We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“"Best 5 Star Hotel in Amsterdam"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Best 5 Star Hotel in Amsterdam"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The room was decorated beautifully and was cleaned twice a day. The ability to open/close the curtains, lights with the ease of a button was indeed helpful. The bathroom was "SPA" like with all the amenities and towels. The staff exhibited the ultimate professionalism at all times. The staff took the time, patience, and helpfulness in making my stay at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam a wonderful experience. I can't wait to return to Amsterdam and stay at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms are decorated beautifully, with the ultimate cleanliness and with access to WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    483
    122
    51
    23
See reviews for
254
769
97
558
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, somewhere between a high-end business hotel and a luxury resort. With it's Japanese and Dutch influences, it's more practical than luxury hotels in Paris or London, but it's also more practically priced. I thought my room and hotel experience here represented excellent value and should have cost twice what it did. Free internet, water at turn down, and a really well equipped and well staffed gym.

The amazing aspect of this hotel is it's restaurants, the 2 star french restaurant in particular. It's amazing and is reason enough to stay here. Everything about my meal was exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed the hotel very much. They have the largest hotel pool in Amsterdam. Join the Leading Hotels of the World to get a free breakfast. Have a problem, ask for Marlet. Michelin 2 star French restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivianH319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here as part of a group, with a conference at the RAI, which takes about 10-15 minutes on foot. There isn’t an easy way to get there by public transport, by the time you’ve walked to the Number 4 tram, you’d be just about there anyway. The Number 4, however, is very useful for getting into town.

For a five star hotel, I was completely amazed at how shambolic the breakfast was on our first morning – one of our group ordered tea which didn’t arrive for over 20 minutes, after many nudges to the waiting staff. My coffee was also forgotten on the last day, until I reminded them. Having said that, the range and quality of food was what you would expect from this class of hotel, and the miso soup is certainly not to be missed, nor are the little pots of fruit salad. I didn’t have too much of the hot food as it wasn’t always particularly hot, especially the potatoes.
One morning, the main restaurant was too busy, so they opened the restaurant overlooking the canal, which was far nicer and the service exceptional. Coffee/tea came very quickly, as did any special requests from the main restaurant. I ordered pancakes with bacon, but was rather disappointed to get French style crèpes, rather than Dutch style pancakes.

We weren’t given an option to upgrade, so our room (803) was fairly standard, yet hardly basic – however, the rain shower was particularly nice and the bed very comfortable indeed. Unfortunately, time didn’t allow us to go to the 23rd floor for a drink or a meal. It was nice having a Nespresso machine (a kettle would have done the trick also!) Our coffee pods weren’t replenished one day, and only reappeared in the evening, despite ringing for them and being told they would be there immediately. 30 minutes later, I made a cup of tea instead – luckily I don’t take milk in my tea (or coffee), so didn’t mind this not being provided. Wifi was good (and free, as long as you didn’t want to download too much), but the television didn’t have an alarm or snooze function which was a little bit of a nuisance. Obviously you can ask for a wake up call from reception, and I suppose there’s a way of doing it on the phone, but didn’t check that out as we used our mobile phone.

The room is on a corner, giving two nice big windows, one side gave a partial view of Museumplein in the distance, the other was to the south, so you could see the RAI in the distance. Space is at a premium in Amsterdam, so, although not large by American standards, you can find much smaller rooms around the city! I slept on the side towards the door, so could occasionally hear the lift dinging, which was a huge surprise in a five star hotel – apart from that, the room was very quiet. The hotel is set away from the road, so there is certainly no traffic noise, unlike hotels nearer the centre!

In the evening, there is a turndown service, always a bit of a pointless exercise in my opinion, especially as there wasn’t a biscuit/chocolate on the pillow!

I also made use of the spa, but was surprised to be charged €15, especially as there was only a swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna area. With the hotel having a Japanese style, I was surprised that there wasn’t a Japanese style bath, rather than a European one.

Would I stay here again? Well, as much as it was fine and its location was certainly great for the RAI centre, if we were in Amsterdam for leisure, then there are better located hotels giving the same level of comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
268 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Very Asian flair but absolutely wonderful 5 * hotel! We were upgraded to jr suite with the LHW priority (paid annually) which was one of the top 10 rooms I have stayed in anywhere. Everything new and comfortable. Nespresso machine in room nice touch. Two free bottles of Evian - warning the bottle opener is tiny and sliced my finger when opening. I told front desk this needs to be corrected. Very pleasant staff.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wierden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We will never forget our very pleasant stay in Hotel Okura. Excellent room, charming service, delicious breakfast, elegant and artistic furnishings, impressive lounge with a nice symbolic decor, including sculptures of cranes and Ginkgo Biloba leaves, et cetera. In sum: real Japanese perfection! A traditionally Japanese dinner in the Yamazato restaurant made our happiness complete.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Level Contributor
139 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hotel Okura Amsterdam belongs to a chain of hotels that originated in Japan. There are Japanese-speaking staff here, there are Japanese guests staying, there is a Japan Travel Bureau (JTB) next door, there are plenty of Japanese restaurants nearby. In fact, you will be assured of good service, high standards, and excellent food. Breakfast is excellent, with some cooked dishes brought to your table, and with plenty of fruits, juices & even champagne. The rooms are not overly large, but of good size, with nice toiletries in tube bottles. And of course, all the staff are very pleasant (they should be if they know it is a Japanese brand that they have to maintain). The hotel is not near downtown Amsterdam (don't be misled by some booking sites that tell you it's central). If you walk to central Amsterdam, it will take about 35min, and part of the road is under construction during summertime. The hotel is close to RAI, the exhibition centre (that makes sense for Japanese on business to stay here), and about 15 minutes walk to the museum/fashion district of Amsterdam. There is a pool/gym but if you got a good rate for this hotel, you may have to pay extra 15 euros to use the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing