We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #21 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Okura hotel from the 25/4 - 27/4. The service was excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and very polite. Our room was spacious, clean and the views of Amsterdam were incredible. As it was my partner's birthday during our stay, we arrived to a big birthday cake with a card, which was lovely.
The only downfall to our stay was a charge of over €40 for service charges and city tax which we assumed would be included. Also, the hotel is quite far from central Amsterdam so be prepared to have to pay tram, taxi or bus fairs as it is too far to walk.
Overall our stay was fantastic and we are even planning our next trip to Amsterdam for the summer!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    495
    123
    51
    24
See reviews for
264
785
97
565
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Amsterdam Hotel Okura is a truly superb hotel! This should not have been a surprise to me, since I have often enjoyed to extraordinary hospitality, comfort and service of its "mother hotel" -- the Hotel Okura in Tokyo. The Amsterdam Okura is every bit as good. A short distance from the busy center of the city, the hotel is located on a lovely, quiet canal -- but it is only a few minutes on the very pleasant tram to the Museumplein with its many fine museums and the magnificent Concertgebouw Hall. Our room on the 5th floor was extremely comfortable, with a luxurious bathroom and a great view. Dining in the hotel was also a great treat, with several superb restaurants (French, Japanese, Continental). But best of all was the hotel's staff! Everyone we encountered was friendly, cheerful, and wonderfully helpful. We eagerly look forward to our next visit to the Amsterdam Okura!
Peter & Susan G.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a night at Hotel Okura at the beginning of April. The hotel is located at some distance from the historical city centre in a relatively quieter area. We took the tram to get to the touristic and shopping districts. The service at the hotel was great - professional but friendly, and the room was very comfortable and bright. It had many modern touches, we espcially enjoyed having a Nespresso machine in our room. We had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and were impressed by the quality of the food overall. We had been told by our Dutch friends that the Japanese restuarant at the Okura is probably the best in Amsterdam. However, we chose to try out the Serre Restaurant instead and were impressed by the creative fusion cuisine. We had room service for breakfast the next morning and loved the Belgian waffles we ordered. All in all, we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over the April Bank holiday weekend.
From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't be more helpful, check in was quick and easy and the receptionist gave us a map and highlighted the key tourist areas of the city and recommended a few quieter places which proved really useful whilst out and about. We had a lovely corner room on the 16th floor with amazing views of Amsterdam. The bar on the 23rd floor really is a must... although not cheap the view and lovely staff really make it worth the money! Cant recommend Hotel Okura enough. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 04WeddV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is an impressive and beautiful hotel that is never less than utterly exquisite from the moment you hit the spacious lobby through to the modern and well equipped room. The Health Club was delightful as was the lobby bar and its ever so helpful and friendly staff. I was made to feel very much at ease very quickly.

A couple of minor disappointments:
1) Breakfast was good....but at over £30 per head should have been excellent.
2) I got close to having an argument with a receptionist over a video rental charge which was unnecessary.

Overall, this is a very decent hotel with much to recommend it and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonydekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a Hotel I always come back to.Besides hosting in its premises two Michelin starred restaurants( Yamazato,Ciel Bleu),the overall experience is excellent as the rooms are beautiful,the service amazing and seen in the light of accommodation cost,great value for money.
Great breakfast and the most tasty egg whites omelette I had in years .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the canal on the side the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christospap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

With all the new trendy hotels opening these days that try to tap into the new, boutique, hip Millenial set, it's nice to find a hotel that caters to those who prefer a timelessness to the hotel's interior appointments. You won't find color changing lights, the soundtrack to Buddha Bar, Philippe Starck furnishings, or 3-D printed knick-knacks decorating the interior. There is a time and place for all these things, but this isn't it.

You will find a classically designed lobby with sheer drapery lining the walls, warm stone and wood finishes and elegant floor lamps with paper/hide shades and elegant, simple lines. Service is very warm, friendly and accommodating. It looks like the rooms have gone through a recent renovation and there are many little touches that are very thoughtful and charming. For example, there are little nightlights in the walls along the circulation paths to the bathroom. The only drawback is that the color quality of these night lights is much more blue than I would like, but I recognize that this is a personal preference. The millwork of the desks and the beds are very simple, but with a beautiful worn finish on them that will not fall out of fashion. There are two lovely little sculptural elements on the headboard that give a quirkly, yet artistic flair to the simplicity of the room. The room lighting controls are conveniently located by the bed and clearly marked, which surprisingly, is not that common in many hotels. The night reading light is accessible and adjustable to the guest which is also much appreciated.

The view is nothing short of spectacular, with close proximity to the canal and parks. It is also a very pleasant walk to the Albert Cuypmarkt where we enjoyed freshly made stroopwafelen and the sight of beautifully smoked fish lining the street and many fun arts and crafts to take in and browse through.

I took advantage of the spa services and the sauna. Both were amazing and well appointed. The Hanakasumi service was just what I needed for some pampering after a long week. I had caught a little cold just before I arrived in Amsterdam, and I informed the practitioner of this, and she added a little scented oil with mint and rosemary on a towel and laid it on my chest while she finished the Hanakasumi and it was perfect to calm my cough and to more fully relax to enjoy the massage.

I will definitely want to return in full health to more fully explore the area. I loved the placement of the hotel, which is in the Pijp neighborhood and away from the tourist attractions so it's much quieter and locally oriented. If you want local experiences, this is a fantastic location. We found a little restaurant with the unlikely name of "Dopey's Elixer" and it was just a fun, corner dive bar with very friendly staff and a nice selection of local brews. For first time visitors, take note to pay extra attention to the bike lanes and to look out for bicyclists the same way you would for cars. Living in NYC, this is something I have learned and it's somewhat second nature, but the degree to which bicyclists use the road in Amsterdam is admirable and much more organized than anything we have in the states, and you will not be looked too kindly upon if you inadvertently wander into the bike lane thinking it was part of the sidewalk. It is paved in mauve colored bricks, but it can be difficult to differentiate from the sidewalk in parts. Just remember to keep an eye out.

I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing