We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Okura is AMAZING.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Okura is AMAZING.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our Stay at Okura was awesome. It's a beautiful place, clean,modern & classy. We didn't eat at either of the Michelin-starred restaurants, but we very much enjoyed the breakfast buffet in a sunny glassed-in restaurant space overlooking a small canal. We also really liked the most fun feature in our room: a glass wall separating the bedroom from the bathroom! (with an automatic screen that can be lowered, thankfully). The pillows were great, too, which is important to me (they provide a pillow menu). We parked our car under the hotel, where they have a clean & protected garage.

The Location is not at the very center of town, however the Amsterdam streetcars (trollies/trams) are very easy to use, and in fact we did walk all the way back to the hotel from the old town on our first night. The trip from the old town to the hotel by tram takes probably 15 or 20 minutes, while the hotel is very close to the museum quarter by tram. The Rijksmuseum was only about 10 minutes or less by tram from the hotel. On our last visit to Amsterdam we stayed in the middle of the Old Town, so this time we enjoyed seeing a new neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KydenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    525
    136
    51
    27
See reviews for
284
834
100
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Okura Hotel Amsterdam is a stunning hotel with first class facilities, backed by a team of staff who are warm, efficient and flexible. We felt fully supported by the extremely helpful staff throughout the conference and satellite events.
The food offered throughout the week was absolutely delicious, and the Sushi restaurants are beyond compare. The hotel is conveniently located, with a 5-10 minute taxi ride to the centre of Amsterdam - we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Okura Hotel for a business event or a more personal visit to Amsterdam.
Evolve Events, London

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvolveEvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Really loved this hotel, great location not far from all the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Good size rooms, well equipped gym and the pool area was lovely. We never ate in the hotel but we did ventured up to the bar on the 23th floor it has the best view especially on new years eve the fireworks looked amazing from here and the Cocktails were pretty fantastic aswell...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xo_Trisha_ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Overnight business trip staying at the Okura hotel was a real pleasure may not be the cheapest but the experience was well worth it
Large excellent room (1022) beautifully furnished spotlessly clean
From getting out of the taxi (around 45euro from airport) through checking was a seamless experience
To make the evening complete Sushi to the highest standard but you will need to pre book as it gets full
If your budget runs to this hotel it's well worth a visit but you must try the Sushi

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smax307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Loved this hotel. We stayed one night in an exec room on the 17th floor which was superb. Don't be put off by the location as it is easily accessible from Central Station by the 12 and 25 trams (get a 24 hour ticket for 7.50 euros). All the staff were really helpful and friendly, particularly the reception staff. The swimming pool and spa are brilliant.
The only criticism I have is the service in the exec lounge on the 22nd floor which was non-existent. Glasses and plates were left strewn on tables and the wine dispensers were not replenished. Another point, service at breakfast was a bit chaotic. I appreciate it was Saturday morning and most people seem to wait until the last hour of service but I am sure this is the case in most hotels and I think more staff were needed, especially another egg chef as the one was under quite a bit of pressure.
We got this hotel on a deal at a reduced rate so were happy with this but had we paid the full rate I would not have been.

Room Tip: Exec rooms on the 17th floor fabulous with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JW22613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

What an amazing location! Towering high above Amsterdam this bar offers what must be the best view in the city.

On the 23th floor (hence the name) of the Okura Hotel you'll find an absolutely fabulous bar.
The ambiance, the service, the drinks and the cocktails are simply perfect!
And then there's the view. The bar boasts an almost 180 degree view over Amsterdam, right from the 'Zuid-As' business district to the harbor north of the city.

Don't expect to find a cheap drink or bite at this venue, but then again; excellence comes at a price.

Shame no one offered to collect our coats.
And I think it's outrageous a hotel dares to charge €4,- an hour for parking when you spend well over €40,- on two glasses of champagne. That just doesn't show a sense of hospitality.

Besides that, the place is an absolute hotspot for a chic night-out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times, and whilst it's decentralised location isn't the best, it certainly ticks the boxes for service and facilities. The Okura tip-toes between luxury and business and tries to maintain attraction for both tourists and conference go-ers. And on the whole it succeeds. Call me a sucker but the heated toilet seats in the bathroom are fun, and if you use the executive floor - the lounge is great for scooby snacks and free booze! Breakfast is a pretty palatial affair but best consumed when you have a bed and breakfast deal - at 32 euros per head its one of the more expensive buffet breakfasts you can find!!

The tram stop is just round the corner and gets you into the main tourist drag in 10-15 mins. the airport is easily accessed from either Amsterdam central (followed by the number 25 tram) or walk round the corner to the Rai.

Overall...It's pricey but great. I've stayed in the Dam a few times and this is definitely the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd. so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing