We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly wonderful....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful....”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Amazing property and great restaurants. We have stayed there during our weekend in Amsterdam, celebrating my boyfriend's birthay; I have booked the wellness package which had breakfast inlcuded as well as bento box lunch at the Serre Restaurant. I must say we did not expect much from a bento box lunch that was part of a package, however I must say....it blew our minds away. We have been asked if we have any allergies or whether there is something we do not like/eat. My boyfriend doesn't like raw fish an they kinldy replaced one of the dishes that contained raw fish with something different.
The restaurant has a wonderful outside area next to the water
As well, the buffet breakfast was something from another world. Everything fresh and replanished regularly. you could order any types of eggs you wanted, pancakes etc at the hot buffet side as well as miso soup if you wanted. I wish I had enough space left for that miso soup :)
We have been upgraded to a deluxe room with the most amazing view of Amsterdam, and they sent a nice card to the room as well.
A very mice touch if you book a treatment or massage...at the end they offer you a glass of water or tea along with 2 delicious fruit skewers.
Location wise, even if it is not in the centre, the area was really really nice and you could take a tram to the centre (25, not 16 as the lady at the information desk in Centraal Station may tell you :))
Overall a truly wonderful and special stay in an amazing Leading Hotels of the World establishment.

Room Tip: Book a room on the Executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drag0nMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    549
    142
    54
    30
See reviews for
306
903
106
633
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Okura for four nights and what a delightful experience. The staff were very helpful and very professional. The concierge recommended several very good restaurants where we could sample Dutch, Indonesian and Surinamese cuisines in Amsterdam.
Our room and the rest of the hotel was spotless and furnished to the highest standards. It had a De Longhi coffee machine which made an excellent cup of coffee. It is worth visiting the reception lounge just to see the beautiful flower arrangements. There was a nice view from our bedroom overlooking the canal.
The Twenty Third bar, on the floor of the same name, is worth a visit for the view and offers a wide range of cocktails and other drinks.
There is a good shuttle service from Schiphol Airport to the hotel.
Although a little out of the city centre, there is an excellent tram service into the centre of town. It is worth buying a day ticket for the trams and you can purchase these from the concierge.
This is an excellent hotel and we will be staying here again when we visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie_brown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Although a little out of the city centre this was a lovely high quality hotel.
We were upgraded to a junior suite and it was fantastic with automatic curtains and a footprint as big as our house.
The staff were helpful and professional. The hotel was spotless and really clean. No faults to tell you of.

Room Tip: Get a tram day card to get around the city. A taxi to the airport is €35 from the hotel but a 10 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I really loved my stay here and would gladly come back, I felt safe and was happy about the comfortable room and I how ever LOVED the glass wall to the bathroom.

The service and security is very good, the lobby toilets is top notch to be just lobby toilets ;)

Location a bit off but just a few steps to the collective trafic wich is very easy and fast to get around with if you have a 24 or 73 prepaid card :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The check in was the best that I have ever experienced. We have been to a lot of hotels and the service at hotel okura was beyond my expectations.
They were courteous polite and anticipate all your needs. The room was clean and comfortable.The hotel even has a pillow concierge. Their restaurant Serre was also excellent.
There was a lot of street repair going on so the tram stops were confusing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolly321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was the necessary tonic after a long transcontinental flight. It is located just outside the center of Amsterdam but it is still an easy walk or tram ride to the main attractions. Although this is a business style hotel, it has all the amenities and is fairly luxurious. The rooms are well appointed and large by European standards. The bed was very comfortable. On site there are two Michelin starred restaurants that deserve their rating. A spa is also available. If one doesn't mind giving up a little culture for a little more room, comfort, and luxury, then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkoHenderson_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having stayed at the Hotel Okura in Tokyo, when I had to go to Amsterdam on business I decided to see if their Amsterdam hotel lived up to their high standards. I was not disapointed. Although, the hotel is not in the centre, I actually prefer this. The area is tranquil, somewhat residential and away from the frantic pace of parts of the city. Service was discreet, professional and made the stay stress free. As I love Japanese food, the restaurant within the hotel was an obvious choice - expensive, but the food was fresh and beautifully presented. Whilst, a stay at the Okura is not typically Dutch, I enjoy the security of knowing I can trust a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princpessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,236 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,714 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing