We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kristinehamn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for a conference (RIPE65, September 2012). It's nice hotel although little off from the town center. The hotel itself was nice. I had a nice room. The food was excellent. The best part was the SPA. It's one of the best SPA in a hotel I ever been to. Some parts of the hotel was under reconstruction but it didn't bother me much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggplanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_OkuraAmsterdam, Manager at Hotel Okura Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Aggplanta,
Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying with us in September 2012. Happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our Nagomi Spa facilities! All the construction works were finished at the beginning of this year, so if you are around feel free to visit us again in order to see the results!
Kind regards
~ The Okura Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    483
    122
    51
    23
See reviews for
254
769
97
558
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walterville, OR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Okura. We arrived after flying from Portland, OR to a very friendly and accommodating staff. The hotel is located in a quiet area that has easy access to the city center by the #25 or #12 tram. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance. Everyone was extremely friendly. The hotel has a business center that enabled us to have computer access with a printer. The room was impeccable. The bed was very comfortable and provided us with a good sleep every night. There is a large window between the bed and the bath tub with a motorized shade that made the room all the more interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasspasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at the Okura, situated next to a canal in a quit part of Amsterdam. Very well located for both the museum park(12) and the city centre (25), both easily reached by Tram.

We were made to feel special from the moment we entered the Okura. Check-in was very quick, the person checking us in was very friendly and informative, giving us his view of the city and where to go. We were given an upgrade to a room on the executive floor with a room overlooking the city. The views from our room on the 22nd floor were spectacular. The trip was for our anniversary and the manager had arranged for a gift and lovely flowers to be delivered to our room.

Our room was very peaceful and relaxing. The bathroom also looked out over the city and if you didn't want to admire the city views from your bath or shower ( remember this was the 22nd floor) you could watch the TV on the widescreen installed in the bathroom. Very nice toiletries, bathrobes, etc. The bed was slublime.

Breakfast was very good , my wife opted for the healthy noodles option, I stayed with the usual cooked breakfast.

The Okura was certainly a treat, but well worth every penny. Next time we stay we have promised ourselves dinner in the Michellin 2 stared Japanese restaurant.


Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a three night stop in an Executive Room at this hotel and everything was exceptional. Staff were very welcoming especially the lady who greeted us at breakfast each morning. The hotel room was top class and so was the service wherever we went within the hotel. The concierge was very helpful as to how to get into the City centre. If there was one draw back it was the distance to travel into the City Centre but once you knew where to go this was not insurmountable but be aware the trams stop at just after midnight so you would have to pay for a taxi or catch the night bus. In fairness this didn't affect us and we caught the last tram on both nights.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stop in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you get the option choose an Executive Room they are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pryorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent three nights at Okura in June 2013. Liked the location: not far from the center (30 min walk) but quiet and not as noisy and "touristy". Nice room with a nice view. Good facilities overall, including food and conference facilities. The only big downside is the charge for the use of fitness center - never seen this before! Quite pricey, but Amsterdam is an expensive location anyway. Some nice restaurants and cafes in the area, and enjoyable walking/jogging along canals.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on upper floors - you'll get a very good view of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaur_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is close enough to the center but easy enough to come there. The service is really great. The rooms are very good positioned so you have a good view outside. The bar on 23th is very nice.
We came by boat and parked it for the night. Since it is a bit outside the center it is more safe.

We will come back here.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and have an excellent view over Amsterdam. You won't close the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My self and my sister visited the Okura for her 30th birthday and we couldn't have wished for a better visit.
Fabulous hotel with outstanding staff, we would definitely go again and recommend it to all of our friends.
The food was fantastic with a wide variety to choose from and the room we stayed in was perfect, leading to a very peaceful nights sleep.
It was very easy to get to the city centre with trams going by every 10 minutes.

Room Tip: If your not scared of heights, get a room high up, as the views of the city were brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing