enjoy every minute of it, specious rooms, view of the city is amazing from the high floors, facilities are great, room is clean and comfortable, would be happy to come again, highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank choopi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing