We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The location can be a disadvantage.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #22 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The location can be a disadvantage.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel lobby is pleasant, the check-in process quite efficient and fast.
The hotel is very very calm and quiet
The rooms are design in a modern style. They are confortable. They provide tea/coffee set for free.
The breakfast buffet offers a wide range of good products. The eggs station is manned by a cook who can prepare eggs exactly the way you like them.
They bring tea, coffee to your table (it is not a self service for the hot beverages), it might be quite long to get your tea.
But 31 euros for a breakfast is a little bit excessive.

If you are here for business and if your business is in south of Amsterdam, then the location is fine. If you are here for any other reason, the location is really not suitable.


Internet is not working well and, when it does, it is painstakingly slow.
They propose a high speed connection for 12 euros/day. But since the free internet was not working, I did not dare subscribing for the high speed one.

The shower was not working properly, probably too much scaling.

You have to pay for the gym which is not really something I would recommend.

Erick

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinha_et_Erick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    495
    123
    51
    24
See reviews for
265
785
97
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed there for 4 days as it was a member of leading hotels of the world. We were extremely comfortable. Rooms were well maintained. Good courteous staff. Very helpful concierge. Try and book the TASTE of OKURA cooking class. It was very well conducted. Comes with a meal and loads of wine. Cycles were available for hire. Very well maintained ones to that. Good hearty breakfast. THeir bar was very buzzing and happening. Good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aparnasomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed in the Hotel Okura in the middle of May for a 4 day trip to Amsterdam with my boyfriend.

The free wifi was much enjoyed and everything was great in the room, we had everything we needed.

I was disappointed that we had to pay to use the gym facility, this should be included with the stay.

We rented bikes from the hotel which were great! Really safe and at a great price, I'd really recommend doing it!

The hotel is in a good location, we thought we'd have to get the tram loads but we ended up walking to the centre most days! (Takes about 20-30 minutes depending on where your going just watch out for the bikes!)

There's loads of great restaurants and cafés nearby the hotel, I recommend Omeleg highly! Amazing food and service. There's also a fantastic market nearby.

We had a great stay but I think we'll try a visit a tad more close to the centre next time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiMosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We arrived at this hotel late friday evening. We were greeted by a lovely man who provided lots of information on how to enjoy our trip to Amsterdam as well as a map for us to look over. On getting in the lifts we were blown away. The style of the hotel is incredibly high class. Our room was amazing. The bathroom the best ive seen in a hotel ever. We were worried about the "Glass" issue but were pleasantly surprised when we pushed a button and a blind came down covering the glass area so you could have some privacy while you were bathing if you wanted. The room service was quick and incredibly tasty except for the bread rolls which we had to leave as they were hard like bricks. Apart from that we had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharChar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

From the first moment you arrive till the moment you leave you know that you are in a first class hotel.
The reception gives you a very relax feeling, the staff working in this hotel are really good trained.
The room we stay in was excellent.
The bar on the top is very good with a great view over Amsterdam.
For our next stay we will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmanuelMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Great stay, enjoy every minute of it, specious rooms, view of the city is amazing from the high floors, facilities are great, room is clean and comfortable, would be happy to come again, highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank choopi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I had a delightful stay at Okura. Naively, I was unaware the it was a Japanese hotel, not that it mattered at all (except that there was a very good Japanese restaurant on property!). The service as top notch and I'm surprised to read some of the reviews stating that it was not a property that catered to business people. I did not find that to be the case at. I used the Executive Lounge and the staff was most helpful, as was the concierge in arranging transportation, reservations and other needs. Nonetheless, I think the Okura also would be a wonderful place to stay with family. One note though: while close to RAI and the airport (without hearing planes overhead), it was not a quick walk to the city center. However, it was just a 10 minute cab ride to the center, so certainly not a real drawback. Finally, more about the restaurants; in addition to the Japanese one noted above I had a fantastic lunch at Serre (see separate review)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing