We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best choices in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best choices in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed a few times at a Junior Suite at Okura and always enjoyed a very good service. Very friendly staff and amazing in-house Restaurants. Also the twenty third bar is definately a recommendation. Junior Suites are very spacious, nice bathroom and a remote control for everything like curtains, light etc... Furniture and carpets should be renewed.

Room Tip: Book directly on the hotel website, good pre-pay rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Q-Traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    485
    123
    51
    23
See reviews for
257
772
97
561
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The only bad point is that the Hotel is not on the center. But Amsterdam is small, so you can do everything walking even from the Hotel. I particularely like the bar at the top and the view. The Rooms are with a direct view from the Bathroon to the ootdoor, but you can close this view if you are not alone.
Very good adress in Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was it this hotel for five days in September. I attended a conference held at the hotel and did a few days of sightseeing in advance. The hotel is very, very nice. Clean, sleek and Modern. Rooms were large and had great baths with separate tub and shower. Nespresso machine in the room. There were several restaurants to choose from in the hotel. I really enjoyed the Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant--although I found it to be rather pricey. I used the spa for a massage and really enjoyed it.

This hotel is located on the outskirts of central Amsterdam and is not within walking distance of any major tourist attraction. However, with a transit pass you are only a few blocks walk from anything. I found the tram system easy and convenient and was able to work my way around the city with no problems at all. I used an App on my iPhone to assist me.

I enjoyed this hotel and recommend to business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okie74012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Our check in was very good in terms of efficiency and attention to detail, we were given information by both the concierge and front desk reception, despite being a large hotel it is evident hat customer service is a very high priority here.
Our room was immaculate, and very comfortable.
The hotel is a short walk to trams which go through he city either the 12 for the museum area or the 25 for the city and central station, the hotel sells the tram passes, recommend buying these to travel around the city . Another tip I when you check out and are travelling to central station by the taxi voucher at the hotel it is more cost effective than a metered taxi ride. The hotel has a very good selection of restaurants and there are also plenty near the hotel, a small supermarket is located not far from the hotel.
The hotels location is very good and importantly it's quiet we would certainly recommend this hotel, we were not disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
510 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We are there because of a conference. Even if too expensive, Okura offers high quality rooms, security and good service. Free wifi available. The Japanese restaurant is somply exquisite with the preparation and food. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxidouNoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every thing is perfect at Okura Hotel in Amsterdam : service, restaurants,reception, concierge etc etc. I have been there many times and every time is a pleasure. Rooms are fantastic, with a beautiful view over Amsterdam City. My compliments ! For sure I will be back soon.............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notteinfinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Cannot fault the hotel, staff very good, facilities top notch...................except.
Coffee machine in room did not work so advised front desk. We had a letter advising that the "buzzing noise in the bathroom had been sorted" (what buzzing) but guess what the coffee machine still did not work. Bit poor for a 5* but this was simply an irritation.

Twenty Third Bar did very good Bloddy Marys.

Room Tip: Hotel is expensive when a large conference is being held at the nearby RAI conference centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPRBOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing