We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from town but great hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Away from town but great hotel for the money”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when the prices in the central district were very high. Hotel is located near RAI center. We were able to take tram 12 or 25 and get into the city center and to the museums without any problem. Berlin card is a must if you are visiting Berlin and using public transport.
Hotel rooms were great with electronics of all sorts. Service was excellent.
There is a pizza place and a market across the street where you can order food. Hotel restaurants are excellent but pricy as expected with great service.
If you walk out and walk towards RAI center, there are plenty pf good places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    565
    147
    56
    30
See reviews for
312
927
108
647
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I enjoyed a weekend stay at the Okura a short while ago. This hotel has excellent qualities in its F&B standards(!!), the quiet location, and, for business guests, the on-site as well as the nearby RAI conference facilties. Rooms are adequate for the hotel category and high-floor rooms come with a very nice view.

If one is here for leisure the Okura can be an excellent choice - it all depends on ones preferences. The hotel is outside the historical centre and doesn't have any period charm. If these aspects are important, choose elsewhere.

Room Tip: high-floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire. england
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked this as a secret hotel and was totally satisfied. This really is a 5*.

Having read previous reviews, I was prepared for the tram ride and short walk to the hotel. It is worth it.

The room was only on the 3rd floor so had restricted views but it was a corner room which was flooded with light and it was everything I could have asked for

The bathroom, with his n hers basins, was a decent size with a separate shower. The shower had great pressure and steady temperature. Plenty of lovely thick towels, a great make-up/shaving mirror and toiletries and a thick towelling robe and slippers.

The room itself was large, just the right temperature, with a large comfortable bed. I didn't hear any hotel or external noise at all.

Lovely in-room coffee. Plenty of other nice touches.

The concierges were helpful and knowledgeable.

I didn't use any of the hotels facilities such as bars, restaurants and spa, but they all looked fabulous. The hotel is ultra modern and there were no signs of wear and tear at all.

Only downside is I could only get the rate for one night so had to move hotels. I will try to stay here for the whole trip next time as it will be worth paying a bit more and being a tad further out.

Room Tip: The higher floor, the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine-public
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed a few times at a Junior Suite at Okura and always enjoyed a very good service. Very friendly staff and amazing in-house Restaurants. Also the twenty third bar is definately a recommendation. Junior Suites are very spacious, nice bathroom and a remote control for everything like curtains, light etc... Furniture and carpets should be renewed.

Room Tip: Book directly on the hotel website, good pre-pay rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Q-Traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The only bad point is that the Hotel is not on the center. But Amsterdam is small, so you can do everything walking even from the Hotel. I particularely like the bar at the top and the view. The Rooms are with a direct view from the Bathroon to the ootdoor, but you can close this view if you are not alone.
Very good adress in Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
152 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was it this hotel for five days in September. I attended a conference held at the hotel and did a few days of sightseeing in advance. The hotel is very, very nice. Clean, sleek and Modern. Rooms were large and had great baths with separate tub and shower. Nespresso machine in the room. There were several restaurants to choose from in the hotel. I really enjoyed the Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant--although I found it to be rather pricey. I used the spa for a massage and really enjoyed it.

This hotel is located on the outskirts of central Amsterdam and is not within walking distance of any major tourist attraction. However, with a transit pass you are only a few blocks walk from anything. I found the tram system easy and convenient and was able to work my way around the city with no problems at all. I used an App on my iPhone to assist me.

I enjoyed this hotel and recommend to business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okie74012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Our check in was very good in terms of efficiency and attention to detail, we were given information by both the concierge and front desk reception, despite being a large hotel it is evident hat customer service is a very high priority here.
Our room was immaculate, and very comfortable.
The hotel is a short walk to trams which go through he city either the 12 for the museum area or the 25 for the city and central station, the hotel sells the tram passes, recommend buying these to travel around the city . Another tip I when you check out and are travelling to central station by the taxi voucher at the hotel it is more cost effective than a metered taxi ride. The hotel has a very good selection of restaurants and there are also plenty near the hotel, a small supermarket is located not far from the hotel.
The hotels location is very good and importantly it's quiet we would certainly recommend this hotel, we were not disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing