We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #26 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Walterville, OR
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Okura. We arrived after flying from Portland, OR to a very friendly and accommodating staff. The hotel is located in a quiet area that has easy access to the city center by the #25 or #12 tram. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance. Everyone was extremely friendly. The hotel has a business center that enabled us to have computer access with a printer. The room was impeccable. The bed was very comfortable and provided us with a good sleep every night. There is a large window between the bed and the bath tub with a motorized shade that made the room all the more interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gasspasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    583
    149
    56
    30
See reviews for
318
958
109
661
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at the Okura, situated next to a canal in a quit part of Amsterdam. Very well located for both the museum park(12) and the city centre (25), both easily reached by Tram.

We were made to feel special from the moment we entered the Okura. Check-in was very quick, the person checking us in was very friendly and informative, giving us his view of the city and where to go. We were given an upgrade to a room on the executive floor with a room overlooking the city. The views from our room on the 22nd floor were spectacular. The trip was for our anniversary and the manager had arranged for a gift and lovely flowers to be delivered to our room.

Our room was very peaceful and relaxing. The bathroom also looked out over the city and if you didn't want to admire the city views from your bath or shower ( remember this was the 22nd floor) you could watch the TV on the widescreen installed in the bathroom. Very nice toiletries, bathrobes, etc. The bed was slublime.

Breakfast was very good , my wife opted for the healthy noodles option, I stayed with the usual cooked breakfast.

The Okura was certainly a treat, but well worth every penny. Next time we stay we have promised ourselves dinner in the Michellin 2 stared Japanese restaurant.


Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a three night stop in an Executive Room at this hotel and everything was exceptional. Staff were very welcoming especially the lady who greeted us at breakfast each morning. The hotel room was top class and so was the service wherever we went within the hotel. The concierge was very helpful as to how to get into the City centre. If there was one draw back it was the distance to travel into the City Centre but once you knew where to go this was not insurmountable but be aware the trams stop at just after midnight so you would have to pay for a taxi or catch the night bus. In fairness this didn't affect us and we caught the last tram on both nights.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stop in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you get the option choose an Executive Room they are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pryorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent three nights at Okura in June 2013. Liked the location: not far from the center (30 min walk) but quiet and not as noisy and "touristy". Nice room with a nice view. Good facilities overall, including food and conference facilities. The only big downside is the charge for the use of fitness center - never seen this before! Quite pricey, but Amsterdam is an expensive location anyway. Some nice restaurants and cafes in the area, and enjoyable walking/jogging along canals.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on upper floors - you'll get a very good view of Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaur_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is close enough to the center but easy enough to come there. The service is really great. The rooms are very good positioned so you have a good view outside. The bar on 23th is very nice.
We came by boat and parked it for the night. Since it is a bit outside the center it is more safe.

We will come back here.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor and have an excellent view over Amsterdam. You won't close the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My self and my sister visited the Okura for her 30th birthday and we couldn't have wished for a better visit.
Fabulous hotel with outstanding staff, we would definitely go again and recommend it to all of our friends.
The food was fantastic with a wide variety to choose from and the room we stayed in was perfect, leading to a very peaceful nights sleep.
It was very easy to get to the city centre with trams going by every 10 minutes.

Room Tip: If your not scared of heights, get a room high up, as the views of the city were brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Amazing property and great restaurants. We have stayed there during our weekend in Amsterdam, celebrating my boyfriend's birthay; I have booked the wellness package which had breakfast inlcuded as well as bento box lunch at the Serre Restaurant. I must say we did not expect much from a bento box lunch that was part of a package, however I must say....it blew our minds away. We have been asked if we have any allergies or whether there is something we do not like/eat. My boyfriend doesn't like raw fish an they kinldy replaced one of the dishes that contained raw fish with something different.
The restaurant has a wonderful outside area next to the water
As well, the buffet breakfast was something from another world. Everything fresh and replanished regularly. you could order any types of eggs you wanted, pancakes etc at the hot buffet side as well as miso soup if you wanted. I wish I had enough space left for that miso soup :)
We have been upgraded to a deluxe room with the most amazing view of Amsterdam, and they sent a nice card to the room as well.
A very mice touch if you book a treatment or massage...at the end they offer you a glass of water or tea along with 2 delicious fruit skewers.
Location wise, even if it is not in the centre, the area was really really nice and you could take a tram to the centre (25, not 16 as the lady at the information desk in Centraal Station may tell you :))
Overall a truly wonderful and special stay in an amazing Leading Hotels of the World establishment.

Room Tip: Book a room on the Executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drag0nMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,852 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
664 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#34 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,314 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing