We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice upmarket hotel in lovely Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Gyor, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice upmarket hotel in lovely Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have stayed here for 2 nights in September and I was quite happy with everything. the location is a bit out of the way, but in a lovely part of Amsterdam. You can get to the city center with a tram in 15 minutes. tickets are available in the hotel or at the tram.
my room was on the 15th floor and the view was great as there not too many high buildings around, room was big enough with lots of TV channels to pick from. Service was great and the room was very clean.
only downsize was the elavator which were simply too slow so sometimes you had to wait for 15 minutes to get up to your room, but this was not a major issue. would I stay here again? I certainly hope so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamaso123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,521
    544
    140
    54
    29
See reviews for
298
889
104
622
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and it was amazing. All restaurants are very good. The staff is the most helpful and nice I have seen in europe lately.
Depending on the place you are visiting, it's very hard to find helpful staff. Amsterdam in general is a very nice and relaxed place to visit.

The hotel made sure we felt comfortable, gave us an Executive room upgrade and solved all of my problems in a timely manner. I had documents to print, send via courier, dinners to schedule, laundry. Everything worked flawlessly.

Room Tip: All rooms above 10th floor have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands, uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have just returned from a three day trip to Amsterdam
and we stayed at the Hotel Okura
Our first impressions were lovely nice lobby, reception area light and spacious
The reception was a little busy as so had a wait of about 10 minutes
and then we went to our room 12 floor - very nicely furnished and nice fittings, the bathroom is lovely.
Our bags were brought up after about 10 minutes
Our first night we ate in the JapaneseTeppanyaki restaurant
very nice, the cooking was a little slow and fragmented, we had booked for 8.00 but arrived at 8.15 and we did'nt get anything until around 21.30, no chef infornt of us and so we tried to watch the chef on the other side of the table.
I would ask that they encourage the chefs to interact with the diners as this would improve the dining experience.
For Wine I ordered a 110 euro bottle of red wine and it was chilled - when i mentioned it to our waitress she said that it was normal as the heat from the Teppanyaki warms it up quite quickly ,
It didnt in our case and i felt that the wine was a waste of money.
I know this wine and have it at home and it really makes a difference to the taste.
The next bottle was a recommendation from the Wine waitress it was 90 euros and perfect and room temp.
when we left we wanted to go to the main lounge bar, but it had closed.
Apart from these issues - we really enjoyed our meal
There are a number of restaurants to pick from right upto 2 michelin stars
and Europes only michelined starred Japanese restaurant.
the second night we had drinks in the rooftop bar - very nice if a little pricey
2 x G & T's
a small beer and a small lemonade was 47 euros
we went out for dinner and came back at 12 again wanted to go to the lounge bar but it was closed.
The last night we again went out for dinner and came back at 22.58 and we went to the lounge bar but we were told that they were just closing and that we should go to the roof top bar.
we did'nt fancy going to this quite formal bar and so went to bed, not an ideal end but hay ho.
would have been nice to have been offered drinks in the lounge as we residents.

on the whole - I would stay here again as the location and rooms are lovely
Service is good but could be more attention to detail focused.
note the concierge were great and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rswalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Generally hotel was very nice and close to RAI. Especially room that I stayed (deluxe type) was perfect, very clean, tidy and well decorated. The only negative point for me is price. Think that you pay for breakfast €32,50 and you can only eat omelet, jams and some fruit. That was a little bit disappointment for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ismail t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked okura due to proximity to Rai congress center.reception staff was adequate. Rooms are renovated and very well appointed. Nespresso machine. Very clean and excellent turn down service.lots of nice details and atmosphere. Did not use restaurant or gym due to lack of time.irs pricey, but high quality hotel if you need to stay in this area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank panda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

A group of us were in Amsterdam for the weekend. The hotel was incredible and it made the trip. In particular, the concierge and doormen went the extra mile and provided excellent service. The rooms' view was spectular and rare in a city of mainly low-rises. The "pillow menu" was an added plus and something quite unique!

The only downsides were that the reception was a little slow on arrival and the gym and hotel spa should be free for guests (they charge a 15 Euro entry per day).

The hotel is well positioned but a little bit out of range from the city centre which is good if you want a break from the dodgy tourist areas of Amsterdam.

Overall, the hotel is great value for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHP_Zuidervliet
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We prebooked and paid this hotel for 2 nights 2 rooms in advance. Upon arrival the staff was mildy terrible so to say. We parked the car got our luggage up and upon check in we got greeted by a Dutch and Japanese (I assume with her name) which seemed to have rolled just out (if they were) from the hotel school. We preferred a cash deposit because our foreign cards they wanted to charge back resulting in a double transaction fee on our side. The cash deposit was 800 euro, which we didn't have us so we asked if we could use a debit card which didn't work. Union Pay used by more then 1 billion people how can you miss out on that. Eventually they accepted the 400 euro we had on us.

Going up the room itself is very nice, clean well maintained and well decorated. But then the next staff entertainment. We wanted a large ice bucket for a bottle of wine we had on us. But the servant showed up with a little bucket and literally said "I should explain myself better". Obviously his colleague didn't relay the message properly.

Morning breakfast again, we were asked to wait for a table but the vast majority was empty. After 2 minutes it was enough waiting and we walked in. Coffee took at least 10 minutes to get to the table. Also for a Japanese hotel I expected a bit more international food but it was all very Western except for a noodle soup.

That evening we asked for another ice bucket and some fruit, took 30+ minutes to show up by the very same charming guy from yesterday.

On the way out, the only staff that was consistently good were the door guys. Helpful with locations as well with the taxi's.

Now the kicker on checking out we were greeted by two chaotic girls who had a hard time getting our cash deposit back. On top of that after paying 1000 euro for 2x2 nights I still ended up paying 70 euro for my car I parked in the empty basement.

For a hotel with such name it's very disappointing and very different from what I'm used of their Shanghai branch which is compared this one very good.

As mentioned, the hardware, the building, the facilities all is very good, on the other hand the staff is terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHP_Zuidervliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear JHP_Zuidervliet,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you liked the room and found it nicely decorated. Thank you very much for the compliments in regards to the doormen. We regret that you did not experience the five star service we are known for and that you experienced difficulties with paying the deposit. Your feedback enables us to improve our service and product. We hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing