We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I like it, it worth what you pay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #21 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I like it, it worth what you pay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Despite of being away from the city center, I found this might be an advantage of being away from the crowded area
Truly, it has a beautiful entrance and lobby, fantastic rooms, will equipped and ver clean, staff are very welcoming and helpful, the concierge people are very knowledgable about the city an its attraction
Do not miss going to the top floor to see the all of Amsterdam an do not miss their Japanese restaurant

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SALEISSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    495
    123
    51
    24
See reviews for
265
785
97
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were staying at the Hotel Okura Amsterdam on May 3rd thru May 6th. We had a great stay and loved everything – great views a warm welcome and comfortable bed, who could ask for more.

We enjoyed very much our days in Amsterdam and hope to come back to the Okura hotel soon. You will be on our must stay again list!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Loved every minute of our stay.
Restaurant service was perfect, both the sommelier's were wonderful.
Food out of this world! Expensive (sort of), but well worth it. Definitely try another Okura hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xpeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here as wanted to stay in a different part of Amsterdam. To get there we got a metro from central station to Amstel station then a tram and the tram stop was close to the hotel. Situated in a quieter part of Amsterdam in the de pijp district some lovely little cafés and boutique shops in the surrounding streets as it the Albert Cupt market.
Our room was on the 15th floors with views over the city (could see the rijks museum in the distance) we had a superior double - quite small in size but large bathroom with glass wall so you could sit in the bath and look out into the room etc.
We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as was prices quite highly however we had drinks up on the 23rd floor and drinks in the lobby bar which were both enjoyable.
We also used the spa and had a massage on the last day which was lovely. The only thing to mention is the spa isn't on the same floor as the tea room and treatment room. But a great perk was having a glass of prosecco and small chocolate cake after our treatment.
If your looking to stay in a modern clean hotel with excellent customer service and don't mind being a little further out from the centre. Stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kati_17uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A nice hotel and well presented in both public areas and rooms. Okura I understand is Japanese owned which probably explains why there are a couple of Japanese restaurants here and a solid number of asian guests wandering about the place! Hotel isn't super central but if you don't mind a walk, you can get to the centre (but would take 30-45mins at a leisurely pace). But its located in a 'nice' area of amsterdam and borders a canal. The rooms are modern and fresh, but if i had one criticism, its that I'm not sure i like the shampoo and bath soap dispensed from a bulk storage container in the shower. Sure it probably works out way more economical than the traditional small bottles etc, but it makes it feel a bit cheap. And i can imagine they are re-filled via a large jerry can type thing when empty. Hmm. Dined in the non-teppanyaki restaurant there ('the other japanese one'), and whilst the sushi etc was very very nice, it was not cheap. If hankering for a japanese meal there are other restaurants between the hotel and town centre, which from checking out the menu's enroute are far cheaper. Would recommend staying, but just be aware of the walk to town centre, if not keen on trying your hand at riding the trams and/or don't want to take a taxi anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xmyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear xmyass,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, your feedback is of great value to us. Nice to hear you liked your stay and your room and thank you so much for recommending us!
Please be informed that we offer the dispensers in the showers for environmental reasons; however a full set of bathroom amenities in small bottles is of course available in all guest rooms as well. This way, we leave the choice to the guests what they prefer to use. The dispensers are NOT refilled out of a jerry can, but it is done by placing a new, factory-filled, cartridge in the dispenser. I have shared your review internally and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsgaarde, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We started in the pianobar and ordered champagne. Right away they served us and kindly offered us one glas for free. A handsome young deavel helped us to find the restaurant. Although we had ordered A menu at the tepanyaki restaurant they upgraded us to an even better menu. It costed us an extra 20 euro but was wearth it. We Got very good counsel as to vine choice and all in all we were treated so well. Thank you for giving us such a wonderful evening
Anette, Jytte and Deolinda

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in May 2014. Got a great deal on lastminute.com as one of their secret hotels. Rooms were large and well equipped with Nespresso coffee machines and capsules FOC. Well stocked mini bar, too. Massive beds and a pillow menu from housekeeping. Turn down service each night was welcome. Shower has two heads and was amazing coupled with luxury toiletries also FOC. TV is a bit fiddly to operate and the AC takes a few guesses. Location is also a bit out of town and there is no direct tram route. Take the 4 from Central Station and a 10 minute walk along the canal will bring you to the hotel. Taxis are 10x the cost of the €2.80 tram. I'd recommend buying a travel card for the length of your stay; trams are the best way to get around and are easy to get the hang of. Didn't use the restaurants but the roof top bar on floor 23 was a nice experience in the early hours.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor have a great view of the city. Corner rooms have two windows overlooking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgolf05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing