We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very comfortable!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

My family (wife and two young kids) and I stayed at the Okuraast weekend and encountered a fantastic stay. The rooms are very very spacious, and we opted for two connecting rooms. The linens are very soft and feel luxurious, the decor in the rooms is best described as with earth tones, a good mix between classic and modern. All Okura's restaurants are fantastic but we had a private dinner appointment with friends, so did not try ourselves.
The spa has fabulous Sothys products and treatments. The pool is large for a city hotel and the gym is extensive and complete.
The breakfast is a good choice instead of going into town. The products are freshly prepared at the buffet counter.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. All in all a great hotel!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,648
    589
    151
    56
    31
See reviews for
325
972
111
664
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I've stayed several times in the Okura Hotel during the last two years. I finally decided to write down a review, as the hotel Okura deserves one! In my opinion this is Amsterdam's finest hotel. The building is a true landmark itself, it can't be missed! Did you know that the color of the roof varies with the different weather?? The staff is friendly and efficient. They are there to help you make the best of your stay.
The rooms are great, especially when staying on a higher floor, great views over Amsterdam. One of the greatest things is being able to take a bath whilst enjoying the view over Amsterdam. The beds a great with very soft linens. The hotel houses several great restaurants, I really like the teppanyaki restaurant Sazanka, if you like beef you must try the Wagyu menu!!!! On the top floor bar 23 offers the best views of the city and great cocktails! My girlfriend makes fun of me because of the fact that I love a girly drink, the Flamingo, it's a non alcoholic drink with coconut, so good!! Don't come here if you are on a budget, as with everything in life, great cars, great hotels and great girls, they all cost money ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumeirah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. Lovely, appointed bathroom, excellent service, nice pool and fitness center. Room service food was very good. Great to arrive at 8:00 am and have my room ready. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gardenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bricklinng
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The staff of the Okura Hotel should take a bow for their considerate service. I arrived early AM after an overnight flight for a lunch meeting. They provided free use of health club including robe, towels, etc. to take a shower, after apologizing that no rooms were available. Health club and pool were excellent. Food in the Japanese Restaurant was also excellent. I asked to look at a room, which was well appointed, clean and with free internet. I would highly recommend this hotel, even though I did not actually remain overnight.

The only drawback is the location, which is not central. So for a tourist visit to Amsterdam, a more central location (think Grand Amrath Hotel) would be better. The Okura is a bit closer to Schipol airport than central Amsterdam, however, so a taxi to/from airport is both quicker and cheaper than if staying at the city center.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bricklinng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We loved the spaciousness, quietness and quality of the junior suite we booked for a one night flying visit to Amsterdam. Nice super-kingsized bed with a sofa, chair and coffee table at the far end and a very large work desk, with chairs either side, in between. The layout of the room works really well as the sleeping area is separated from the bathroom and small room lobby by a set of internal doors, meaning that we got no noise from the external corridor. Also no hint of any smokiness which is how a no-smoking room should be!

Tram line 12 runs in the street outside the hotel with the nearest stops being accessible on foot in less than 5 minutes. For music lovers, this whisks you to the door of the Concertgebouw in a few minutes. The Rijksmuseum is also easily accessible.

We had a panoramic view of the centre of Amsterdam from our 17th floor windows but I would be lying if I pretended it was one of the world's greatest cityscapes.

Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice. All the staff we had contact with were exceptionally efficient and friendly. This is one hotel where having a guided tour of your room pays dividends as I might have struggled to work the lights and close the curtains without an explanation of how the room technology worked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouzePointsGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Brilliant. Simply excellent in all areas, staff 1st class - attentive, friendly, helpful. Food excellent and well presented. Room was spacious, spotlessly clean and modern. Great bar on 23rd floor! Nicely location, have nothing but praise for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing canal or towards old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomtheCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was an awesome hotel with incredible customer service. The hotel itself is a lovely modern business hotel with the best bed and bath acoutrements--both state-of-the-art tub and shower and generously-sized rooms with a panoramic view of the city. Inobtrusive but obsessive service makes the difference, though.

I took and overnight flight that got in early but when I arrived at the hotel, my room was ready--a godsend for a rumpled red-eye passenger. Further, I'd missed a noticing a shallow tram curb on my way in and twisted my knee. Not only did I get first aid on my arrival but, throughout my visit, the hotel staff graciously provided ice packs each evening to my room get me through the pain and bruising of a wrenching fall.

In forty years of travel around the world, I've never experienced this level of attentiveness and good will. At the same time, the concierge located an early Christmas Eve service for me at a lovely church in old Amsterdam and responded to any and all needs. When I returned from my Christmas Day outing there was an incredibly indulgent chocolate pastry in my room!

It was a memorable stay in an outstanding hotel filled with holiday spirit and made a rainy stay in Amsterdam shine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCafficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,878 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing