We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel in Amsterdam.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Okura Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel in Amsterdam.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Okura for four nights and what a delightful experience. The staff were very helpful and very professional. The concierge recommended several very good restaurants where we could sample Dutch, Indonesian and Surinamese cuisines in Amsterdam.
Our room and the rest of the hotel was spotless and furnished to the highest standards. It had a De Longhi coffee machine which made an excellent cup of coffee. It is worth visiting the reception lounge just to see the beautiful flower arrangements. There was a nice view from our bedroom overlooking the canal.
The Twenty Third bar, on the floor of the same name, is worth a visit for the view and offers a wide range of cocktails and other drinks.
There is a good shuttle service from Schiphol Airport to the hotel.
Although a little out of the city centre, there is an excellent tram service into the centre of town. It is worth buying a day ticket for the trams and you can purchase these from the concierge.
This is an excellent hotel and we will be staying here again when we visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie_brown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    483
    122
    51
    23
See reviews for
254
769
97
558
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Although a little out of the city centre this was a lovely high quality hotel.
We were upgraded to a junior suite and it was fantastic with automatic curtains and a footprint as big as our house.
The staff were helpful and professional. The hotel was spotless and really clean. No faults to tell you of.

Room Tip: Get a tram day card to get around the city. A taxi to the airport is €35 from the hotel but a 10 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I really loved my stay here and would gladly come back, I felt safe and was happy about the comfortable room and I how ever LOVED the glass wall to the bathroom.

The service and security is very good, the lobby toilets is top notch to be just lobby toilets ;)

Location a bit off but just a few steps to the collective trafic wich is very easy and fast to get around with if you have a 24 or 73 prepaid card :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The check in was the best that I have ever experienced. We have been to a lot of hotels and the service at hotel okura was beyond my expectations.
They were courteous polite and anticipate all your needs. The room was clean and comfortable.The hotel even has a pillow concierge. Their restaurant Serre was also excellent.
There was a lot of street repair going on so the tram stops were confusing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rolly321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was the necessary tonic after a long transcontinental flight. It is located just outside the center of Amsterdam but it is still an easy walk or tram ride to the main attractions. Although this is a business style hotel, it has all the amenities and is fairly luxurious. The rooms are well appointed and large by European standards. The bed was very comfortable. On site there are two Michelin starred restaurants that deserve their rating. A spa is also available. If one doesn't mind giving up a little culture for a little more room, comfort, and luxury, then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkoHenderson_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having stayed at the Hotel Okura in Tokyo, when I had to go to Amsterdam on business I decided to see if their Amsterdam hotel lived up to their high standards. I was not disapointed. Although, the hotel is not in the centre, I actually prefer this. The area is tranquil, somewhat residential and away from the frantic pace of parts of the city. Service was discreet, professional and made the stay stress free. As I love Japanese food, the restaurant within the hotel was an obvious choice - expensive, but the food was fresh and beautifully presented. Whilst, a stay at the Okura is not typically Dutch, I enjoy the security of knowing I can trust a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princpessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level Contributor
140 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotwire and having never heard of it or the brand I went to the website to find out more. I was pleasantly surprised to see it was one of the "Leading Hotels of the World" and was looking forward to something special - that's been my experience of other hotels in this club. The hotel is about 5 miles out of the city centre in the suburbs. On the upside the area is quiet; on the downside there is very little to do in the vicinity. Check in was great - I was given a choice of rooms and selected on on the 16th floor on the corner with dual aspect views. The view are to die for - you soon realise you are in one of the tallest buildings in Amsterdam. The room itself was very 4 star - no comfy sofa just a chair with a worn cushion. The furniture was a bit scratched and there were long black hairs on the bathroom floor. The rain shower was a great idea but it was more a drizzle shower as the water pressure was so low. The wi-fi was really erratic and you kept having to re-establish the connection. The bed was really really comfy tho.

Check-out was a nightmare - taking 20 minutes with people jumping the queues and not a single apology from the receptionist. Felt like a commodity rather than a customer. The whole experience lacked the wow factor - which is a complete let down given the way the hotel "sells" itself as somewhere very special to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary High-rise Hotel with a Dutch & Japanese flair located in the cozy neighborhood De Pijp and within walking distance of the RAI Convention Center. Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates four restaurants of which all have been awarded by Michelin. On the 23rd floor one can find two Michelin star Ciel Bleu Restaurant. On the ground floor, Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka is located, this restaurant has been awarded one Michelin star and here chefs prepare your dishes right in front of you on the hot griddle. Then, Yamazato Restaurant, awarded one Michelin star as well, serves the authentic Japanese kaiseki cuisine. And lastly, Serre Restaurant is inspired by Ciel Bleu and has received a Bib Gourmand by Michelin which awards the great price-quality relation. Furthermore, Hotel Okura Amsterdam facilitates Nagomi Spa & Health were guests can relax by means of treatments and workouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing