We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with fab views but Lacking the wow factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotwire and having never heard of it or the brand I went to the website to find out more. I was pleasantly surprised to see it was one of the "Leading Hotels of the World" and was looking forward to something special - that's been my experience of other hotels in this club. The hotel is about 5 miles out of the city centre in the suburbs. On the upside the area is quiet; on the downside there is very little to do in the vicinity. Check in was great - I was given a choice of rooms and selected on on the 16th floor on the corner with dual aspect views. The view are to die for - you soon realise you are in one of the tallest buildings in Amsterdam. The room itself was very 4 star - no comfy sofa just a chair with a worn cushion. The furniture was a bit scratched and there were long black hairs on the bathroom floor. The rain shower was a great idea but it was more a drizzle shower as the water pressure was so low. The wi-fi was really erratic and you kept having to re-establish the connection. The bed was really really comfy tho.

Check-out was a nightmare - taking 20 minutes with people jumping the queues and not a single apology from the receptionist. Felt like a commodity rather than a customer. The whole experience lacked the wow factor - which is a complete let down given the way the hotel "sells" itself as somewhere very special to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

The title is no exaggeration.
The food in the restaurant was outstanding, and ordering room service didn't let us down either.
The staff were extremely helpful and clued up on local attractions and tourist hotspots.
The room was outrageous. Massive king bed, soft as silk, and a really cool glass wall seperating the bathroom from the bedroom.

Despite it being a bit of a walk into Amsterdam Central, (nothing a EUR 7.00 cab didn't fix!), this hotel surpassed every expectation I had, and I'd be stoked to visit it once again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzltv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spotlessly clean, very comfortable. I would absolutely stay here again. As noted, this hotel is out of city center. I think this was a plus as it became a quiet oasis from the throngs of people in city center. The rooms were clean and spacious (deluxe rooms) and a bargain at a corporate rate of 180 euro. Room service twice a day made sure we were never without a clean towel or clean room. The hotel is set back from the street so no street noise bothered us. The staff went out of there way to be helpful to us.

Notes - great bikes for rent right at the hotel (would be nice if the bicycles had a basket). Pillow bar for different types of pillows was neat. Taxi to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum is in the 10 euro range. Others have noted the high cost of the breakfast buffet - 2 comments 1) the breakfast is very good and the staff very accomdoating for gluten-free guests 2) Try the restaurant, Omelegg, turn right out of the hotel and walk about 5-7 minutes, same side of the street. Join their One Harmony membership program to gain access to the spa at no charge. They have a beautiful swimming pool. Lastly, the concierge saved us 20 euro by recommending a prepaid taxi to the airport rather than the van we would have otherwise used. Great tip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRE123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Modern and comfortable hotel run by Japanese, very efficient service (they clean the rooms twice a day).
Within it several excellent restaurants and for everyone, from Japanese to French cuisine. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginevra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although two tram-rides away from the city center, Hotel Okura would be my choice should I return to Amsterdam. The hotel was NICE, clean and modern. The bar on the 23rd floor was awesome--not only an unmatched view of the city, but some very comfortable lounging couches to sit and enjoy the view and a (small) beer. The area around the hotel had a lot of choices for food and drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elgseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Okura for one night, what a lovely experience. First of all, I love the location. It is not in the center but still walking distance/tram accessible to all the points of interest. The rooms are large and roomy, beds amazingly comfortable, and the bathroom is spacious and airy. We had a room on the 16th floor with a lovely view of the city. The staff was very friendly and took care of every detail. We loved the modern decor of the lobby and the rooms as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDiningTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here during the month of december. The location is a bit out of the usual city centre, but it makes it up with great rooms and restaurants inside the hotel.
The rooms are quite big, certainly to big city standards. Very spacious, with good amenities, very nice bed with a very good mattrass, hig quality linen. The bathroom is equally spacious with good quality products.
Although the staff at reception is very efficient as a good 5 star hotel should be, certainly in the morning there was a lot of people, so you were standing in line for 15 minutes before I was able to check out. This could be a problem for some people trying to catch a train or flight.
The restaurants were outstanding. We tried the Japanese, which was just wonderful. A bit steep in price, but that is to be expected in this 5 star hotel. The bar at the top floor was also quite enjoyable, with a nice high view of the city, and just great service, finding it no problem to bring our drinks to the restaurant, because we hadn't finished the bottle yet. That is service that is out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liteworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,010 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#31 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,276 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Amsterdam

Address: Ferdinand Bolstraat 333, 1072 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $197 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Okura Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels of the Netherlands and part of the Japanese chain Okura Hotels & Resorts. With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities. For wining and dining, you are spoilt for choice with four restaurants that have all been awarded by Michelin. Nagomi Spa & Health offers guests the opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and to take a moment of relaxation by means of a workout or treatment. Located alongside the Amstel Canal, in close proximity of the cultural heart of Amsterdam, Hotel Okura Amsterdam is one of the finest five-star luxury hotels that you will find in the Netherlands and exclusive member of ‘The Leading Hotels of the World’. The hotel is conveniently located in proximity of Schiphol International Airport as well as major tourist attractions.With 300 comfortable rooms, including the largest (485m2) and most luxurious suite of the Benelux Countries, the hotel offers unrivalled high-class accommodation facilities.For sport and leisure you can visit our Nagomi Spa & Health. Meaning ‘calm down’ in Japanese, ‘Nagomi’ offers an opportunity to slip out of the daily routine and take some moments just for you. An exclusive selection of facials, massages, manicure and pedicure and body treatments is offered. With these treatments dedicated to restoring balance to the mind and body, Nagomi Spa invites to linger just a little longer. In addition to a treatment at Nagomi Spa you can also enjoy the facilities of Nagomi Health (1000 sq.m.) which is located next to the spa. Nagomi Health is an oasis of tranquility where you can exercise and relax in total privacy. The gym is equipped with Technogym machines, combining cardio and weight trainings. Personal trainers give you personalised advice and supervise your exercising during a professional one-on-one workout. Nagomi Health also features various relaxation facilities, such as a Jacuzzi, saunas and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Okura Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing